Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 26
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    North Yorkshire UK
    Posts
    63
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Cannot remove Win7 SP1

    Hi,
    I'm trying to do a 'No-reformat, nondestructive reinstall' of Windows 7 Home Premium, as described by Fred Langa in the July 14 2011 newsletter.

    Fred mentions that SP1 (Service Pack for Microsoft Windows KB976932) should be uninstalled prior to attempting the upgrade, however, when I follow his procedure, select the appropriate entry in the update list and then right click, no 'Uninstall' option appears. I checked several other update entries and some offer the 'Uninstall' prompt and others do not.
    I did try just following the update procedure but - as Fred mentioned - the process fails stating that I'm trying to upgrade with an older version, than the one currently installed.

    So, until I can get rid of SP1, I can't proceed...... Any ideas as to how I can uninstall SP1 would be much appreciated

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    You could always download the Win 7 ISO file that includes SP1, burn that ISO file to disk and use that to do the non-destructive reinstall. Understand this ISO file is relatively old and the reinstalled OS will require quite a few updates, but then again you are already looking at quite a few updates if you are successful using your original DVD as well.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  3. #3
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,594
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    I agree with Medico. Downloading the ISO will save you a lot of time. Just make sure you download the version that has the same bittedness as your installed version. You can check this by right clicking "Computer" in Windows Explorer and selecting Properties. See the System section in the center.

    Joe

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Pittsford,NY
    Posts
    874
    Thanks
    517
    Thanked 35 Times in 27 Posts
    It may be me, but using the referenced ISO for SP1 didn't work when I tried Fred's approach. At the end of the whole process, I was told that my key was invalid. Mine is for W7 Home Premium build 6000. The downloaded ISO winds up with build 6001 and wants it's own key.

    If there's a way around this, I would surely like it pointed out - and buying a new key is not a way around it for me.

    Dick

  5. #5
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    North Yorkshire UK
    Posts
    63
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Thanks for your comments.... Ref Dick-Y's post, How can I check which build I have present on my PC ? I can't see any reference to a 'build' on the 'Properties' page of Win 7....

    I downloaded the appropriate ISO file from the suggested website, but when I tried to Unzip it, WinZip created an error :

    Extracting efi\microsoft\boot\fonts\chs_boot.ttf Unable to create file.

    This file and all the files in this 'fonts' folder are of Zero length.
    I repeated the download from the Techdows website and tried again but the result was the same
    Last edited by willum08; 2013-10-18 at 11:37.

  6. #6
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Pittsford,NY
    Posts
    874
    Thanks
    517
    Thanked 35 Times in 27 Posts
    willum08:
    The build number mismatch was reported to me after I went through the process Fred describes.
    I have since found this as a way to see what the build number:

    "How to find windows version, build number and revision number?
    ◾ Click Start, type regedit and press Enter to open the Windows registry
    ◾ Navigate to the registry key – HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion

    On the right panel, you will find the key “CurrentBuildNumber“.The value of this key is your Windows Build Number."

    I hope this helps.

    Also, if anyone can help me overcome my last point in msg #4 above I would be grateful.

    Dick

  7. #7
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    North Yorkshire UK
    Posts
    63
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Hi Dick-Y,
    Thanks for your post. I've found an alternative method
    Right Click Computer > Properties > Help > About Windows and the new window shows the version........

  8. #8
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Pittsford,NY
    Posts
    874
    Thanks
    517
    Thanked 35 Times in 27 Posts
    Thanks. Better that way than mucking about in the Registry.
    Dick-Y

  9. #9
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,594
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dick-Y View Post
    It may be me, but using the referenced ISO for SP1 didn't work when I tried Fred's approach. At the end of the whole process, I was told that my key was invalid. Mine is for W7 Home Premium build 6000. The downloaded ISO winds up with build 6001 and wants it's own key.

    If there's a way around this, I would surely like it pointed out - and buying a new key is not a way around it for me.

    Dick
    If this is an OEM system are you sure you have the correct key?

    Joe

  10. #10
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Pittsford,NY
    Posts
    874
    Thanks
    517
    Thanked 35 Times in 27 Posts
    Joe:
    It's a Dell 4600 that I bought new from Dell; and it came with W7 Home Premium CD's to match what came preloaded.
    So,"Yes", it's the correct Key.

    Dick

  11. #11
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    North Yorkshire UK
    Posts
    63
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Does anyone have any idea why the Zipped ISO file will not Unzip - as mentioned in my post above timed 2013-10-18 14:09 ??

  12. #12
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,594
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by willum08 View Post
    Does anyone have any idea why the Zipped ISO file will not Unzip - as mentioned in my post above timed 2013-10-18 14:09 ??
    What's the point of trying to unzip? Just burn the ISO to a DVD and use it to install.

    Joe

  13. #13
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    North Yorkshire UK
    Posts
    63
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    I tried burning the file to a DVD using the facility within Windows 7 but received an error saying that the file could not be burned and that it was incompitable......

    I have downloaded the file again, from a different website, and this time it is a larger size than the first download so the first download must have been faulty......
    The new downloaded file burned successfully to DVD - hopefully I can now re-install Win 7 .......
    Last edited by willum08; 2013-10-19 at 07:53.

  14. #14
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Pittsford,NY
    Posts
    874
    Thanks
    517
    Thanked 35 Times in 27 Posts
    The original site pointed to by Medico and others offered only ISO files for download. Where did you get the zipped file from?
    Dick

  15. #15
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    North Yorkshire UK
    Posts
    63
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Hi Dick,When I downloaded the original ISO file, it showed as having a WinZip Icon and I naturally assumed that it was a ZIP file.... (Wrong !!!)
    I then tried burning the downloaded file to a DVD and got an error message as I reported above.

    Anyway, that file proved to be corrupted, but I didn't realise this until I downloaded another copy from a different website (Webtrickz.com),
    even though it 'points' to the same download source (http://msft.digitalrivercontent.net/win/X17-24208.iso)

    I've now burned a successful ISO Disk, re-installed Windows 7 and everything is working fine - including validation

    Thanks to all for your input .......

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •