Lounger
    Thanks

New at this - autonumber with year (2000 sr-1)

Okay, I'm new with access, so just learning some of the basics.

How do I create a field (key) that automatically generates a number with the current year included. ie. 2001-0001, 2001-0002, etc.

Any recomendations on good useful books or web sites for learning access?

Thanks,
    Rich

Star Lounger
    Thanks

Re: New at this - autonumber with year (2000 sr-1)

I would suggest two fields. An Autonumber field and a Year field. Make the Autonumber field your Primary key and if you want to concatenate the Autonumber with your date for display purposes you can do that too.

hth,
    Jack

Lounger
    Thanks

I'm going to need to be able to search by the combined field as well. Is there a way to combine two fields into one and append it to a different table perhaps?

Thanks,
    Rich

Star Lounger
    Thanks

In your query you would use two Criteria. One for the Year and the other for the range of records or the specific record.

Hope that makes sense....

Jack

4 Star Lounger
    Thanks

Question: Do you want the following
    2000-0001
    2000-0002
    2001-0003
    2000-0004

or does the non year part reset to 1 for the new year to give you
    2000-0001
    2000-0002
    2001-0001
    etc.

If you want the 'reset' then you can't you an autonumber field. You would need to find the highest number for the year and then increment it to generate the next number.

The Access developers handbook it a good reference book (but massive) by Lutwin, Getz, Gilbert.

3 Star Lounger
    Thanks

This code will give you numbers like 2001-1, 2001-2 ...
    You need two fields, one for an IDNumber (number which will be incremented) and one for the ID (text) as listed above.

Dim vCurrentDate
    Dim vCurrentYear

vCurrentDate = Date
    vCurrentYear = Year(vCurrentDate)

Me!IDNumber = DMax("IDNumber", "yourTableName") + 1
    Me!ID = vCurrentYear & "-" & Me!IDNumber