Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Exclamation Service Pack 1 installation

    I have been trying repeatedly since SP 1 came out to install it on my Dell Vostro with Windows 7 Home Premium installed. It never came in with windows updates. I have downloaded from the windows site, I have ordered the DVD and all options have failed. I have searched online for solutions, have tried most that seemed reasonable and still the upgrade to SP 1 has failed. Normally I wouldn't worry about it but have been seeing windows updates come out (in the newsletter) that I'm not receiving because I don't have SP 1. If there's anyone that has had this issue and resolved it I would love to hear from you!
    Cheers,

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,576
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I have seen this "to do" list and have followed all the steps mentioned. One of the issues I had was getting these updates installed (Updates KB2454826, KB2534366, or KB2533552 if offered) as they were never offered and when I manually tried to install them I kept receiving "update failed" message. As so much time has passed perhaps the computer "spirits" will allow me to install these. I will try these again...

    Update; have tried to install these updates again, and again, they have failed. Have also tried updating the Windows updating agent and it finds no issues--so I'm still perplexed.
    Last edited by kebsojourner; 2013-10-10 at 15:32.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator bbearren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Polk County, Florida
    Posts
    3,760
    Thanks
    26
    Thanked 424 Times in 338 Posts
    Have you run sfc /scannow from an elevated Command Prompt?
    Create a fresh drive image before making system changes, in case you need to start over!

    "The problem is not the problem. The problem is your attitude about the problem. Savvy?"—Captain Jack Sparrow "When you're troubleshooting, start with the simple and proceed to the complex."—M.O. Johns "Experience is what you get when you're looking for something else."—Sir Thomas Robert Deware.
    Unleash Windows

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    It says I must be "an administrator running a console session in order to use the sfc utility"... at this point we get in over my head...

  6. #6
    Super Moderator bbearren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Polk County, Florida
    Posts
    3,760
    Thanks
    26
    Thanked 424 Times in 338 Posts
    Right-click the Command Prompt shortcut, then select "Run as administrator".
    Create a fresh drive image before making system changes, in case you need to start over!

    "The problem is not the problem. The problem is your attitude about the problem. Savvy?"—Captain Jack Sparrow "When you're troubleshooting, start with the simple and proceed to the complex."—M.O. Johns "Experience is what you get when you're looking for something else."—Sir Thomas Robert Deware.
    Unleash Windows

  7. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Yes, there are some corrupted files and they all have to do with updates--so I suppose my next step is a reinstall of the OS?

  8. #8
    Super Moderator bbearren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Polk County, Florida
    Posts
    3,760
    Thanks
    26
    Thanked 424 Times in 338 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by kebsojourner View Post
    Yes, there are some corrupted files and they all have to do with updates--so I suppose my next step is a reinstall of the OS?
    Did you get a message to the effect that corrupted files were found but could not be repaired?
    Create a fresh drive image before making system changes, in case you need to start over!

    "The problem is not the problem. The problem is your attitude about the problem. Savvy?"—Captain Jack Sparrow "When you're troubleshooting, start with the simple and proceed to the complex."—M.O. Johns "Experience is what you get when you're looking for something else."—Sir Thomas Robert Deware.
    Unleash Windows

  9. #9
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Yes. And to look in the Windows Log files to see which files are corrupted. By the way, I do appreciate your responsiveness!

  10. #10
    Super Moderator bbearren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Polk County, Florida
    Posts
    3,760
    Thanks
    26
    Thanked 424 Times in 338 Posts
    Do you have Windows 7 installation media? Fred Langa has instructions for Windows 7 nondestructive reinstall.

    And do note the first line in red in my signature...
    Create a fresh drive image before making system changes, in case you need to start over!

    "The problem is not the problem. The problem is your attitude about the problem. Savvy?"—Captain Jack Sparrow "When you're troubleshooting, start with the simple and proceed to the complex."—M.O. Johns "Experience is what you get when you're looking for something else."—Sir Thomas Robert Deware.
    Unleash Windows

  11. #11
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Unfortunately the computer came without the installation DVD. I'll have to check around to see if I can find someone with Windows 7 home premium 32-bit DVD. I will do Fred's non-destructive reinstall as I had saved the info when he came out with it originally and hope this resolves the problem. If not, I'll be back!

    I notice you're from Polk Co., Fl--I live in Marion, Co., FL.
    Cheers,

  12. #12
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,792
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 798 Times in 719 Posts
    You can find the links for the Windows 7 SP1 iso here:
    http://www.w7forums.com/threads/offi...wnloads.12325/

    Download the proper iso and burn your own DVD.

    Jerry

  13. #13
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Jerry, thanks so much for that link--will save me a lot of time tracking down a DVD of my OS from friends and family.
    Cheers,
    Kathy

  14. #14
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,792
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 798 Times in 719 Posts
    You're welcome.

    Jerry

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •