Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    37
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Problem with new Dell Monitor

    I've just received a new Dell P190S 19" monitor. After connecting the mains and display cables, I switched it on.
    It said that there was no signal from my (Windows 7) PC. I rebooted, and was pleased when the monitor displayed
    the startup process. After typing in my password and presing Enter, the screen went black, and the monitor displayed
    a message that it was going into Standby mode.

    The blue 'On' button had now turned into the 'yellow' Standby mode, and there was nothing I could do with it.
    I pressed the main menu button, but received the original message that there was no signal from my PC.

    I've tried it over and over again with the same result; as soon as the PC boots, the Monitor goes into Standby.
    When I switch back to my old monitor everything is fine.

    So is it a faulty monitor?

  2. #2
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,436
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Thatman,

    Does this monitor support more than one data cable type? DVI, VGA, HDMI. To which one do you have it connected? What video card are you using and what resolution/refresh rate is it set to? Have you tried Dell support yet? After all it is "NEW".
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  3. #3
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    37
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    RetiredGeek,

    Card is NVIDIA GeForce 8300 GS
    Cable: VGA. It supports about 3 types. It will self-detect, or can be User-set on the menu.
    But it just won't stay on long enough to try anything!

    The display mode on my 'old' monitor is 1280 x 1024 (32 bit) (60Hz)

    The phone number for Dell comes up as unobtainable. Not only that, but tech support requires a 'Service Tag' number,
    which is absent on the monitor. It came from Amazon via one of their resellers. Although the packing slip has the Dell logo,
    the reference and customer numbers are not Dell's own. But I don't want to start returns negotiations unless I'm sure that
    the monitor is at fault.

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    Try using a lower resolution, say 800x600. Set it like that on the good monitor, then switch.
    Rui
    -------
    R4

  5. #5
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    37
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Oh dear - I've just re-read through this review on Amazon, which I've copied the user's comments:

    This review is from: Dell Professional P190S 19-inch Flat Panel Monitor (Electronics)
    "I have several of these monitors spread across my office. Each and every one has unique problems that cannot be resolved. Dell is completely unhelpful.

    Examples:

    Monitor 1: Goes into "power saver mode" and there is absolutely nothing you can do to get it out. You can move it to another computer, unplug the power cable, push buttons, and/or pull your hair out and it will not come out of this power saver mode. Bonus: There is no way to turn off "power saver mode." Dell claimed they fixed this on the newer monitors, but the problem is still here.

    Monitor 2: It turns itself off. Then you can't turn it back on. You can switch power cables, dvi/vga cables, computers, push all the buttons, unplug it for a day, whatever you want, there is no way out of this state. At random times the monintor will decide to come out of this state. This is Dell's attempt at humor I'm assuming.

    No matter what: Dell monitors have endless problems.

    I also have an Asus and Sumsung. Neither of those have any problems whatsoever. I strongly recommend the Asus."

  6. #6
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    37
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Problem solved!

    I disconnected the VGA cable, and re-connected the monitor with a DVI lead. It worked - phew!

    Maybe that particular VGA cable had a fault. Anyway I'm pleased with my new monitor.

  7. #7
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    Glad you solved it .
    Rui
    -------
    R4

  8. #8
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by thatman View Post
    Problem solved!

    I disconnected the VGA cable, and re-connected the monitor with a DVI lead. It worked - phew!

    Maybe that particular VGA cable had a fault. Anyway I'm pleased with my new monitor.
    I've had two separate DVI cables that have lost a pin in one of the connector ends.
    This can happen easily over time, even when care is taken, and especially if you are disassembling and reassembling the monitor often.
    DRIVE IMAGING
    Invest a little time and energy in a well thought out BACKUP regimen and you will have minimal down time, and headache.

    Build your own system; get everything you want and nothing you don't.
    Latest Build:
    ASUS X99 Deluxe, Core i7-5960X, Corsair Hydro H100i, Plextor M6e 256GB M.2 SSD, Corsair DOMINATOR Platinum 32GB DDR4@2666, W8.1 64 bit,
    EVGA GTX980, Seasonic PLATINUM-1000W PSU, MountainMods U2-UFO Case, and 7 other internal drives.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •