Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 30 of 30
  1. #16
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Watford UK
    Posts
    81
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Joe: I press cleanup and wait until it has finished and I still can't find Clean Up System Files

    BATcher: It might be "just a minor irritation" to you, but I have an SSD and the directory is taking a large proportion of the drive.

    David

  2. #17
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,513
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 614 Times in 550 Posts
    If the "Clean Up System Files" button is not present either the patch is not installed, is not installed correctly, or the user account does not have administrative permissions to clean up those files.

    Joe

  3. #18
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Watford UK
    Posts
    81
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I attach 2 files, 1 showing that the patch IS and the 2nd showing my permissions.

    Are they correct?

    David
    Attached Images Attached Images

  4. #19
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,513
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 614 Times in 550 Posts
    If you are logged in with the third user in the list that is a member of the user group not the administrative group.

    Joe

  5. #20
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Watford UK
    Posts
    81
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    No, that's just where the cursor happen to alight. I'm logged on as me

    David

  6. #21
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,513
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 614 Times in 550 Posts
    Is your logged on user account a member of the administrator's group?

    Joe

  7. #22
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I have exactly the same problem. I don't see any buttons, nor I see the Windows Update as an item.

    What I only see, when loading the cleanup after choosing C drive, is that it does scan for Windows Update files!

    I have so far found no clue on the Internet. I uninstalled that famous patch (related to windows 7 for cleanup) and reinstalled it manually and I still don't get anything.

    Currently the winsxs takes 6 gigabytes of my harddisk.

  8. #23
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,513
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 614 Times in 550 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Aram Azhari View Post
    I have exactly the same problem. I don't see any buttons, nor I see the Windows Update as an item.

    What I only see, when loading the cleanup after choosing C drive, is that it does scan for Windows Update files!

    I have so far found no clue on the Internet. I uninstalled that famous patch (related to windows 7 for cleanup) and reinstalled it manually and I still don't get anything.

    Currently the winsxs takes 6 gigabytes of my harddisk.
    Please post a screenshot of what you see.

    Joe

  9. #24
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Here are the screenshots:
    cl01.png
    cl02.JPG
    (Scrolled to the end to show all options)
    cl03.JPG
    cl04.JPG

  10. #25
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,513
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 614 Times in 550 Posts
    Thanks. have you checked the files to make sure that they have gotten updated correctly? See Disk Cleanup Wizard addon lets users delete outdated Windows updates on Windows 7 SP1 for file information.

    Note: there is always free support from Microsoft for patch installation problems too.

    Joe

  11. #26
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by JoeP517 View Post
    Thanks. have you checked the files to make sure that they have gotten updated correctly? See Disk Cleanup Wizard addon lets users delete outdated Windows updates on Windows 7 SP1 for file information.

    Note: there is always free support from Microsoft for patch installation problems too.

    Joe
    The link you included is the one I already mentioned in the previous post. Yes, I do have that update and it installs without any errors and the link does not tell you how to verify that.

    I guess I need to contact Microsoft for more help.

  12. #27
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,513
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 614 Times in 550 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Aram Azhari View Post
    The link you included is the one I already mentioned in the previous post. Yes, I do have that update and it installs without any errors and the link does not tell you how to verify that.

    I guess I need to contact Microsoft for more help.
    My question about the patch was meant to be "have you checked the files on your system to make sure they match the ones listed in the KB article?". Just to double check that all the files were copied properly.

    Joe

  13. #28
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by JoeP517 View Post
    My question about the patch was meant to be "have you checked the files on your system to make sure they match the ones listed in the KB article?". Just to double check that all the files were copied properly.

    Joe
    My files seem to be even more recent versions of the ones mentioned in the KB article. I uninstalled and reinstalled and still the same.

  14. #29
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,513
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 614 Times in 550 Posts
    On a couple of Win7 systems I access the files are newer too. I don't have any problem cleaning up system files.

    Sorry but I'm out of ideas. If Microsoft is of any help please post back.

    Joe

  15. #30
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    ST-JEANNET FRANCE
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Strange story; I read the post which was of enormous interest to me as winxs takes an enormous place on my HD ~ 20 GB ; next I ran the clean up wizard that let me clean the WINDOWS UPDATE files for about 1 GB ; there was no option for "system files cleaning " ; then following the post I tried to install the fix but after downloading it hapenned that the "fix is already installed " ; so I get confused ; the version I have works in french ; is it possible that cleaning Windows update is the same option that cleaning system files ? Interesting to get an answer to that ...........

    VERY SORRY! I did not read the first post enough carefully ; the answer is there and it is YES ; everything is in order now
    Last edited by TCHAPAIEV; 2014-03-23 at 01:13. Reason: Mistake in reading the first post

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •