Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Lounger
    Thanks

Touchscreen v. Mouse + traditional monitor?

I've been using computers for so long that I can even remember the early Windows versions! I've been using XP for a few years now so I suppose I'm a Windows 'traditionalist'.

However, like many XP users, I'm probably going to get a new PC soon. I already have a 25 in. monitor that's pretty good + I have a tablet so I'm used to a touchscreen.

Assuming that my new PC will have Win 8.1 as its OS, (+I realise how different from XP it is), I'd really appreciate your opinions on whether I should go the whole way + get a touchscreen or stick with my mouse?

Thanks
    Are you going to try to find a desktop PC? If so you might be hard pressed to find one with Win 8.1. Laptops and tablets will be readily available with Win 8.1, and most will likely have touch screens.

I would still use a mouse (I do now with Win 8.1 installed). I have a USB add-on mouse and would not be without it, but then again I have never used much of a touch screen (other than our smart phones and Nooks). I do not have a newer laptop or tablet with a touchscreen, but Win 8.1 works quite well with my conventional laptops.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted

Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)

Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

Silver Lounger
    Thanks
    Hello, 99. ( your age ? )
    Ergonomically, the touch screen is an aberration. I also hate to have to clean my screen > twice/month. This being said, using a mouse close at hand is better from a human point of view. Although if you are travelling, in a train or plane, the touch screen is a fine replacement. I spent a few razbutnicks getting a touch screen for my desktop but never use it. That is me and you are you. YMMV is a fine expression ! I even use a mouse (wireless) on my touch pad equipped laptops, more precise. Jean.

Thanks