Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 24
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Removing Win 8 and installing Win 7: Oops!

    Ten days ago I purchased an Acer Travelmate B 113-M. I like it very much, but after struggling for a week with Windows 8, I decided to junk it and install a copy of Windows 7 Professional that I had bought some time ago but never used. So I made an image of the system on an external drive (just in case), downloaded Windows 7 drivers for the machine from the Acer website (http://us.acer.com/ac/en/US/content/drivers), changed the machine from UEFI to Legacy BIOS, made a USB DVD drive the first boot device, installed Windows 7 from the DVD, and updated the drivers using Device Manager. So far, so good. Then I rebooted.

    The computer didn't even get to POST (no beep), but put me right into the boot manager. I selected the hard drive and immediately received the error "No Bootable Device." Then I plugged in the USB DVD drive with the Windows 7 installation DVD, rebooted, and selected that to boot from. Same result—"No Bootable Device." Ditto when I tried to boot from the Windows 8 system repair disc I had made before I installed Windows 7.

    Acer support would like me to send the machine in for warranty repairs. That's an option, but I'd prefer to avoid that because I'm leaving on a trip in a week and would like to take the computer along. I can't imagine it's a hardware problem, because it worked fine until I made software changes. Could the problem be the BIOS?

    I checked the Acer website and found that there are two BIOS files for this machine, a "BIOS - UEFI for Windows 8 (Not for Upgrades)," dated September 23, 2013, and another file labeled simply "BIOS" and dated December 11, 2012. I'm wondering whether the newer BIOS is incompatible with Windows 7 and if I should install the older one.

    Does this sound like a good plan? If so, can anyone tell me the procedure? Since Windows won't load, I can't run the .exe file (Q1VZC109.exe), but I looked inside it and discovered two .fd files: HM77x64.fd and NM70x64.fd, and I think I do something with those (although I'm not sure which one).

    Many thanks for your help. I am not a computer professional, by the way. I know just enough to be dangerous.

    Joe

  2. Subscribe to our Windows Secrets Newsletter - It's Free!

    Get our unique weekly Newsletter with tips and techniques, how to's and critical updates on Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows XP, Firefox, Internet Explorer, Google, etc. Join our 480,000 subscribers!

    Excel 2013: The Missing Manual

    + Get this BONUS — free!

    Get the most of Excel! Learn about new features, basics of creating a new spreadsheet and using the infamous Ribbon in the first chapter of Excel 2013: The Missing Manual - Subscribe and download Chapter 1 for free!

  3. #2
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 929 Times in 851 Posts
    Joe, Welcome to the Lounge.

    I do not have any ideas what could be causing your present problem, but . . . .

    While you were testing Win 8, did you add one of the Start Menu replacement apps that would have allowed your Win 8 to look and feel like your familiar Win 7? Just asking because many people that were having problems moving around in Win 8, were able to easily use it once they had installed one of these apps. The 3 most commonly used are:

    Classic Shell

    Start8

    Start is back

    Classic Shell is free and the others have very nominal fees to use.

    I would use the image to return to Win 8, then try one of these. They will allow you to boot directly to the Desktop and disable the hot corners on the Desktop. This will also let you see if indeed this is a S/W or H/W problem.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  4. The Following User Says Thank You to Medico For This Useful Post:

    JoeH (2013-10-07)

  5. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Medico,

    I use Classic Shell in Win 7, but I didn't install it in Win 8 because I figured it was easier just to install Win 7. I have a whole bunch of programs I install, and I have the process streamlined for Win 7, so I can do it quickly. I also didn't want to deal with whatever bloatware the computer manufacturer had installed for Win 8.

    Right now, though, I'm not sure how to use the image for Win 8, as I can't get the machine to boot from a CD/DVD drive with either Win 7 or Win 8 installed. Is there a way to install it from another machine? I have a wireless network at home, but I didn't get far enough to put the new machine on it.

    Joe

  6. #4
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 929 Times in 851 Posts
    Is the bios set up to check the optical media before attempting to load the OS? The boot order may not have CD/DVD first.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  7. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Before I ran into trouble, I set the bios to boot first from the DVD/CD drive. Whether it is still that way I can't tell, because I can't access the bios. But it's doing something with that drive, because I can hear it.

  8. #6
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    2,095
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 241 Times in 234 Posts
    Try tapping the F12 key during boot, maybe F10 or some other key combo depending on system, see if you get a boot menu or something equivalent to choose which device to boot to.
    Sent from Windows ME thru Opera 10.63...just before they crashe

  9. The Following User Says Thank You to F.U.N. downtown For This Useful Post:

    JoeH (2013-10-07)

  10. #7
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 929 Times in 851 Posts
    I suppose it could actually be a hardware failure. Not being able to access the Bios is strange.

    This article shows a possible key combo to access the Bios.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  11. #8
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I tried F1, F2, and F12, which is everything covered in Medico's link. I haven't tried F10, but will do so this evening when I get home. Meanwhile, can anyone think of a reason why I shouldn't try flashing the bios in case it's corrupt? I figure I haven't anything to lose, since Acer has already offered to fix the machine under warranty.

    Has anyone heard of needing different BIOSes for Win 7 and Win 8?

    Thanks again.

    Joe

  12. #9
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 929 Times in 851 Posts
    The Bios can be updated for various reasons. Since you have nothing to loose at this point, I would attempt to flash the bios with the latest available update.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  13. #10
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Last evening I tried pressing F10, with no luck. I also tried flashing the bios, but without success thus far. There are conflicting instructions for that floating around the Internet, and I'm not sure I have the right ones. I'll try again this evening. I did, though, discover that the correct bios file is HM77x64.fd—it's named after the chipset in this machine. What I thought was separate downloads for Win 7 and Win 8 turned out to be just older and newer versions of the bios; at least the filenames are the same in both downloads, with only the file dates different.

  14. #11
    Star Lounger bobdog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    83
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    If you look on the Acer website, you'll see instructions for UPgrading to Windows 8, and they include preliminary steps to upgrade the BIOS, the AHCI (hard disk) drivers and network drivers BEFORE the upgrade. That suggests to me that it's the BIOS and AHCI drivers that are the problem. They don't talk about DOWNgrading from Windows 8 to Windows 7, but I suspect it may be a one-way ticket. My guess is that your best choice is to send the machine back to Acer and let them clean up the mess.

  15. The Following User Says Thank You to bobdog For This Useful Post:

    JoeH (2013-10-10)

  16. #12
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Acer has an emergency FN + esc to load the bios (When u push fn + esc and turn on the power button). Google it for more information.

  17. The Following User Says Thank You to fredyk For This Useful Post:

    JoeH (2013-10-10)

  18. #13
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    I did the same downgrade from 8-64 to 7-32 on a Lenovo laptop in May. One of the issues I had that seems similar to yours is the no bootable drive message. When I converted from UEFI to MBR (legacy) I had to totally remove all partitions on the drive including the first small one with the recovery set (now I can't ever go back to factory setup) - I think UEFI only works for 64-bit versions. I then repartitioned the drive with a 20-25 GB partition for the OS and the rest of the drive for a data partition.

    Hope this helps...if not, then I got nothin'.

  19. The Following User Says Thank You to hdmunger For This Useful Post:

    JoeH (2013-10-10)

  20. #14
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I tried the FN + ESC crisis recovery sequence to load the bios, without success. Some Internet posts suggest that the brand of USB drive used to hold the bios file makes a difference. Sandisk is recommended, but I don't have one. That could have been the problem, or maybe not.

    I also deleted all the drive partitions (five of them) during the Win 7 installation process, creating one partition for the entire drive.

    At this point, I'm done with trying to fix the machine. I've spent far too much time on it already. Since Acer has agreed to repair it under warranty, that's what I'll do. Thank you to everyone, though, for all your help. I truly appreciate the expertise I find here in the lounge.

    Joe

  21. #15
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Johnson City, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    3,203
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 212 Times in 199 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by JoeH View Post

    I also deleted all the drive partitions (five of them) during the Win 7 installation process, creating one partition for the entire drive.
    Joe,

    Hello... Late to this but would like to comment... New Win 8 OEM PC's come with UEFI \ GPT and some form of "Secure Boot" If you try to install an older OS like "7" (MBR \ NTFS Image) to the GPT formatted HD ...the PC wont boot ( been there ...done that)..You can make it boot by getting rid of the two GPT partitions, and reformatting the HD (NTFS)...although these are protected system partitions and are not easily removed. Also it could be that the BIOS security (secure boot) wont let you install anything but a Win 8 OS ( depending on the PC and it's BIOS security settings ) ...Just my 2¢ Regards Fred
    Last edited by Just Plain Fred; 2013-10-11 at 20:17.
    PlainFred

    None are so hopelessly enslaved as those who falsely believe they are free (J. W. Von Goethe)

  22. The Following User Says Thank You to Just Plain Fred For This Useful Post:

    JoeH (2013-10-11)

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •