Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    23
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    0x80070001 error during Windows 7 system image.

    Hardware: Dell Inspiron 1545 laptop, includes single HDD 320 GB
    OS: Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 64 bit, all MS updates applied.
    External HDD: Argosy HD260T 120 GB, USB 2.0

    Symptoms: Quick format of the external HDD (NTFS) followed by system image creation using the CONTROL PANEL>BACKUP & RESTORE facility within Windows. Approx 64 GB space is required. The process runs for about 20 minutes and approx 60% completed on the progress bar, when the progress bar turns red and the warning ‘Backup failed, incorrect function (0x80070001)’ appears.

    Tried the following (some are suggestions from other forums):
    Rebooting laptop several times.
    Running CHKDSK on both internal and external HDD.
    Running CCleaner cleaner and registry repair.
    Scan using Avast antivirus 2014, and Malwarebytes, both with latest definitions.
    From CMD prompt, run DIR /AL /S, which gave 95 ‘junctions’. Each junction was checked in Properties of Windows Explorer to ensure it was a File Folder and not a Mounted Volume.
    Using DISKMGMT.MSC, make the C: OS partition active (there are 3 partitions – 39 MB OEM, 14 GB repair E:, remainder OS C: ). This caused a BOOTMGR MISSING error on next boot up, which I could only fix by booting from a system repair DVD and following instructions to repair the OS. I think this is when the Repair E: partition was created.
    Roll back to earliest System Restore Point available (only a few days old).

    Previous system image creations using the same hardware and procedure have been successful.

    The above has taken several hours of effort (I’m not a whizz at IT!) so any help would be much appreciated thank you
    Last edited by NipNip1964; 2013-11-29 at 10:28.

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,518
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,397 Times in 1,220 Posts
    Have you recently run a chkdsk on your drive?
    Rui
    -------
    R4

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    23
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Yes - see above plz.

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,518
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,397 Times in 1,220 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by NipNip1964 View Post
    Yes - see above plz.
    Of course, please accept my apologies.

    I think you have pretty much covered all the usual recommendations. I fear I can't add much more to that.
    Sorry if you don't want to read this, but maybe it's time to try one of the free alternatives - Macrium Reflect Free or EaseUS Todo Backup?
    Rui
    -------
    R4

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    23
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    No problem

    Thank you - I haven't heard of those, but will investigate.

  6. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,518
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,397 Times in 1,220 Posts
    Both alternatives are used by many Lounge members, Macrium probably being the most used, according to my own heuristics. I just included free apps, but if you are interested and have a look in the Maintenance forum, there are recommendations for paid apps too.
    Rui
    -------
    R4

  7. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    23
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I think Macrium looks a little more user friendly.

    Please excuse what is perhaps a daft question, but from what do you boot if you need to restore a Macrium system image? With Windows 7 I created a system repair DVD as soon as I got the laptop.

  8. #8
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,518
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,397 Times in 1,220 Posts
    Macrium allows you to create its own boot disk, so you boot from it and restore the image. It's similar to the way the system repair disc allows you to restore an image made with the Windows native imaging tool. If you install Macrium, creating boot media should be one of your first tasks.
    Rui
    -------
    R4

  9. #9
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    23
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thank you ruirib, that makes sense.

  10. #10
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,518
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,397 Times in 1,220 Posts
    You are welcome .
    Rui
    -------
    R4

  11. #11
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Be sure to create a Boot Disk with whatever Imaging app you choose, and with whatever version of that Imaging app you use. For example I have had Acronis True Image 2010, 2011 and now 2013. I have created a Boot Disk for all 3 versions. Imaging is too important to chance it not working when you need it.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  12. #12
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    23
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    That sounds like good advice Medico, thank you.

  13. #13
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    23
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thank you to all who replied - the fault is fixed!

    I stumbled across a partially-related topic in another forum that mentioned running the CHKDSK routine with both options ticked. I had to select both 'Automatically fix file system errors' and 'Scan for and attempt recovery of bad sectors', then let CHKDSK run at the next boot-up. It took a long time, but did find and correct some bad clusters. The system image backup then ran without a problem.

    Hurray!

  14. #14
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,518
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,397 Times in 1,220 Posts
    I thought you had run it with /R, chkdsk /R, which should accomplish the same result as what you just stated. I actually always execute chkdsk like that. Anyway, thx for posting your success and well done for sorting it.
    Rui
    -------
    R4

  15. #15
    WS Lounge VIP mrjimphelps's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3,396
    Thanks
    445
    Thanked 404 Times in 376 Posts
    It was obviously trying to write to a bad spot on the disk. chkdsk marked the spot as unavailable if it couldn't fix it, and that's why you were able to do the image after running chkdsk.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •