Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    56
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    IE 11 doesn't work

    I'm using Win 7.

    My IE doesn't work. IE is not my default browser. I have no idea if the problem exists since IE 11 was installed or started recently.

    When I try to open IE, it says "This page can't be displayed" the page being the home page, http://go.microsoft.com . It won't display any other page, either.

    A small button, "Fix connection problems" appears. Pressing on that gives me "Problem found: the remote device or resource won't accept the connection." This MS troubleshooting leads nowhere!

    Firefox and Chrome work fine. The problem isn't critical for me, since I rarely use IE, but I like to know that my PC is working correctly. I have no viruses. Googling this hasn't been much help.

    Anybody recognize this problem?

  2. #2
    3 Star Lounger bassfisher6522's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    308
    Thanks
    42
    Thanked 32 Times in 31 Posts
    In IE 11 try changing your home page to something other than what the link you posted is. Next I would reset IE to default settings in the options.


    http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/i...tings#ie=ie-11

  3. #3
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    56
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks, bassfisher6522
    First, I changed the homepage. That didn't help.
    Then I tried Tools>Internet Options>Advanced>Reset Internet Explorer Settings and restarted the PC. That did the trick. IE now seems to be working.

  4. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Yes I get the same message "This page can't be displayed". I reset IE to default, reboot then it will work but then again it will act up and display same message. The only way for me to get back to IE is to reboot. This is true for all web sites including Yahoo and Google. Any ideas to assist?
    thanks

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Rancho Cucamonga, CA
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Also for some reason Malwarebytes Anti-Exploit will stop IE from working...

  6. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,606
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 620 Times in 555 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by kaneshiro714 View Post
    Yes I get the same message "This page can't be displayed". I reset IE to default, reboot then it will work but then again it will act up and display same message. The only way for me to get back to IE is to reboot. This is true for all web sites including Yahoo and Google. Any ideas to assist?
    thanks
    Do this happen if you run IE with add-ons disabled?

    Joe

  7. #7
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,061
    Thanks
    32
    Thanked 267 Times in 260 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by John Edwards View Post
    Also for some reason Malwarebytes Anti-Exploit will stop IE from working...
    What AV program are you using as MBAM could be conflicting with that if the AV program includes add-ons, but disable all add-ons then reinstate each in turn and retry.

    You will need to use the dropdown to select All add-ons

  8. #8
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    When I upgraded IE from 9 to 11, my desktop gadgets turned a blurry pink. 'net suggestions were to downgrade to IE10, which I did. Problem fixed for now.

  9. #9
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Halifax, Nova Scotia
    Posts
    38
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Apparently gadgets are no longer supported. The problem occurs when IE11 is installed and the display setting (adjust resolution) to make things more readable is set to 125% or 150% - 100% still works fine. For now.

    Good Luck
    John Brown
    Halifax, NS

  10. #10
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cornwall, PA, USA
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Windows 7 gadgets have been discontinued. http://windows.microsoft.com/en-US/windows/gadgets

  11. #11
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I have seen this issue impact a website I support starting about a week ago in IE8 (XP) and IE9 (Vista). Here is what did not resolve the issue:
    -Running IE in InPrivate
    -Deleting all history
    -Running IE with no Add-ons
    -Restarting the OS in Safe Mode (I assumed that this would prevent AVs from interfering)
    -Toggling in and out of Compatibility View

    The Page Properties do give this additional detail: "res://ieframe.dll/dnserror.htm#" so I assume that it is the DNS error that is giving the problem. Tools>Internet Options>Advanced>Reset does resolve the issue but I am not sure what is causing the issue and if it can be fixed in another way.

    This is outside the scope of my expertise so any insight would be appreciated.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •