Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Question Adobe password spoof?

    I received an Adobe message saying that their website had been compromised and that I should change my password.

    Is this genuine or should I do just that.

    I have not replied or used the link in the e-mail and logged in with my existing user/password without any difficulty.

    I can easily set up a new, difficult one as I subscribe to LastPass.

  2. #2
    4 Star Lounger SpywareDr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Riviera Beach, Maryland, USA
    Posts
    490
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 52 Times in 43 Posts

  3. #3
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,792
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 798 Times in 719 Posts
    Even though the email was probably legitimate based Spywaredr's post, you were wise to log directly into Adobe yourself rather than use the link in the email.

    Jerry

  4. #4
    4 Star Lounger SpywareDr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Riviera Beach, Maryland, USA
    Posts
    490
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 52 Times in 43 Posts
    I agree.

    One other way to determine if you're on a legitimate site is to intentionally use a wrong password. If it still let's you in, it's a fake.

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thank you very much for all your replies.

    The only bank details I have on file are for Amazon and PayPal,
    Does Adobe get involved with these?

    For Home Banking I use Telephone, my wife , having a supposedly more secure Mac, does all the household accounts.

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    The only Adobe product I still use is Adobe Flash built into my IE 10 which is updated through WU. I replaced Adobe Reader long ago with PDF-Xchange Viewer. This is lighter on resource use, and much less susceptible to the security problems that seem to plague Adobe products, perhaps because Adobe is in much wider use, similar to Windows being a nicer target than OS X (or whatever Apples OS is now) because of it's market share.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  7. #7
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,397 Times in 1,220 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by windsoroyal View Post
    Thank you very much for all your replies.

    The only bank details I have on file are for Amazon and PayPal,
    Does Adobe get involved with these?

    For Home Banking I use Telephone, my wife , having a supposedly more secure Mac, does all the household accounts.
    I believe I read hackers accessed the full customer data maintained by Adobe, including payment related data, but that data was encrypted. Besides changing your Adobe password, if you use the same password elsewhere (something that should be strongly discouraged), you should change it.
    Rui
    -------
    R4

  8. #8
    3 Star Lounger midnight's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Almost Deep East Texas
    Posts
    352
    Thanks
    42
    Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts
    [QUOTE=windsoroyal;924653]I received an Adobe message saying that their website had been compromised and that I should change my password.

    I received one too, but I don't HAVE an adobe password that I know of. Now what??

  9. #9
    4 Star Lounger SpywareDr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Riviera Beach, Maryland, USA
    Posts
    490
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 52 Times in 43 Posts

  10. #10
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,571
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,056 Times in 925 Posts
    If you ever registered an Adobe product or used any of their online services you probably created an Adobe account.

    Joe

  11. #11
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I successfully changed password using "LastPass" and a sixteen letter/digit replacement, that should fix it!

    Now have to clean out old Java programs which Adobe recommends.
    Seems they all blame one another when something goes wrong.

    Why does Java have such a bad reputation for being susceptible to attack, I wouldn't use it but for some essential sites like the B.B.C.

  12. #12
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,571
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,056 Times in 925 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by windsoroyal View Post
    Why does Java have such a bad reputation for being susceptible to attack, I wouldn't use it but for some essential sites like the B.B.C.
    Java has had and continues to have a great many security issues. It is updated irregularly and it appears to be somewhat ineffectively.

    Joe

  13. #13
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    4,745
    Thanks
    171
    Thanked 648 Times in 571 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by windsoroyal View Post
    Why does Java have such a bad reputation for being susceptible to attack, I wouldn't use it but for some essential sites like the B.B.C.
    I don't think anything on the BBC site requires Java.

    Bruce

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •