Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    San Jose, California, USA
    Posts
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    SFC Scannow caused a problem

    Recent article by Susan Bradley identified SFC.exe as powerful tool to keep kernel healthy.
    Since I had had to repair previously corrupted winsock file in order to re-establish internet connectability as well as printing to local printer (which I did successfully), I decided to run sfc /scannow (as administrator) from command prompt to ensure no other kernel problem existed.
    After run, resultant screen identified "some files could not be repaired".
    On re-boot, desktop showed all icons (including those on the taskbar and systray) with no name identifiers, link arrows on shortcuts, and clicking on any of them showed either no response or blank boxes opened.
    Start button showed blank dropdown box with up and down arrow, again unresponsive.
    Had to turn system off by on/off switch.

    Same thing happens when booting into "safe mode" (any w or w/o internet)

    Any idea on what happened? Resolution?

    Do I shop for a new pc?

    BTW: running Win7 Home with SP1 4GB mem; 1TB Hdd

    Thanks for any help/ideas/possible solutions and/or condolences

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    Can you restore your computer to a restore point from a time before the sfc operation?
    Rui
    -------
    R4

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    You might also insert the installation or Repair disk and try a repair install.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  4. #4
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    Shopping for a new computer would be a tad bit extreme, especially if all it is is software.
    I would find it prudent at this time to ensure that you have your data backed up somewhere, while your computer still boots up.

    Sounds to me like more corruption than even an SFC /scanow can handle. You could repeat the scan.

    If the RESTORE doesn't work then you can try a repair install.
    How to Do a Repair Install to Fix Windows 7


    What kind of disks came with your computer?
    What is the recovery; partition based restore disk, OEM DVD, or genuine MS Windows 7 Home DVD disk?
    Was SP1 part of the original setup or did you have to update it yourself?
    Last edited by CLiNT; 2013-10-22 at 18:37.
    DRIVE IMAGING
    Invest a little time and energy in a well thought out BACKUP regimen and you will have minimal down time, and headache.

    Build your own system; get everything you want and nothing you don't.
    Latest Build:
    ASUS X99 Deluxe, Core i7-5960X, Corsair Hydro H100i, Plextor M6e 256GB M.2 SSD, Corsair DOMINATOR Platinum 32GB DDR4@2666, W8.1 64 bit,
    EVGA GTX980, Seasonic PLATINUM-1000W PSU, MountainMods U2-UFO Case, and 7 other internal drives.

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    San Jose, California, USA
    Posts
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks people!
    This might answer all of your suggestions/questions. Unfortunately, will not resolve the issue.
    Hitting F8 to get to the various DOS(?) options of Restore, safe mode(s), repair etc results as follows:
    Repair (advanced as well) requires system disk...PC came with OS preloaded
    Cannot restore to a pre SFC condition because Windows does not load in usable manner.
    Safe modes launch Windows with no links.
    I may wind up removing the current hdd (have many personal files), install a new hdd, install a fresh Win7, install Acronis True image and recover all from back-up drive that I do have hooked up to pc.

    I was just hoping that I might sneak into a repair mode a little simpler.

  6. #6
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,798
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 799 Times in 720 Posts
    See http://www.sevenforums.com/tutorials...e-checker.html
    for instructions on reading the CBS.log file created by the SFC scan. Read it to find the names of the files that it couldn't repair.

    Jerry

  7. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    23
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
    Just to add to what Jerry says - the guys over at http://www.sysnative.com will not only check the CBS log file for you, but will also produce for you little scripts to correct any errors.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •