2 Star Lounger
    Thanks

Explorer.exe problems on Win 7 Home laptop

I use Explorer to do a number of things besides just trying to find a file. I connect Canon cameras via USB and I copy files between systems (I have a large desktop system I use as a file server among other things).

When I hook up a camera, I USUALLY get the pop up on what to do, and usually I just use Windows to download photos from the camera. But if I want to do it a second time, or copy photos to a flash drive, Explorer will hang, and eventually freeze up the laptop I'm working on.

I also have a lot of problems when right clicking in Explorer.

FYI, I am an IT professional, but Explorer.exe has caused me loads of pain over the years! So any help would be greatly appreciated.

The system is fully patched and up to date.

Thanks!

Administrator
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    All those apps add shell extenders which are, often, responsible for the issues and crashes.
    Rui
    -------
    R4

Administrator
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    See Add, Remove, Edit Context Menu items in Windows 7 | 8 for information on managing context menu add-ons.

Joe

2 Star Lounger
    Thanks
    I used shellexview to take a look, and found no surprises. My Seagate Replica software, MS Office and the like. Nothing 'foreign'. Plus keep in mind that my problem is not specific to the context menu, but happens the most when connecting a camera to the laptop. FYI, the drivers are all default Microsoft provided for the various Canon cameras I use. Also, when I want to copy files from one PC to another - in either direction.

Administrator
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    Have you tried Canon's own software then - drivers, I mean?

I have two Canons and if I am not wrong, they install their own drivers.
    Rui
    -------
    R4

2 Star Lounger
    Thanks