Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Laval, Québec, Canada
    Posts
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post

    Unhappy Drag and drop not working anymore after an upgrade to Win 8.1

    Hi there,

    I have just upgraded from windows 8 to Win 8.1 in a dual boot system with Win 7 Ultimate 64-bit. Since then, I cannot drag and drop any icon on my desktop in Win 8.1 or any file in File Explorer for that matter. The issue is not present in Win 7. I've googled all day long and visited various forums but to no avail. Some suggestions were to "Press and hold the left mouse button on an icon that doesn't work and press Escape at the same time" or "To disable UAC in Win 8.1". The former suggestion didn't work for me, as for the latter we all know the implications on the metro Apps and I don't want to take that route.

    Has anyone encountered this problem? Any help would be most appreciated.

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    10,357
    Thanks
    130
    Thanked 1,162 Times in 1,069 Posts
    If you execute File Explorer as an Administrator, does the problem persist?
    Rui
    -------
    R4

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Laval, Québec, Canada
    Posts
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
    As a matter of fact, the problem only exists on the desktop where I have this nifty application called "Fences" which allows me to categorize my icons. Sorry, if I mentioned File Explorer when I opened this thread. Right now, I have two icons out of their respective fence, namely "Recycle bin" and "iTunes". I just cannot drag them back to their own fence. Whenever I try to drag them with the left mouse button, it's always a no go. I always get a little circle with a bar across. Maybe I should try to uninstall and re-install the app and see what happens.

    I'll try that and get back to you later because I have to go to work right now.

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    10,357
    Thanks
    130
    Thanked 1,162 Times in 1,069 Posts
    If you "kill" fences, does the problem go away?
    Rui
    -------
    R4

  5. #5
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,609
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 623 Times in 557 Posts
    Do you have the most current version of Fences?

    Joe

  6. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Laval, Québec, Canada
    Posts
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
    I have resolved the issue. All it took was to uninstall and re-install the app (Fences). Joe is totally right. I didn't have the latest version. Why, Why I didn't think of that sooner? I spent a whole day browsing and browsing to see If I could come up with a solution. I have learned my lesson, i,e before starting browsing for a problem it is definitely worthwhile thinking a bit.

    Anyhow, thanks to all of you guys.

  7. #7
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    10,357
    Thanks
    130
    Thanked 1,162 Times in 1,069 Posts
    Glad you solved it .
    Rui
    -------
    R4

  8. #8
    3 Star Lounger bassfisher6522's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    315
    Thanks
    44
    Thanked 32 Times in 31 Posts
    As with most 3rd party applications, when upgrading an OS, it's always a good idea to uninstall the 3rd party software then upgrade the OS and then reinstall the 3rd party software with the latest version.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •