Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Lounger d1hartman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Murray Hill, New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    41
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Question Windows 7 not responding (x64 and x32)

    For the past few days, whenever I try to do anything in any program I get the "Not Responding" in the title bar. I use Secunia PSI as well as the usual Windoze update. I've tried CCleaner and Glary Utilities to clean up and uninstall all the latest program additions to both systems. I've run Avast full scan and the f-secure rescue CD neither found anything. I'm currently trying Bit defender and Malwarebytes to quadruple check both systems. What I'm afraid happened, is that I installed a Windoze update that I shouldn't have. One system is a Sony Viao VPCM121AX running W7 Home Premium (32) SP1 and a Lenovo 6136 running W7 Professional 64 SP1. Task manager shows 99 percent idle yet nothing is happening. Interestingly, my HP ProBook running W7 Home Premium 64 SP1 seems unaffected.

    Anyone have a similar experience?
    Last edited by d1hartman; 2013-11-01 at 21:14.

  2. #2
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Slough, Berkshire UK
    Posts
    924
    Thanks
    55
    Thanked 52 Times in 50 Posts

    Cool

    Have you tried running "sfc /scannow" in an elevated command prompt window to check if any system files have corrupted. It will attempt to repair them.
    Clive

    All typing errors are my own work and subject to patents pending. Except errors by the spell checker. And that has its own patients.

  3. #3
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,397 Times in 1,220 Posts
    Do you have restore points prior to the addition of the Windows update you think caused this? I find restore points quite useful to recover from problematic updates (although unfortunately not always as reliable as they should be).
    Rui
    -------
    R4

  4. #4
    Lounger d1hartman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Murray Hill, New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    41
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    System file checker reports that everything is OK

  5. #5
    Lounger d1hartman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Murray Hill, New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    41
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    I'm about to try to restore the Viao VPCM121AX to about a month ago. There were multiple "critical updates" and one of them might have been fatal. I'll see how that goes, then if successful, I'll try it on the Lenovo 6136. If it doesn't work then I might try to run the W7 install and see if it has an option to repair the current installation.

  6. #6
    Lounger d1hartman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Murray Hill, New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    41
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Well neither of the above seemed to work. Memtest86 passed on both machines. Disks pass SMART testing. I'm copying all my files to external backup. Will look for any system test utilities and run them to verify the motherboards and other hardware are OK. Then do a clean install...unless anyone else has any good ideas...

  7. #7
    WS Lounge VIP mrjimphelps's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3,396
    Thanks
    445
    Thanked 404 Times in 376 Posts
    I would run CCleaner and disable as many startup items as possible. One of them is probably the culprit.

    To do more extensive troubleshooting:

    Try starting the computer in Safe Mode. Some of the things which will cause the described behavior can't operate in Safe Mode.

    If that eliminates the problem, then try starting the computer in VGA Mode. (It's not called VGA Mode in Windows 7, but the idea is that you are running Windows in low-grade video mode.)

    If that eliminates the problem, then you know that the problem is somehow related to video. If the problem persists (but was eliminated in Safe Mode), then you know that the problem is Windows-related, not hardware-related.

  8. #8
    Lounger d1hartman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Murray Hill, New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    41
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Thanks for all the suggestions. Unfortunately none of them worked. I finally wiped the drives and did a clean install. Things seem to be OK ... so far...

  9. #9
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Slough, Berkshire UK
    Posts
    924
    Thanks
    55
    Thanked 52 Times in 50 Posts

    Cool

    If get offered updates from windows again only select one at a time. (check setting in updates is set to notify only but not download or install or download only but not install) then test after each update for a day. That way you may discover which update caused the problem and be able to uninstall it before any other updates installed as you will have the date installed listed in installed updates. once found and uninstalled on next run to look for updates you can right click and choose hide up date so don't get offered it again.
    Clive

    All typing errors are my own work and subject to patents pending. Except errors by the spell checker. And that has its own patients.

  10. #10
    Lounger d1hartman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Murray Hill, New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    41
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    I've already set updates to be downloaded but not installed until I install them, but I haven't been doing them one at a time. In retrospect that seems like a good idea, although I can't say for sure that it was an update that did me in. It could have been my own doing...or undoing...
    Dave

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •