Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    New Lounger Denali99504's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Problems with different IE versions

    Greetings to all. My turkey was great, hope yours was too.

    I tried IE 10 when it first came out (WIN7 32/64 usually in 32 bit) and it wasn't compatible with my CERT website so I had to use CHROME until I reverted to IE9 which I was using until yesterday when I tried IE11. The CERT problem did not appear.

    However, much to my dismay, I discovered that every time I tried to use Roboform to enter my email address while in IE11 it didn't work and I had to either type the address in or copy and paste. I must confess that I am using the ancient Roboform 6.9.98 but it does every thing I need it to do ... usually.

    So I used System Restore and am now back to using IE9.

    My questions are;
    1. Has IE10 had enough updates to make trying it again worthwhile? I realize the CERT problem could have been with that website rather than IE10.

    2. Is there some security switch that I should select so that Roboform will work with IE11 and fill in the email addresses?

    Thanks, in advance, for your suggestions.

    Denali89107

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    10,308
    Thanks
    130
    Thanked 1,159 Times in 1,067 Posts
    Hi,

    Welcome to the Lounge,

    Regarding your question #1, I guess it's hard to say without knowing more about what caused you to go back to IE 9. Other than the CERT issue, which may be hard to reproduce, was there anything else that you'd like to know about?

    Regarding #2, seems Roboform requires IE Enhanced Protected Mode disabled, as you can check here: http://www.roboform.com/platforms/wi...ernet-explorer
    They also state that they expect to solve that in an upcoming version.
    Rui
    -------
    R4

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to ruirib For This Useful Post:

    Denali99504 (2013-12-16)

  4. #3
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,914
    Thanks
    32
    Thanked 259 Times in 253 Posts
    IE 11 comes as 64 bit default and needs to be reverted to 32 bit via Tools > Internet options > Advanced then scroll down to the Security section and uncheck the box for Enable Enhanced Protected Mode.

    Not sure about IE 10 other than to check that its add-on is enabled, but if you get it to work with IE 11 then you are always better off using the latest update of your browser, as long as other web sites have updated and are compatible.

    IE 11 has a Compatibility List via Tools which you can add a site to which may help with any that haven't caught up yet.

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to Sudo15 For This Useful Post:

    Denali99504 (2013-12-07)

  6. #4
    New Lounger Denali99504's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks Rui and Sudo15,

    When I checked EPM was already unchecked so it looks like the problem lies in both IE11 AND my old version of RoboForm. As Rui pointed out, SiberSystems seems to be aware of the problem already. So, I'll either have to wait for RoboForm to get updated or, maybe start looking for a different password keeper.

    Any suggestions?

    Keep in mind, I have used RF for so many years that a new one will need to be almost a clone for my 74YO brain to make the switch. Oh, and it will need to fit our very fixed budget which will be cheated again next year with only a 1.5% increase.

    For right now, I'll Restore to IE9 then give IE10 another shot.

    Many Thanks, again

  7. #5
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,914
    Thanks
    32
    Thanked 259 Times in 253 Posts
    A Password Manager is something I've never used/needed and a Google search will bring up alternatives, some of which may be suitable but if you are happy with RoboForm and can get by until they come up with a fix, then it's probably worth sticking with.

  8. The Following User Says Thank You to Sudo15 For This Useful Post:

    Denali99504 (2013-12-16)

  9. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    10,308
    Thanks
    130
    Thanked 1,159 Times in 1,067 Posts
    For password manager I use LastPass. It's free to use, unless you need it in a mobile device, as well, and in that case it costs $1 / month, paid by the year.
    Rui
    -------
    R4

  10. The Following User Says Thank You to ruirib For This Useful Post:

    Denali99504 (2013-12-16)

  11. #7
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 931 Times in 852 Posts
    Not only does Last Pass remember your passwords, but I use the form filler to assist with that chore. Plus I use the Notes section to store my keys for my various paid apps. Since one would have to guess my rather cryptic Master Password to get into my Last Pass account, I feel my keys data is quite safe, and this gives me yet another backup of this important data.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  12. The Following User Says Thank You to Medico For This Useful Post:

    Denali99504 (2013-12-16)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •