Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 22
  1. #1
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    26
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Exclamation Smart Screen Reminder for Windows 8.1

    This morning when I signed in (to Windows 8 Pro) I saw a Smart Screen-like message telling me to go to the Windows Store to download Windows 8.1. I couldn't do anything with my computer - nothing at all - and there was no way to dismiss this screen. I tried signing out and then signing back in, even restarting, but the Smart Screen-like message appeared again, only this time with a button to 'Remind me later'.

    This is either malware, in which case I am in big trouble, or a new level of intrusion by Microsoft. Either way it's not good.

    I will upgrade to Windows 8.1 when I choose, not when somebody else nags me. And I sure as heck am not going to click on a button to (allegedly) go to the Windows Store just because it looks Windows-like.

    Advice, please!

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    Haven't read about it anywhere. Did you try clicking the link - if it is malware, which seems unlikely, you are already infected, so clicking can't do much more harm?
    Rui
    -------
    R4

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Go ahead and run scans with your favorite Av and AM apps to see if anything is caught. This is the first time I have heard of this as well.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  4. #4
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,792
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 798 Times in 719 Posts
    Did you try alt + F4 to clear the window?
    CTL + Shift + escape to bring up task manager?

    Jerry

  5. #5
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    26
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I'm dismayed that no one else has reported this - dismayed for two reasons:
    1- It may mean that my computer has been hacked for the first time...ever.
    2- It may mean that hackers have discovered a way to implement a Smart Screen-style overlay.

    Here's my plan:
    1- The next time I see this, I'll try ALT+F4 and CTRL+SHIFT+ESC, as jwitalka suggests
    2- I'll also try clicking on the 'Go to Windows Store' button since, as ruirib points out, nothing to lose.
    3- Multiple malware scanners!

    I'll report back on my results.

  6. #6
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    I'm dismayed that no one else has reported this - dismayed for two reasons:
    1- It may mean that my computer has been hacked for the first time...ever.
    2- It may mean that hackers have discovered a way to implement a Smart Screen-style overlay.
    It's unlikely. If someone were to hack your computer I suspect they'd be doing a whole lot more than just
    displaying a Windows 8.1 upgrade request. Take a more holistic approach and look out for hidden running processes,
    network activity, and other things that don't look and feel right.




    How to Turn Off or Disable the SmartScreen Filter In Windows 8
    DRIVE IMAGING
    Invest a little time and energy in a well thought out BACKUP regimen and you will have minimal down time, and headache.

    Build your own system; get everything you want and nothing you don't.
    Latest Build:
    ASUS X99 Deluxe, Core i7-5960X, Corsair Hydro H100i, Plextor M6e 256GB M.2 SSD, Corsair DOMINATOR Platinum 32GB DDR4@2666, W8.1 64 bit,
    EVGA GTX980, Seasonic PLATINUM-1000W PSU, MountainMods U2-UFO Case, and 7 other internal drives.

  7. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Azusa,Ca. USA
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    got the same notice this morning but got a close box second time got close & remind me later boxes so something new from MS not a Virus have old machine & can't update

  8. #8
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Montréal
    Posts
    1,795
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 52 Times in 51 Posts
    Hello Ted. I got this screen just now about going to the Store and getting W-8.1. All else was dead on my machine, they really want you to get .1.

    The way around it, for me, was to click the prompt, it took me to the store but then I hit the Win-key and I was back on my Start screen and got no further annoyance. That screen was really "locked". Hi ! hi ! I got around it. I will not try .1 until I hear you guys saying that it runs fine but I doubt that my Office 2000 will ever be the same, it is fine on previous W-8.
    Have a great evening. Jean.

  9. #9
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Montréal
    Posts
    1,795
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 52 Times in 51 Posts
    Lone Ranger, read my post #8, not malware even if you consider MS is pushing their .1 !

  10. #10
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    26
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks for everyone's replies. Glad to know my computer is not infected. (Scans with Norton and Malwarebytes both came up blank.)

    This is THE most audacious, annoying intrusion I have ever received from Microsoft. I'll upgrade to 8.1 when I'm good and ready. Sooner or later someone will publish a fix to disable this annoyance.

  11. #11
    Super Moderator bbearren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Polk County, Florida
    Posts
    3,760
    Thanks
    26
    Thanked 424 Times in 338 Posts
    I'm running Windows 8 on my desktop PC, but I get no encouragement to go to the Store to upgrade to 8.1. I haven't seen the screen you describe.

    If I visit the Store, the free upgrade is prominently displayed, but that's it. No reminders.

    I did have 8.1 installed on my desktop PC, but restored my Windows 8 drive image, so there's no leftovers from the previous install of 8.1
    Create a fresh drive image before making system changes, in case you need to start over!

    "The problem is not the problem. The problem is your attitude about the problem. Savvy?"—Captain Jack Sparrow "When you're troubleshooting, start with the simple and proceed to the complex."—M.O. Johns "Experience is what you get when you're looking for something else."—Sir Thomas Robert Deware.
    Unleash Windows

  12. #12
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Hopatcong, NJ
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by handcuff36 View Post
    Hello Ted. I got this screen just now about going to the Store and getting W-8.1. All else was dead on my machine, they really want you to get .1.

    The way around it, for me, was to click the prompt, it took me to the store but then I hit the Win-key and I was back on my Start screen and got no further annoyance. That screen was really "locked". Hi ! hi ! I got around it. I will not try .1 until I hear you guys saying that it runs fine but I doubt that my Office 2000 will ever be the same, it is fine on previous W-8.
    Have a great evening. Jean.
    FYI, I am not a heavy user, but I installed office 2000 SP3 and word, excel, and pp seem to work fine on 8.1.

  13. #13
    3 Star Lounger bassfisher6522's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    373
    Thanks
    53
    Thanked 40 Times in 39 Posts
    I'm wondering if this overlay, 8.1 upgrade add or whatever it's being called has to do with the type of install of the original OS is (OEM, Retail) and whether or not UEFI is involved.

    I've not seen this message and I'm running legacy BIOS and the RTM version (clean install) of windows 8 Pro on both my PC's (desktop, laptop). Which are now running 8.1 Pro RTM clean install.

  14. #14
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Montréal
    Posts
    1,795
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 52 Times in 51 Posts
    Mickey, good morning.
    Can you enlighten me as to this SP3 for Office 2000 ??? I do not have it, is it still available ? If not, would you consider forwarding it to me ? Thanks. Jean.

  15. #15
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,434
    Thanks
    371
    Thanked 1,456 Times in 1,325 Posts
    Jean,

    Here's the link to Office 2000 SP-3. HTH
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •