Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    534
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    "Could not find this item" in Windows Explorer

    Lately, whenever I create, rename, or move a folder in Windows Explorer, it says "Could not find this item", but when I click on the "Try again" option, it always works. Is this a new bug or is there a setting that I need to change?

  2. Subscribe to our Windows Secrets Newsletter - It's Free!

    Get our unique weekly Newsletter with tips and techniques, how to's and critical updates on Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows XP, Firefox, Internet Explorer, Google, etc. Join our 480,000 subscribers!

    Excel 2013: The Missing Manual

    + Get this BONUS — free!

    Get the most of Excel! Learn about new features, basics of creating a new spreadsheet and using the infamous Ribbon in the first chapter of Excel 2013: The Missing Manual - Subscribe and download Chapter 1 for free!

  3. #2
    Super Moderator bbearren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Polk County, Florida
    Posts
    2,372
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 237 Times in 189 Posts
    I've seen this also when I'm in Windows 7. I think it came about with a Windows Update a while back. It's intermittent with me - occasionally I don't get the "Could not find" popup. That may have something to do with how deep I am in the folder hierarchy. Interestingly enough, I've never seen it on the Desktop.

    If I get it sorted out, I'll post it. But like you say, "Try again" always works...
    Create a new drive image before making system changes, in case you need to start over!

    "Let them that don't want it have memories of not gettin' any." "Gratitude is riches and complaint is poverty and the worst I ever had was wonderful." Brother Dave Gardner "Experience is what you get when you're looking for something else." Sir Thomas Robert Deware. "The problem is not the problem. The problem is your attitude about the problem. Do you understand?" Captain Jack Sparrow.
    Unleash Windows

  4. #3
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    534
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks for your reply. I thought that this might be a new bug because, as you note, it was not happening when I purchased the computer new with Windows 7 on it six months ago.

  5. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Brussels
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Hi Murgatroyd

    This seldom happens but it is due to a MS patch/update. It is a Reg entry that changes but it can fixed very easily.
    Go to http://www.sevenforums.com/general-d...ic-folder.html and scroll down to the entry by lonny, use his link and download the FolderFix.zip file. Open the zip on yr desktop and select yr OS version, either x64 or x86, double-click the Reg entry to apply it. It will give you two pop-ups, that's it.
    Save the zip because you may need it again in future.

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to rompy For This Useful Post:

    Murgatroyd (2013-12-17)

  7. #5
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    534
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks for your reply. This did the trick in Windows 7 64-bit on my two laptops.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •