Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    134
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Revo uninstaller installation monitor feature

    Is anyone here familiar with this feature? I'd like to know what you think of its reliability.

    Thanks,
    Ellen

  2. #2
    Silver Lounger Banyarola's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Big Indian, New York
    Posts
    1,900
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 65 Times in 54 Posts
    I used it once...
    It works pretty good.

    Basically it keeps track of what changes are made during installation of a program so they can be un-done if you decide to uninstall the program.

    I found it kind of cumbersome to use and if you reboot you will lose the tracking info.

    I find it easier, faster and simpler to just make an image before I install anything..
    "If You Are Reading This In English, Thank A VET"

  3. #3
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,434
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Ellen,

    I use the feature all the time. Yes the first couple of times it is a bit unfamiliar but once you've done it a couple of times it becomes second nature. I really like the very quick uninstall you get when uninstalling a monitored program but then again I do a lot of installing/uninstalling. YMMV HTH
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  4. #4
    Silver Lounger Banyarola's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Big Indian, New York
    Posts
    1,900
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 65 Times in 54 Posts
    What I didn't like about it is the installation requires a re-boot you lose the monitoring feature..
    "If You Are Reading This In English, Thank A VET"

  5. #5
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,434
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Bany,

    I just stop & save the monitoring before I reboot (most programs give you the option to do it now or later). All the reboot does is allow the files in use to be replaced in memory the files have already been copied to the appropriate directory and recorded by Revo. HTH
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  6. #6
    Silver Lounger Banyarola's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Big Indian, New York
    Posts
    1,900
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 65 Times in 54 Posts
    How do you stop and save the monitoring?

    I seem to remember I could stop it but it didn't give me an option to save it.
    "If You Are Reading This In English, Thank A VET"

  7. #7
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,434
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Bany,

    When you start the Monitored install you should see two icons at the right in a blue band at the top of your screen.
    RevoIcons.JPG
    When the installation program asks for a reboot select no.
    Now Click the lefthand icon and it will give you a chance to change the default name for the install.
    Revo2.JPG
    Change the name as you wish or not.
    Click the Diskette icon and the monitoring will be saved.
    Now exit Revo and reboot.

    HTH
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •