Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 22 of 22
  1. #16
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Montréal
    Posts
    1,486
    Thanks
    23
    Thanked 43 Times in 42 Posts
    Hello, John.
    I am sure that you can save to a default spot. I Save as: to the desktop and after twice doing this, it is the permanent default, W-8 learns ! Jean.

  2. #17
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Montréal
    Posts
    1,486
    Thanks
    23
    Thanked 43 Times in 42 Posts
    John, nice name.
    How do you connect a HD to a router ? Maybe I do not know 'cuze I do not have this option but tell me. Have a nice day. Jean.

  3. #18
    Silver Lounger t8ntlikly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Chandler, AZ
    Posts
    2,120
    Thanks
    40
    Thanked 13 Times in 11 Posts
    I have a Cisco E1550 wireless Router. the router has a USB port and I simply plugged it in.
    Thanks John
    Teamwork is essential; it gives the enemy other people to shoot at. (Murphy's War Laws #39)

  4. #19
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Montréal
    Posts
    1,486
    Thanks
    23
    Thanked 43 Times in 42 Posts
    "the router has a USB port and I simply plugged it in. "

    Simple enough, I had not seen this yet. Can you then use it as a "server" ? Accessible by all the machines on the LAN ? That would be nice. Have a great day. JP.

  5. #20
    Silver Lounger t8ntlikly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Chandler, AZ
    Posts
    2,120
    Thanks
    40
    Thanked 13 Times in 11 Posts
    unfortunately No, at least not the way I have it set up. Keep in mind that this is strictly and External Hard Drive. It is a Maxtor III.
    Thanks John
    Teamwork is essential; it gives the enemy other people to shoot at. (Murphy's War Laws #39)

  6. #21
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    2,287
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 263 Times in 256 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by handcuff36 View Post
    Can you then use it as a "server" ? Accessible by all the machines on the LAN ? That would be nice. Have a great day. JP.
    That implies some brains behind the operation and I've found that router attached USB drives aren't so great, at least not the ones I've used; so I prefer NAS devices, they seem to be excellent headless servers so I have about half a dozen now. A router is better at being a router.

  7. #22
    Silver Lounger t8ntlikly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Chandler, AZ
    Posts
    2,120
    Thanks
    40
    Thanked 13 Times in 11 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by F.U.N. downtown View Post
    I've found that router attached USB drives aren't so great, at least not the ones I've used; so I prefer NAS devices, they seem to be excellent headless servers so I have about half a dozen now. A router is better at being a router.
    I had thought about doing this for a while, but just didn't have the need to do so. After I bought my Surface RT the need for the extra storage became a reality, even though I had already installed an SD card. Truthfully it works quite well. Would I do it again or go the NAS route? Yep I would do it again, mainly because the info that is on there I don't need to access away from here, and I can share it with another computer on my network.
    Thanks John
    Teamwork is essential; it gives the enemy other people to shoot at. (Murphy's War Laws #39)

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •