Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: UAC control

  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    UAC control

    When I type secpol.msc in the Start Search Box my Vista computer says it can't find it??????

    Got one reply: "from what I understand that file doesn't exist in Vista."

    So I'm adding a quote from page 104 of Woody Leonhard's Windows Vista for Dummies.

    Quote "1. Click the Start button. In the Start Search box, type secpol.msc and press enter" End quote

    He than show the resulting display of "Local Security Policy" and what to do with it

    If the great Woody found it why can't we find it???
    Last edited by olden; 2013-11-07 at 07:45.

  2. #2
    Silver Lounger Banyarola's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Big Indian, New York
    Posts
    1,854
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 63 Times in 52 Posts
    From what I understand that file doesn't exist in Vista.
    "If You Are Reading This In English, Thank A VET"

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Got one reply: "from what I understand that file doesn't exist in Vista."

    So I'm adding a quote from page 104 of Woody Leonhard's Windows Vista for Dummies.

    Quote "1. Click the Start button. In the Start Search box, type secpol.msc and press enter" End quote

    He than show the resulting display of "Local Security Policy" and what to do with it

    If the great Woody found it why can't we find it???

  4. #4
    Silver Lounger Banyarola's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Big Indian, New York
    Posts
    1,854
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 63 Times in 52 Posts
    I can only tell you what I have read.

    Ask Woody if he is so great.
    "If You Are Reading This In English, Thank A VET"

  5. #5
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    10,284
    Thanks
    130
    Thanked 1,153 Times in 1,062 Posts
    Seems it doesn't exist in Home editions of Vista. Maybe that is your case?
    Rui
    -------
    R4

  6. #6
    Silver Lounger Banyarola's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Big Indian, New York
    Posts
    1,854
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 63 Times in 52 Posts
    "If You Are Reading This In English, Thank A VET"

  7. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I do believe that's my problem, Thanks

  8. #8
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Banyarola View Post
    I can only tell you what I have read.

    Ask Woody if he is so great.
    Look at the top of this browser page and see whose lounge this lounge used to be, I kind of did ask him.

  9. #9
    Silver Lounger Banyarola's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Big Indian, New York
    Posts
    1,854
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 63 Times in 52 Posts
    Sorry, I didn't mean to get snippy..
    "If You Are Reading This In English, Thank A VET"

  10. #10
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 930 Times in 851 Posts
    The local service policy in question only exists in the Pro and Ultimate versions (and possibly the Enterprise edition) of Vista. You most likely have the Home Edition.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  11. The Following User Says Thank You to Medico For This Useful Post:

    olden (2013-11-08)

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •