Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts

    Command-line quote marks

    I have an Epson Workforce 845 printer. Installed at default, it inserts a commend into the registry at HKCU that looks like this:

    C:\Windows\system32\spool\DRIVERS\x64\3\E_YATIHSA. EXE /EPT "EPLTarget\P0000000000000000" /M "WorkForce 845" /EF "HKCU"

    Trouble is, that command-line doesn't load -- BUT remove all the quote marks and it seems to then load fine:

    C:\Windows\system32\spool\DRIVERS\x64\3\E_YATIHSA. EXE /EPT EPLTarget\P0000000000000000 /M WorkForce 845 /EF HKCU

    I tried removing the quotes one at a time to see if it was one in particular, but no, it needs ALL the quotes removed. Wouldn't Epson have known or found the same issue just like I did, installing from the CD that came with the printer? If they did want them there, why?

    I know: "Chuck, you should e-mail Epson." I did, but haven't heard anything back, so, here I is.

    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  2. #2
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,170
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 980 Times in 910 Posts
    I'd suggest it's just poor quality control, something we all suffer from occasionally.

    cheers, Paul

  3. #3
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,434
    Thanks
    371
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Chuck,

    From what I can see there is only one SET of quotes that should be necessary are the ones around "WorkForce 845" due to the space in the name. All the other components of the command are discrete and contain no spaces so no quotes needed. I'd actually be surprised that the command would work w/o this set of quotes. HTH
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  4. #4
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
    Sure seems that way, Paul.

    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  5. #5
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
    RG, I dunno...I'll be curious to see if Epson has some explanation.

    Thanks,
    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  6. #6
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,170
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 980 Times in 910 Posts
    RG, the quotes shouldn't be required because the program will accept all parameters, then search for know options and separators. Thus "/M WorkForce 845 /EF HKCU" will be split into only 2 options by the slashes.

    cheers, Paul

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •