Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 21
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Vancouver Island, British Columbia
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Firefox and PDFs

    Ok, first question. Can someone please point me to the dozen+ other recent threads with the same problem.

    I'm running FF 25.0.1. For the last while, I have been unable to display or download PDFs. I get a blank New Tab screen but no PDF display or download. What do I need to (re)tweek to make FF work?
    Dr. M. L. Marshal
    M L Marshal Consulting

    - - - - -

    "Stay calm. Be brave. Wait for the signs."

    Jasper Friendly Bear

  2. #2
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,426
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 212 Times in 180 Posts
    Hi mlmarshal, do you have a PDF reader on your pc ???
    George's PC Specs. / Laptop. Desktop.

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 932 Times in 853 Posts
    I have PDF-Xchange Viewer, but do not get the PDF to open properly in my viewer. When I open a PDF in IE, I get all the appropriate icons and features, and when saved, saves appropriately. In FF, this just does not happen. It does not open appropriately, and does not save the entire file appropriately. After I save the file, I am unable to open the file using my PDF app. It seems FF 25.0.1 just does not play well with my PDF reader of choice.

    Since I only use FF for a couple of forums, I can live with this glitch. I just use IE when I have to work with PDF files.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    10,400
    Thanks
    131
    Thanked 1,167 Times in 1,071 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by mlmarshal View Post
    Ok, first question. Can someone please point me to the dozen+ other recent threads with the same problem.

    I'm running FF 25.0.1. For the last while, I have been unable to display or download PDFs. I get a blank New Tab screen but no PDF display or download. What do I need to (re)tweek to make FF work?
    Most PDF viewers can be used with Firefox without issues. I can recommend Nitro Reader, which works perfectly with the latest version of Firefox, allowing you to choose between opening the PDF in Nitro or downloading any PDF file.
    Rui
    -------
    R4

  5. #5
    5 Star Lounger RussB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    678
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 38 Times in 37 Posts
    I use and am very pleased with PDFX-change in FF.
    Click Tools > Add-ons then select "Plugins" and verify that you have the current version (2.5.211.0)
    If not update from the "Down Arrow" next to the little Gear at the top of that screen and Check for updates.
    Do you "Believe"? Do you vote? Please Read:
    LEARN something today so you can TEACH something tomorrow.
    DETAIL in your question promotes DETAIL in my answer.
    Dominus Vobiscum <))>(

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 932 Times in 853 Posts
    Actually there is now a version 2.5.213 on PDF_Xchange Viewer. And it does not work correctly in my FF. Fortunately I do not often use FF.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  7. #7
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    4,992
    Thanks
    71
    Thanked 574 Times in 520 Posts
    I also have PDF Exchange. Updated it to 2.5.213 and it runs fine in Firefox for me. Did you set it to open in browser during setup Ted?

    Jerry

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 932 Times in 853 Posts
    Not sure. I had PDF -Xchange Viewer prior to installing FF. Perhaps I have to do something else. The plug in is installed in FF and is the latest version.

    I think I may have figured it out I had to go into FF options and choose how to open PDF files:

    PDF FF.jpg

    The default option was the Preview in Firefox. I had to change it as shown.

    Perhaps this will help someone else as well.

    I did try a PDF download after setting this and it worked.
    Last edited by Medico; 2013-11-26 at 16:34.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  9. The Following User Says Thank You to Medico For This Useful Post:

    oldpaul100 (2013-11-28)

  10. #9
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    6,479
    Thanks
    211
    Thanked 849 Times in 781 Posts
    M.L.

    I use Nitro PDF Reader and I have it set to open up Nitro as a separate application rather than to view the PDF within the browser. Of course this is my personal preference ( YMMV ) and as I have a dual monitor setup these old eyes like the extra screen real estate available by using the 2nd monitor and not having all the browser stuff in the road. HTH
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    VBA Rules!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs


  11. #10
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,426
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 212 Times in 180 Posts
    FF has a setting built in, that automatically downloads & displays a pdf link if clicked. You have to access about:config & promise to be careful. Access pdfjs.disable and set to true by double clicking it.
    George's PC Specs. / Laptop. Desktop.

  12. #11
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 932 Times in 853 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by RetiredGeek View Post
    M.L.

    I use Nitro PDF Reader and I have it set to open up Nitro as a separate application rather than to view the PDF within the browser. Of course this is my personal preference ( YMMV ) and as I have a dual monitor setup these old eyes like the extra screen real estate available by using the 2nd monitor and not having all the browser stuff in the road. HTH
    I tried both ways, and may do so as well. I have switched to FF as default for a while to try to get acclimated to it should the need arise. Since about the only PDFs I have any more are my RV digital magazine subscriptions (I save them as PDF files on my PC rather than reading them in my browser) I do not see that many PDF files in my browser any more.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  13. #12
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Hartford, WI, USA
    Posts
    158
    Thanks
    34
    Thanked 31 Times in 18 Posts

    It's NOT the PDF reader/program

    Hi;
    Your problem is fairly common. I suspect some weird interaction between FF and some add-on but have not done any research on it (IMHO a futile waste of time).

    I consider editing about:config too risky for my customers at least.

    Do not experiment with different PDF readers; it's a futile waste of time.

    My solution works
    on many different brands of systems
    With XP, Vista, 7, 8 and 8.1
    with FF since I don't know when up to and including version 25.x
    with very different PDF readers
    does NOT require editing in about:config

    In Firefox 25.0.1
    1. Click Tools
    2. Click Options
    3. Click Applications
    4. In Search field type "portable" (no quotes!)
    5. Set drop down to "Use <name of your pdf prog> (default)"
    6. Click OK


    Happy Thanksgiving to y'all.
    Eike J Heinze
    What I am about
    SE Wisconsin

  14. #13
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 932 Times in 853 Posts
    I believe this is what I showed in my Post #8. Thanks for showing the steps which I neglected to show.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  15. #14
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    SF East Bay, California, USA
    Posts
    61
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Lightbulb PDF Xchange Viewer migrates to Editor

    Hi All:

    FWIW: Tracker Software recently announced that it is cancelling support for PDF-Xchange Viewer, in favor of their new PDF-Xchange Editor (which they call v.3.0). There will continue to be a free version as well as the paid version, just like the Viewer. I upgraded (at no charge for paid Viewer customers), and unlike other PDF readers, this one will even fill in an Acrobat FORM, which had been the only reason to keep Acrobat Reader on my users' machines. Its not laid out like Acrobat, but has almost all the same features. If they would only include their own PDF Printer module, and do "Save as reduced size" like Acrobat Pro, I would just switch to theirs exclusively.

    I strongly urge anyone looking for a PDF reader or editor to check it out. You might be pleasantly surprised. And, it's 64-bit capable so it works in FireFox and CyberFox and the other 64-bit browsers if you're interested...

    BTW: I did tweak FF/CF to use PDF Xchange Editor as my application for PDFs, as described herein, and it works like a charm.

    Best wishes.

    Rob

  16. The Following User Says Thank You to rbsteinbach For This Useful Post:

    Medico (2013-11-28)

  17. #15
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 932 Times in 853 Posts
    I just acquired PDF-Xchange Editor Pro.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •