Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Arvada, Colorado, USA
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    IE 10 refuses to install

    Several times, most recently this morning, I have spent hours trying to install ie 10 even though I only use Chrome.

    Ie10 appears to install but on reboot it reverts to "prior".

    In the Windows features part of Programs and Features, ie10 is shown. When I "check" the ie 10 box, ie 9 becomes available.

    I have tried innumerable internet "suggestions" for fixing the problem, but nothing works.

    Probably there is something obvious to do, but I can't come up with it.

    Bill

    Intel Core i5 3570K; ASRock H77M; NVIDIA GeForce GT 640; 8 GB Memory; C drive on SST; data on D drive. 64 bit system.

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,656
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 635 Times in 568 Posts
    Have you checked How to obtain prerequisite updates for Internet Explorer 10 for Windows 7 SP1 that fail to install and made sure all pre-requisites are installed?

    Can you attach the IE install log file?

    Joe

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Arvada, Colorado, USA
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Joe. Yes I did check the item you mentioned and I carefully studied it. Each of the "prerequisite updates" was already installed.

    I must have wiped the logs out when I ran Ccleaner.

    Just tried IE10 again, from a downloaded IE10-Windows6.1-x64-en-us.exe. It failed as usual. Now there are two log files in c:\windows\logs. They are IE10_HardwareCheck.log and IE10_NR-Setup.log.

    There is no IE install log.
    Last edited by Kamante; 2013-10-14 at 13:41.

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,656
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 635 Times in 568 Posts
    Attach them both. If they are too large zip them first.

    Joe

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Arvada, Colorado, USA
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    00:00.000: Started: 2013/10/14 (Y/M/D) 11:30:57.452 (local)
    00:00.000: Time Format in this log: MM:ss.mmm (minutes:seconds.milliseconds)
    00:00.000: Command line: "C:\Windows\TEMP\IE18029.tmp\IE10-SUPPORT\IEXPLORE.EXE" /CheckHardware "C:\Windows\TEMP\IE18029.tmp\IE10-support\HardwareBlockingList.xml"
    00:00.016: INFO: Created DXGI Factory
    00:00.016: INFO: Enum Adapters returned valid adapter.
    00:00.016: INFO: Found the following adapter information: NVIDIA GeForce GT 640
    00:00.016: INFO: Adapter version 9.18.13.2723
    00:00.016: INFO: Successfully checked adapter with list. Result = 0x00000000 (0)
    00:00.016: INFO: Finished checking hardware. Return value is: 0x00000000 (0)


    Start of IE10 NoReboot Servicing
    6.1.7601-2.1 AUDUBON.AUDUBON\WFA OS:AMD64 IENrUtil:amd64 IEversion:9.0.8112.16421 Date(UT):20131014-173119
    Command line: C:\Windows\TEMP\IE18029.tmp\IE10-support\ienrcore.exe /memsec IESETUP_NRCTX_15e4
    ________Parsing dynamic policy file: 'C:\Windows\TEMP\IE18029.tmp\IE10-support\NrPolicy.txt'
    ________ WARNING ________ IESetup environment variable is predefined as 'C:\Windows\TEMP\IE18029.tmp\IE10-support'
    IE version set to '9.0.8112.16421'
    IE bitness set to 'amd64'

    executing must-succeed process '"C:\Windows\System32\cmd.exe" /C IF NOT EXIST "%IESetup%\IeNrCore.exe" exit 1 > C:\Windows\Logs\IESetup_20131014-173119_temp.log 2>&1'
    executing must-succeed process '"C:\Windows\System32\cmd.exe" /C IF NOT EXIST "%IESetup%\ieinfra.manifest" exit 1 > C:\Windows\Logs\IESetup_20131014-173119_temp.log 2>&1'
    executing must-succeed process '"C:\Windows\System32\cmd.exe" /C IF NOT EXIST "%IESetup%\trustedinstaller.exe.manifest" exit 1 > C:\Windows\Logs\IESetup_20131014-173119_temp.log 2>&1'

    NRFindPreserviceProblems...
    false 03 2268 RmOtherWindow "Google Drive" - "C:\Program Files (x86)\Google\Drive\googledrivesync.exe"
    false 03 1620 RmMainWindow "Google Chrome" - "C:\Users\WFA\AppData\Local\Google\Chrome\Applicat ion\chrome.exe"
    false 02 3388 RMUnknownApp "Google Chrome" - "C:\Users\WFA\AppData\Local\Google\Chrome\Applicat ion\chrome.exe"
    false 02 4764 RMUnknownApp "Google Chrome" - "C:\Users\WFA\AppData\Local\Google\Chrome\Applicat ion\chrome.exe"
    false 02 4992 RMUnknownApp "Google Chrome" - "C:\Users\WFA\AppData\Local\Google\Chrome\Applicat ion\chrome.exe"
    false 02 4972 RMUnknownApp "Google Chrome" - "C:\Users\WFA\AppData\Local\Google\Chrome\Applicat ion\chrome.exe"
    false 02 4644 RMUnknownApp "Google Chrome" - "C:\Users\WFA\AppData\Local\Google\Chrome\Applicat ion\chrome.exe"
    false 02 1484 RmOtherWindow "Google Chrome" - "C:\Users\WFA\AppData\Local\Google\Chrome\Applicat ion\chrome.exe"
    false 03 3992 RmOtherWindow "Hangouts Plugin" - "C:\Users\WFA\AppData\Local\Google\Google Talk Plugin\googletalkplugin.exe"
    false 02 4172 RMUnknownApp "Google Chrome" - "C:\Users\WFA\AppData\Local\Google\Chrome\Applicat ion\chrome.exe"
    false 02 3336 RMUnknownApp "Google Chrome" - "C:\Users\WFA\AppData\Local\Google\Chrome\Applicat ion\chrome.exe"
    true 03 2716 RmExplorer "Windows Explorer" - "C:\Windows\explorer.exe"
    false 03 5300 RmExplorer "Windows Explorer" - "C:\Windows\explorer.exe"
    false 02 1444 RmCritical "nvvsvc.exe" - "C:\Windows\System32\nvvsvc.exe"
    true 03 2940 RmOtherWindow "Microsoft Security Client User Interface" - "C:\Program Files\Microsoft Security Client\msseces.exe"
    false 03 2996 RmOtherWindow "ScanToPCActivationApp" - "C:\Program Files\HP\HP Deskjet 3520 series\Bin\ScanToPCActivationApp.exe"
    false 05 2224 RMUnknownApp "HPNetworkCommunicator" - "C:\Program Files\HP\HP Deskjet 3520 series\Bin\HPNetworkCommunicator.exe"
    true 02 2784 RmService "NVIDIA Update Service Daemon" - "nvUpdatusService"
    false 05 0164 RmCritical "Microsoft Antimalware Service" - "MsMpSvc"
    true 02 1536 RmService "Print Spooler" - "Spooler"
    true 02 1804 RmService "Windows Image Acquisition (WIA)" - "stisvc"
    true 02 0680 RmService "HomeGroup Provider" - "HomeGroupProvider"
    true 02 1048 RmService "COM+ Event System" - "EventSystem"
    true 02 1076 RmService "System Event Notification Service" - "SENS"
    true 02 1076 RmService "Background Intelligent Transfer Service" - "BITS"
    true 02 2780 RmService "Windows Media Player Network Sharing Service" - "WMPNetworkSvc"
    changing S_NONR to S_FALSE

    End of IE10 NoReboot Servicing

  6. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Arvada, Colorado, USA
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Just found my ie10_main.log. Zip attached.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  7. #7
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,656
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 635 Times in 568 Posts
    It looks from the log file that the install was successful. Is there any indication about why it "reverts"? Have you checked the event log files?

    Joe

  8. #8
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Arvada, Colorado, USA
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I have never before used the Event Viewer, but I do see under "Windows Logs - Setup" the following: "Package KB2718695 failed to be changed to the Installed state. Status: 0x80071a2d." I believe that package number may refer to IE 10. The time of this entry is almost exactly after my last failed installation attempt where on reboot there was some sort of failure and the reversion to IE 9 occurred.

  9. #9
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    5,007
    Thanks
    71
    Thanked 576 Times in 521 Posts
    See if the answer in this thread helps:
    http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/i...2-74fa8b75e226

    Jerry

  10. #10
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Arvada, Colorado, USA
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Jerry, thanks. I have tried all that (including the System Readiness Tool). And I just found the CheckSUR.log, which tells me that there are 2 errors (CBS MUM Corrupt Total) and a number of unavailable repair files, none of which has a KB number. I am not sure where to find the missing repair files, which are:
    servicing\packages\Microsoft-Windows-IE-Hyphenation-Parent-Package-English~31bf3856ad364e35~~~11.2.9412.0.mum
    servicing\packages\Microsoft-Windows-IE-Spelling-Parent-Package-English~31bf3856ad364e35~~~11.2.9412.0.mum
    servicing\packages\Microsoft-Windows-IE-Hyphenation-Parent-Package-English~31bf3856ad364e35~~~11.2.9412.0.cat
    servicing\packages\Microsoft-Windows-IE-Spelling-Parent-Package-English~31bf3856ad364e35~~~11.2.9412.0.cat

    I am not certain that the "errors" have anything at all to do with my ie 10 installation problems. One forum I just found said that these particular errors are actually bugs in the system readiness tool and that Microsoft is aware of it. True or not? I have no idea.
    Last edited by Kamante; 2013-10-16 at 14:51.

  11. #11
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,656
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 635 Times in 568 Posts
    Have you downloaded the full install package IE10 for 64-bit Windows 7 or relied on Windows Update?

    Joe

  12. #12
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Arvada, Colorado, USA
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I have done both and both have failed to install.

  13. #13
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Prescott, Arizona, USA
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Dear Loungers;
    I have had this problem for several months so, It was great to see this thread, although I wasn't able rectify the same problem in my PC. by following the corrective steps provided.
    My IE exp, help, stats I have Ver 10.0.10 installed, KB 2879017, (The control panel stats I have IE Exp 9 installed.) So, am I plagued with the same problem as the previous writer?

    Being a novice, I am having a bigger problem following Joe's procedure, but, have attempted to reinstall from the MS web site without any luck.
    I would appreciate, in lay language what the corrective solution might be, if any,
    I have win 7,32 bit, 956 memory, 250 gb hard drive.

    Any suggestions appreciated.

    JRH

  14. #14
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,656
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 635 Times in 568 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jrheintz View Post
    Dear Loungers;
    I have had this problem for several months so, It was great to see this thread, although I wasn't able rectify the same problem in my PC. by following the corrective steps provided.
    My IE exp, help, stats I have Ver 10.0.10 installed, KB 2879017, (The control panel stats I have IE Exp 9 installed.) So, am I plagued with the same problem as the previous writer?

    Being a novice, I am having a bigger problem following Joe's procedure, but, have attempted to reinstall from the MS web site without any luck.
    I would appreciate, in lay language what the corrective solution might be, if any,
    I have win 7,32 bit, 956 memory, 250 gb hard drive.

    Any suggestions appreciated.

    JRH
    You have IE10 installed. There is no reason to reinstall. IE10 is installed as a Windows Update and shows in the update history not as an installed program. Please post a picture of your control panel showing IE9.

    Joe

  15. #15
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Prescott, Arizona, USA
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thank you Joe;

    You are correct! Although I have attempted to obtain a screen shot, which will make me look foolish, because to-day the C.Panel displays Win IExp as 8 rather than 9, However I, Turning on & Off features displays the check box indicates Win IExp has win 10 installed! Very confusing for this novice.
    If you want a screen shot, please explain how to obtain and I will make a new attempt.

    Thank you very much for your patience and extended help.
    JRH

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •