Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Platinum Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    5,546
    Thanks
    50
    Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts

    Printer Connected but not showing

    I just set up my Epson 845 printer after our move o our new house. The network status and connection reports all show the printer as connected to the network, but the printer does not show up in the Available Devices listing.

    What might be the cause, and how do I fix it?

    Regards,
    Chuck Billow
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  2. Subscribe to our Windows Secrets Newsletter - It's Free!

    Get our unique weekly Newsletter with tips and techniques, how to's and critical updates on Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows XP, Firefox, Internet Explorer, Google, etc. Join our 480,000 subscribers!

    Excel 2013: The Missing Manual

    + Get this BONUS — free!

    Get the most of Excel! Learn about new features, basics of creating a new spreadsheet and using the infamous Ribbon in the first chapter of Excel 2013: The Missing Manual - Subscribe and download Chapter 1 for free!

  3. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,201
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 564 Times in 504 Posts
    What OS? Network printer or attached to a PC?

    Joe

  4. #3
    Platinum Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    5,546
    Thanks
    50
    Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
    Joe, I'm sorry... Windows 7 x64 and it's wireless networked.

    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  5. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,201
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 564 Times in 504 Posts
    what happens if you turn your firewall off?

    What firewall are you using?

    Joe

  6. #5
    Platinum Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    5,546
    Thanks
    50
    Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
    That put the printer back in the window, Joe. And it was/is there after the firewall was turned back on. But...It is grayed out in the devices window, even though it is showing as the default, and jobs sent to it just stack up in the queue.

    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  7. #6
    Platinum Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    5,546
    Thanks
    50
    Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
    I got lucky. After three tries of removing and reinstalling, all is fine now.

    Who'd a guessed...?

    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  8. #7
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,201
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 564 Times in 504 Posts
    Hmmm!!! Glad you got it fixed.

    Joe

  9. The Following User Says Thank You to JoeP517 For This Useful Post:

    CWBillow (2013-10-29)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •