Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post

    Keyboard hangs processes

    I am running Win7 64-bit on an Acer desktop with a wireless keyboard and mouse. The keyboard works in certain programs, such as Notepad, but it causes other programs, such as Chrome, Internet Explorer, Notepad++, just to name a few that freeze when I press any key on the keyboard. I have to manually kill the process. I can do all the normal things with the mouse - just not with the keyboard. I have rebooted in Safe Mode and the keyboard works fine with the programs that are problems in the regular Win7 boot. I have run a virus scan using Norton Internet Security and found nothing.

    Any ideas on what I can do to track down this odd behavior? It has brought my use of that machine to a total standstill.

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,571
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,056 Times in 925 Posts
    Have you replaced the batteries in the keyboard?

    Do you have the latest drivers for the keyboard?

    Have you moved any other wireless devices that could be interfering with the keyboard?

    Joe

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
    I am pretty certain that the problem is not with the physical keyboard. When I boot in Safe Mode, I can do all of the things that I would expect to with the keyboard. It is only in the regular mode that it causes processes to stop functioning. I will definitely check the drivers. I did install some Microsoft updates, which is a mistake as often as not.

    My guess is that the keypress is being sent through some key filter or event and that is hanging, so that the process that is receiving it never regains control. It seems that whatever is causing the problem, it is not in the standard drivers that load in Safe Mode. It must be in a secondary driver that is being loaded only in the regular mode. I am not sure how to go about tracking that down.

  4. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
    A little more information. I did check the Logitech drivers and updated them, but it didn't resolve the problem. Also, I can type into windows like the Start window - to select a program. that works fine. My guess is that the keypress is not being sent through a filter for that input.

  5. #5
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,571
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,056 Times in 925 Posts
    Almost sounds like you have a faulty key logger program running. Have you run a full malware scan recently?

    Have you checked what is being started when you boot the system?

    Joe

  6. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post

    [closed]

    I rolled my installation back to a prior point and that solved the problem. I'm still not sure what has caused it. I did save the list of autoruns from before and after for comparison, but there are so many differences that it is hard to pin one down as the culprit.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •