Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    24
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Why is Administrator's permission necessary when I am administrator?!!

    Often when doing tasks such as moving file or saving file I get the message that "administrators permission" must be obtained. Since my profile states that I am the Administrator on my PC, why do I repeatedly get this message and what can I do about it? Thank you for any hints you can give me.

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Even though you are the administrator, using an administrator account is NOT the highest level of permission. This is why many of us have Run as Administrator in our right click context menu. Right clicking an item and choosing Run as Administrator gives the highest level of permission. Many tasks require this higher level.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  3. #3
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    There may be several reasons for that, but on file operations it really depends on the files / folders you are trying to operate on and the permissions you have over those files. Usually the message results from your account not having the needed permissions for the operations, even with you being an administrator. The error message may be rather misleading.

    So, in your case, does this happen with specific folders, maybe even system folders?
    Rui
    -------
    R4

  4. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    24
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    The most recent example I can give you is that I downloaded an airplane model from Flightsim.com. When I tried to move that model (which contained several sub-files) to the aircraft main folder in Microsoft Flight Simulator, I received the message that Administrator's permission was needed to move the file. None of the files are system files. Additionally, when I click on 'Continue", the file is moved anyway, so why is the additional step required? I really don't have to do anything special. Apparently, the system can eventually recognize the fact that I am the Administrator. By merely clicking on 'Continue" signify to the system that I, as the administrator, am giving permission? I really don't know exactly what's going on! Why can't the system determine that I am the administrator and not even demand further permission?

  5. #5
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    You would need to check the permissions for that folder and see who the owner is. Where is it located -please give full path.
    Rui
    -------
    R4

  6. #6
    WS Lounge VIP Browni's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Rochdale, UK
    Posts
    1,653
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 161 Times in 139 Posts
    Were you copying the files into a system protected folder such as "Program Files" ?
    Last edited by Browni; 2013-12-10 at 22:13. Reason: Rui beat me by seconds!

  7. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Hopatcong, NJ
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    You can fiddle with how often you see the question in user account control settings:

    Control Panel\System and Security\Action Center\User Account Control Settings

  8. #8
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Harrisonville, MO, USA
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I get the same message. If I try to download an update to an app i.e. Calibre, I can't download it directly to the app folder which is in Program Files. I have to download it to the Downloads folder and then copy or drag and drop it into the app folder. Then I get the admin message even though I am an admin. Once I click ok it copies it. I never had these issues with Win 7. I get the results I want but have to go through all these additional steps. Should be easier.

  9. #9
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    Program Files should not be accessible to random activity. Downloading from the internet to there is really now how I would do it. It has a very specific purpose. I suggest you use the Downloads folder for that, or other folder if you want to keep things organized, and install from wherever you download.
    Rui
    -------
    R4

  10. #10
    Bronze Lounger DrWho's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Central Florida
    Posts
    1,501
    Thanks
    30
    Thanked 205 Times in 163 Posts
    OH C'Mon guys!

    It's been just like that since the invent of Windows XP! How long is that now? about 13 years?

    But finally, someone came out with the little program called "Take Ownership" and then someone came out with "Grant Admin Full Control", which I call 'Take Ownership' on Steroids!

    I won't set up a computer now without it. Oh, by the way, it works great in Windows 7 too.

    It installs into your Right Click Context Menu, so you can Right Click on any file or Folder and become the owner of it.
    It even works on Windows XP, but not as well as 7 or better.

    When setting up a new install of Windows 7, 8 or 8.1, I run a number of Batch Files and reg Scripts and I have to run most of them "As Administrator" to get them to run without an error message of some type.

    Between "Grant Admin Full Control" and "Run As Administrator" I get everything to run as I want it, without those nauseating "Permission" messages. Even some desktop shortcuts, need to be set to "Run as Administrator".

    But I've always wondered why the guy who builds the computer, installs the OS and is the only Owner and Operator of the computer, doesn't have permission to do whatever he/she wants to do with it. It's like buying a new Corvette, that will only run 45 mph. Arggggggh!

    Experience is truly the best teacher.

    Backup! Backup! Backup! GHOST Rocks!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •