Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 23 of 23
  1. #16
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    98
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Prescott - Thanks. I captured the output and will paste in in below. I suppose I should do a second capture, when I see the problem again.

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Haswell
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Ethernet:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) I210 Gigabit Network Connection
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 94-DE-80-6B-DE-C5
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Ethernet adapter Ethernet 2:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) Ethernet Connection I217-V
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 94-DE-80-6B-DE-B5
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::89d9:4f21:89f6:9882%3(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.110(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, December 03, 2013 7:41:50 AM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Wednesday, December 04, 2013 7:41:53 AM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 328523392
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-19-56-2E-4C-94-DE-80-6B-DE-C5
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Ethernet adapter VMware Network Adapter VMnet1:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : VMware Virtual Ethernet Adapter for VMnet1
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-50-56-C0-00-01
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::d864:699:f2c5:6212%10(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.140.1(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 83906646
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-19-56-2E-4C-94-DE-80-6B-DE-C5
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : fec0:0:0:ffff::1%1
    fec0:0:0:ffff::2%1
    fec0:0:0:ffff::3%1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Ethernet adapter VMware Network Adapter VMnet8:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : VMware Virtual Ethernet Adapter for VMnet8
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-50-56-C0-00-08
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::b466:9817:871a:440c%11(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.153.1(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 100683862
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-19-56-2E-4C-94-DE-80-6B-DE-C5
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : fec0:0:0:ffff::1%1
    fec0:0:0:ffff::2%1
    fec0:0:0:ffff::3%1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{31D86330-2B60-4BB9-AFA3-76E4ACF696C4}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{7FC38BA5-A06D-486C-A50C-DC74AA74F5AA}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{3D995D62-D0CC-41A2-8FEB-14D41460F9FB}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #3
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

  2. #17
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    98
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    ruirib - The only two sites that I am sure this happens with are Newegg.com and Facebook.com. There may be others, but I don't recall them right now.

  3. #18
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Has this ever been resolved?

    I built a new system last week and ran immediately ran into this exact issue as I attempted to download my favorite system utilities and security tools. Some sites would appear to be fine, yet others would yield the same message that the original poster mentioned in the thread-starter. I found that the same url that failed in Firefox would sometimes, but not always, open in Chrome or IE. And vice-versa. There seemed to be no consistency or clues as to why this was happening. In some cases, just to move things along with my setup, I'd go to one of my XP machines and download the files to a USB stick in order to install them on the new 8.1 system. Clearly, there's nothing wrong with my home internet connection.

    After struggling with this behavior, it occurred to me that I'd seen the same thing on 3 other machines that I'd recently upgraded to 8.1 for friends, but didn't recognize it as a problem specific to 8.1. I thought it was just a temporary problem with my connection or ISP. Thinking back, however, I was reminded that my XP machines and my one Windows 7 system never failed to connect to a website during this time.

    There are plenty of similar reports, as evidenced by web searches, and at least one proposed solution that seems to improve the situation. The simplest proposal was as-follows:

    Run CMD "Command Prompt" as admininstrator.
    In the command line type: netsh winsock reset
    Press Enter then restart your PC.


    I did that on the affected machine, and it seemed to fix my problem. Hurray! After a while, though, it reappeared, but didn't seem to be as bad as it was initially. Reading further, I found another site that repeated the advice listed above, but also mentioned clearing the winsock catalog. (Don't have that syntax handy, so won't try to list it...)

    At any rate, it doesn't look like this is an isolated case -- a lot of others are experiencing the same thing. It's also possible that some users don't recognize it as a problem if it only results in the occasional error message indicating the inability to access a given website. Having the luxury of being able to try the same url simultaneously on multiple computers and only having it fail on the one loaded with Windows 8.1, makes me smell a rat.

    I'll be watching this thread in hopes of seeing a definitive answer. and will pass along whatever I learn that may be of assistance, as well.

  4. #19
    Bronze Lounger DrWho's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Central Florida
    Posts
    1,231
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 164 Times in 127 Posts
    This thread is getting a bit L....O....N....G and even though I've skimmed through it, I've not read every word.

    But in my skimming, one word did not pop out at me and that was the "HOST" file.
    The HOST file determines exactly what URL's your browser(s) are allowed to go to.

    I've used a little program called "Hosts Manager" for several years. It can download a list of bad url's and put them in the HOST file, which prevents your browser from ever going to those sites. It's totally possible, that if you examine your own HOST file, you will find the URL's you seek have been added there. Then they are re-directed back to your own computer. All browsers will use that same file, so if you're not able to get to a desired URL, with any browser, it's a pretty safe bet that the desired URL is listed in your HOST file. Removing it from that HOST file, will allow you access.
    With the "Hosts Manager", I can actually Turn Off the HOST file so it no longer stops me from going to any web site.

    There are a number of Security Programs that add URL's to your HOST file. Spybot Search & Destroy and 'Spyware Blaster' are two that come to mind. Generally speaking, you have little or NO control over your HOST file. But, "Hosts Manager" gives you Total Control.
    Being somewhat of a Control Freak myself I do like the control that the 'Hosts Manager' gives me.
    The program is both small and FREE, so anyone can have it and use it.

    When you first open the program you will see something like this:


    Just click on the Green 'H' and it will turn off the hosts file and the H will turn RED.

    You can also select the servers from which you can download new entries to the Hosts file.


    Recently, I had my own problem with my browser not wanting to go to certain web sites and sho' nuff' I found those addresses in my Hosts file.
    So I used Hosts Manager to temporarily turn off the HOST file and VOILA!, I was able to go to any site I pleased.
    I could have also edited my HOST file, to remove those addresses, but that's too much like work.

    Good Luck and Happy Holidays!
    The Doctor
    Experience is truly the best teacher.

    Backup! Backup! Backup! GHOST Rocks!

  5. #20
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    For my specific situation, it seems very unlikely that the HOSTS file could cause the problem, as any given url (or domain) does not fail every time, and can even work in Chrome or IE, but not Firefox. If there's an entry in the HOSTS file that's causing this, the result should be consistent and exhibit the same behavior across all browsers.

    But thanks for weighing in -- it may help somebody...

  6. #21
    Super Moderator satrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cardiff, UK
    Posts
    2,138
    Thanks
    102
    Thanked 208 Times in 181 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by cbrillow View Post
    For my specific situation, it seems very unlikely that the HOSTS file could cause the problem, as any given url (or domain) does not fail every time, and can even work in Chrome or IE, but not Firefox. If there's an entry in the HOSTS file that's causing this, the result should be consistent and exhibit the same behavior across all browsers.
    No, your problem doesn't seem to be Hosts file -related, though HostsMan can bypass what could be related to your problem, the Windows' DNS Client Service.
    In most cases the DNS Client Service is not needed, it is recommended to turn it off. These instructions are intended for a single (home-user) PC. If your machine is part of a "Domain", check with your IT Dept. before applying this work-around. This especially applies to Laptop users who travel or bring their work machines home. Make sure to reset the Service (if needed) prior to connecting (reboot required) to your work Domain ...

    To resolve this issue (manually) open the "Services Editor"

    Start | Run (type) "services.msc" (no quotes)
    Win8 users - Control Panel > Administrative Tools > Services
    Scroll down to "DNS Client", Right-click and select: Properties - click Stop
    Click the drop-down arrow for "Startup type"
    Select: Manual (recommended) or Disabled click Apply/Ok and restart.

    Hostsman includes an option to turn off the DNS Service
    From http://winhelp2002.mvps.org/hosts.htm

    Windows' own automatic network discovery is frequently not the best thing for a stand alone PC either (it's primarily built/designed for business/networked computers), I always set (Internet Options > Connections tab > LAN settings) to NOT to automatically detect settings.

    3rd party browsers usually have their own connection settings, usually set to the System settings by default - if you want to test without affecting anything System-wide, in Firefox > (Alt) Tools > Options > Advanced tab > Network > click the Settings button for connections and set No Proxy. You may need to restart Firefox for this setting to take effect.

  7. #22
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Fixed!

    Hi folks, I had this problem too and I _think_ I fixed it...

    I have, like Bob W, a Gigabyte Z87X-UD4H motherboard. It's brand new and I started experiencing the issue as soon as I'd fully installed win8.1 with all available updates - the back end of last week. My build was Win7 pro -> upgrade to win8.0 pro -> store online upgrade to 8.1 Pro
    I can add some detail to the symptoms already described - firstly, any suggested fix that involves rebooting the PC is going to be hard to prove out because rebooting on its own seems to change which urls are broken.
    I have seen "404" messages and missing images on pages which are fine on my RT 8.1 tablet, and bizarrely I regularly arrived at my router's login page whilst browsing links on cnet's news pages. Resetting the router, or ipconfig/release and /renew had an effect but didn't fix the issue. Like some of you I assumed it was some sort of DNS issue but then I discovered that I couldn't print to my wireless printer, until I gave up & plugged in a usb lead. So I suspected the network drivers and on Tuesday went looking for driver updates for the network hardware. The latest version at Gigabyte was already installed, so instead I went directly to Intel. here you need to select "Ethernet components", "Ethernet Controllers" and "Intel Ethernet Connection I217-V".
    The link directly to the driver I downloaded is here (64 bit version).
    Since downloading and installing this driver on Tuesday I haven't seen a single repeat of the problem. I have been running IE, Chrome and Firefox together and all seems fine.

    For anyone with different hardware, can I suggest that you try to borrow a PCI network card and see if using that instead of the motherboard network gets you a fix? That was my next step but it seems I don't need to go that far.

    Hope this helps someone!

    Nige B

  8. The Following User Says Thank You to nigeb For This Useful Post:

    ruirib (2014-01-09)

  9. #23
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    10,307
    Thanks
    130
    Thanked 1,159 Times in 1,067 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by nigeb View Post
    Hi folks, I had this problem too and I _think_ I fixed it...

    I have, like Bob W, a Gigabyte Z87X-UD4H motherboard. It's brand new and I started experiencing the issue as soon as I'd fully installed win8.1 with all available updates - the back end of last week. My build was Win7 pro -> upgrade to win8.0 pro -> store online upgrade to 8.1 Pro
    I can add some detail to the symptoms already described - firstly, any suggested fix that involves rebooting the PC is going to be hard to prove out because rebooting on its own seems to change which urls are broken.
    I have seen "404" messages and missing images on pages which are fine on my RT 8.1 tablet, and bizarrely I regularly arrived at my router's login page whilst browsing links on cnet's news pages. Resetting the router, or ipconfig/release and /renew had an effect but didn't fix the issue. Like some of you I assumed it was some sort of DNS issue but then I discovered that I couldn't print to my wireless printer, until I gave up & plugged in a usb lead. So I suspected the network drivers and on Tuesday went looking for driver updates for the network hardware. The latest version at Gigabyte was already installed, so instead I went directly to Intel. here you need to select "Ethernet components", "Ethernet Controllers" and "Intel Ethernet Connection I217-V".
    The link directly to the driver I downloaded is here (64 bit version).
    Since downloading and installing this driver on Tuesday I haven't seen a single repeat of the problem. I have been running IE, Chrome and Firefox together and all seems fine.

    For anyone with different hardware, can I suggest that you try to borrow a PCI network card and see if using that instead of the motherboard network gets you a fix? That was my next step but it seems I don't need to go that far.

    Hope this helps someone!

    Nige B
    Welcome to the Lounge and thank you for posting your solution. Some Intel Windows 8.1 drivers seem to be a bit problematic, at this moment. One wonders how this is possible with such a big profile company as Intel.
    Rui
    -------
    R4

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •