Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    1,070
    Thanks
    42
    Thanked 132 Times in 86 Posts

    When so-called helper software becomes malware




    ON SECURITY


    When so-called helper software becomes malware


    By Susan Bradley

    Malware wears many masks, and often what looks commonplace or relatively benign is actually dangerous to your PC.

    Here are some tips on protecting yourself from malicious software that even antivirus apps can't stop.

    The full text of this column is posted at http://windowssecrets.com/on-securit...comes-malware/ (opens in a new window/tab).

    Columnists typically cannot reply to comments here, but do incorporate the best tips into future columns.

  2. #2
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    41
    Thanks
    17
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Hi - Relatively newbie question: After using the link to get to the Kaspersky Rescue Disk, it seems as though the article says that you can use this if you already have a Kaspersky product: "If Kaspersky Anti-Virus or Kaspersky Internet Security is installed on your computer, then you can quickly record Kaspersky Rescue Disk 10 via the application interface." However it doesn't say how to do it if you dont have Kaspersky installed or even whether it can be done. Is this correct or am I missing something?

    Also, are flash drives formatted in FAT32, FAT64, or NTSF and how can I tell?

    Thanks, Gary

  3. #3
    Lounge VIP bobprimak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Hinsdale, IL, USA
    Posts
    2,482
    Thanks
    176
    Thanked 152 Times in 129 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by gpeyton View Post
    Hi - Relatively newbie question: After using the link to get to the Kaspersky Rescue Disk, it seems as though the article says that you can use this if you already have a Kaspersky product: "If Kaspersky Anti-Virus or Kaspersky Internet Security is installed on your computer, then you can quickly record Kaspersky Rescue Disk 10 via the application interface." However it doesn't say how to do it if you dont have Kaspersky installed or even whether it can be done. Is this correct or am I missing something?

    Also, are flash drives formatted in FAT32, FAT64, or NTSF and how can I tell?

    Thanks, Gary
    Download the KAspersky Rescue Disk here:
    http://support.kaspersky.com/us/4162

    Burn it to CD or USB Flash media.

    Flash Media are usually formatted either FAT or FAT-32. A Flash Drive can be reformatted, but I believe FAT-32 will work with the Kaspersky Rescue Disk USB option.

    How to make the Rescue Media:
    http://support.kaspersky.com/us/8092

    FAQs:
    http://support.kaspersky.com/us/viruses/rescuedisk/

    That should get you started.
    -- Bob Primak --

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger RussB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    803
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 50 Times in 49 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by gpeyton View Post
    Hi - Relatively newbie question:
    Also, are flash drives formatted in FAT32, FAT64, or NTSF and how can I tell?

    Thanks, Gary
    With the target flash drive plugged in...
    Right-Click 'Computer' or 'My Computer' or equivalent in your OS and select 'Manage' in the Manage dialog box under 'Storage' click 'Disk Management'.
    Do you "Believe"? Do you vote? Please Read:
    LEARN something today so you can TEACH something tomorrow.
    DETAIL in your question promotes DETAIL in my answer.
    Dominus Vobiscum <))>(

  5. #5
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    4,748
    Thanks
    171
    Thanked 649 Times in 572 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by gpeyton View Post
    After using the link to get to the Kaspersky Rescue Disk, it seems as though the article says that you can use this if you already have a Kaspersky product: "If Kaspersky Anti-Virus or Kaspersky Internet Security is installed on your computer, then you can quickly record Kaspersky Rescue Disk 10 via the application interface." However it doesn't say how to do it if you dont have Kaspersky installed or even whether it can be done. Is this correct or am I missing something?
    No, you're missing something. That first paragraph is just an alternative method to following the remaining instructions.

    If you have already have a Kaspersky product then you don't need to download anything as their programs have the ability to create a rescue disk built in.

    But the rest of that page describes the steps to create a rescue disk if you don't already have a Kaspersky product.

    Bruce

  6. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Chandler, Arizona
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    The best way to avoid getting hit by web based malware is using Firefox with the No Script addon, hands down its the best way to prevent malicious web based attacks as it blocks all remotely executed scripts from running on your computer. There is a downfall to this level of protection however, No Script not only blocks the bad scripts from running, it blocks the good ones too, so often times you'll find that web pages aren't working or don't load right, it has a simple mechanism for allowing scripts for a particular site on a temporary or permanent basis, it also lets you see all of the other websites that a given site is sending data to every time you visit the site. Its annoying as hell to use in the beginning, but if you take the time to get used to it, its truly a great protection mechanism. i've been using it for years, since its earliest days and i swear by it, but like i said, it takes some getting used to...

  7. #7
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Midlothian, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    874
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
    Susan suggested that I should be running in a non-Administrator account: "If you've never configured a standard account, I recommend following Steve Friedl's excellent tutorial on configuring two accounts for your computer one with full admin rights and the second with limited rights." I've read that advice many times over the years but never actually followed it. So, I finally did that yesterday on my Vista laptop and I was very disappointed. My plain user account changed everything I am used to using. More than half of the icons on my desktop disappeared, my Quick Launch tool bar (which contained many links) disappeared, my email icon and Internet Explorer disappeared, my power-up process is now interrupted in the middle where I have to choose which user account to use and I couldn't recognize anything! I realize that some of those things can be changed but that is a lot more work too.

    In my administrator account that I have been using for several years, I am prompted quite often to agree to do the things I am attempting and I am used to doing that. Is this approach about as safe as having a non-administrator account?

    Thanks,
    Bill
    Last edited by BillWilson; 2013-09-29 at 10:47.

  8. #8
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I used Filezilla FTP for many years to upload files to my website and loved it. Now I see many complaints that the Filezilla installer carries spyware. Any suggestions for a safe way to download and install Filezilla or an alternative free FTP program?

    Hilde Jones
    Founder, responsibleconsumer.net

  9. #9
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Fresno, California, USA
    Posts
    259
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 71 Times in 45 Posts
    did you set up the admin account as your new one, or your old main account as a non admin?

  10. #10
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    4,748
    Thanks
    171
    Thanked 649 Times in 572 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Hilde Jones View Post
    I used Filezilla FTP for many years to upload files to my website and loved it. Now I see many complaints that the Filezilla installer carries spyware. Any suggestions for a safe way to download and install Filezilla or an alternative free FTP program?
    Hilde Jones
    Founder, responsibleconsumer.net
    WinSCP.

    Bruce

  11. #11
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Midlothian, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    874
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
    Quote Originally Posted by SusanBradley View Post
    did you set up the admin account as your new one, or your old main account as a non admin?
    I already had an Admin account and I set up a new one as a non-admin. I can see now that I might have been better off if I had done it the other way around and set up a new Admin account and then removed the admin privilege from my old account.

    If I do that and it works is there any way to make the powerup process always select the non-admin account and still let me do a log out and log in to get to the admin account?

    Thanks,
    Bill

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •