New Lounger
    Thanks

Windows Explorer in Windows 7---did I create this problem?

I'm new to Windows 7 and decided to do some clean-up work (move, rearrange, and delete) in Windows Explorer that I should have done long ago in XP's Windows Explorer. I was working within the document library. Suddenly, everything was gone except for some odd folders from CorelDraw that appeared to be program files and folders. I don't know what happened, but almost everything was gone in the document library (and wasn't in the Recycle Bin). I deleted the CorelDraw folders, probably a mistake, and then had to go through the repair process with CorelDraw.

After some brief research to find out the relationship between My Documents on the C: drive and the document library, I manually repopulated the document library through copy and paste from the user name's My Documents. But now, I have THREE full sets of My Documents (instead of two). One is under Libraries > Documents. A second (duplicate) is under Libraries > Documents > Public Documents. The third is under my user name on the C: drive.

Two questions:
    1) Which of the first two sets should I delete, Libraries > Documents, or Libraries > Documents > Public Documents? Should there be a folder "Public Documents" within Documents?
    2) If I want to manage the hierarchy (move, save, delete, rearrange, whatever), where should I be doing it?

It appears that changes I make to the document library are not reflected to the underlying My Documents, which is a concern. I dislike having to move back and forth between my user name's My Documents and the more readily available library documents, just because I'm doing something different.

I need some direction. Thanks,

Marianswede

Administrator
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,397 Times in 1,220 Posts
    None of those are duplicates. The libraries links are just links to the actual folder, that exists in c:\users\username.
    Rui
    -------
    R4

New Lounger
    Thanks