Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    cant change printer status to "online"

    My printer is directly connected to my computer but its status is shown as "offline" in pc settings. It was working ok until two weeks ago and I don't know what I may have done to cause it to go offline. Lenovo software help wants $59 to fix it. Help.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,794
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 799 Times in 720 Posts
    Try removing the printer and reinstalling it.

    Jerry

  3. #3
    WS Lounge VIP mrjimphelps's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3,401
    Thanks
    447
    Thanked 404 Times in 376 Posts
    Also, make sure that your printer cable is connected securely on both ends, and that your printer's power cable is plugged in all the way on both ends.

    One thing you could try, if none of the above fixes it (including Jerry's suggestion): If your printer is networkable (that is, if it has either an ethernet port or wifi capabilities, or both), you could install it as a network printer. The setup is a bit more complicated than plugging it straight in to the computer, but you bypass some other possible issues by networking it.

  4. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    1.Open the Start menu and click on the "Devices and Printers" icon. This will open a window with a list of the printers currently set up on your computer.

    2.Double-click on the icon of the printer you want to change to online. The status of the printer will be shown as either "Printer: Ready" or "Printer: Offline."

    3.Click on "Printer: Offline" and the Printer menu will appear. Click on "Printer" in the menu bar and uncheck "Use Printer Offline." This action will change the printer from offline to online.

  5. #5
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,794
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 799 Times in 720 Posts
    Worth a shot but this procedure didn't work with a wireless connection to my Canon printer. Had to delete and reinstall.

    Jerry

  6. #6
    WS Lounge VIP mrjimphelps's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3,401
    Thanks
    447
    Thanked 404 Times in 376 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jwitalka View Post
    Worth a shot but this procedure didn't work with a wireless connection to my Canon printer. Had to delete and reinstall.

    Jerry
    I was suggesting that the printer be connected to the network, and then that the computer finds the printer on the network, rather than linking directly to the printer via wifi.

    Not sure which option you were speaking of.

  7. #7
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,794
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 799 Times in 720 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by mrjimphelps View Post
    I was suggesting that the printer be connected to the network, and then that the computer finds the printer on the network, rather than linking directly to the printer via wifi.

    Not sure which option you were speaking of.
    I was referring to newgen's procedure, not yours. I had already performed your procedure for the original attachment of the printer which worked until it went off line.
    Actually, I could bring it back on line by powering down the printer and turning it back on but then it would go back off line after a time period. Didn't find that an acceptable answer since it wastes ink.
    Jerry

  8. #8
    WS Lounge VIP mrjimphelps's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3,401
    Thanks
    447
    Thanked 404 Times in 376 Posts
    I wonder if there is some sort of "energy saver" mode for this printer, which makes it power down after a certain amount of inactivity. My printer would power down sometimes; I found this setting, and I changed it to "always on". No more problem.

  9. #9
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,794
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 799 Times in 720 Posts
    Reinstalling the driver fixed it for me. I'm pretty sure it does have an energy saver mode as the indicators go off after awhile but it still stays on line now.

    Jerry

  10. #10
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Sorry it didn't work.

    Quote Originally Posted by jwitalka View Post
    Worth a shot but this procedure didn't work with a wireless connection to my Canon printer. Had to delete and reinstall.

    Jerry

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •