Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Medford Oregon usa
    Posts
    13
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Consumer Cellular website won't load

    This site keeps coming up as a problem with a message that it takes too long to load: www.consumercellular.com It is a valid site and the people at Consume Cellular have no problem bringing it up but I can't connect to it on either Firefox or IE. I re-booted my router and didn't help; my PC has been re-booted several times but it still won't load.

  2. Subscribe to our Windows Secrets Newsletter - It's Free!

    Get our unique weekly Newsletter with tips and techniques, how to's and critical updates on Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows XP, Firefox, Internet Explorer, Google, etc. Join our 480,000 subscribers!

    Excel 2013: The Missing Manual

    + Get this BONUS — free!

    Get the most of Excel! Learn about new features, basics of creating a new spreadsheet and using the infamous Ribbon in the first chapter of Excel 2013: The Missing Manual - Subscribe and download Chapter 1 for free!

  3. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    10,172
    Thanks
    129
    Thanked 1,139 Times in 1,050 Posts
    What is the IE version? Can you describe, precisely what happens?

    This is not the fastest of sites, 60 KB download, 4.52 secs from request to display conclusion, but I don't see anything terribly wrong, other than being slowish.
    Rui
    -------
    R4

  4. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Medford Oregon usa
    Posts
    13
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    IE 11. Site appears to be connecting but fails with the message that it was too slow.

  5. #4
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 928 Times in 851 Posts
    I tried FF 25.0.1 and IE 11, and both seemed to take between 4 and 5 seconds to fully load. I suppose a lot would depend on your normal connection speeds and your ISP servers. IE 11 seems to connect OK to the site in my PC.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  6. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Medford Oregon usa
    Posts
    13
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Jim Holeman

    The Consumer Cellular web site loaded fine last week and then I refreshed /upgraded Firefox and now the site will no longer connect. It will not connect in IE 11 either. The error message just indicates that the site was slow and had a problem.

  7. #6
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 928 Times in 851 Posts
    The speed is quite dependent on the traffic on the ISP servers, and the sites servers. Have you tried the site during a low traffic time frame, perhaps early morning or late night. This might indicate it is an ISP traffic issue or ISP speed problem rather than your system.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  8. #7
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    10,172
    Thanks
    129
    Thanked 1,139 Times in 1,050 Posts
    Maybe there is something in your internet access that prevents some resource the site needs from loading. You can try and check what it is. For that, press F12 and click the network icon (the one shown in blue in my picture):

    CaptureF12.JPG

    There is that small "play" green symbol at the top. Click it and refresh the page. Wait for the page to load or the error message to show and then press the same button to stop recording data. You will end up with a list of the time each element in the page took to reach your computer. Check which ones have taken the longer and you will know what is causing IE to behave in that manner. Post them here if you want some feedback about it.

    Anyway, by today's standards, the site is a "pig". 5 secs load time is a lot.
    Rui
    -------
    R4

  9. #8
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Medford Oregon usa
    Posts
    13
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks to all who responded. The problem mysteriously cleared up (the site comes right up now) last night and based on your comments I think it was a loose cable in one of the cable closets at my facility.
    Closed!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •