Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Problem with Seagate 3TB Backup Plus

    I bought a 3TB Seagate Backup Plus drive and am very disappointed with it. You can'y make a mirror copy of your drive and it makes a new backup of every file not add new files to an already started backup. I think this would fill up the drive in no time if it is going to backup everything over and over again. From what I read in their support forum. You can't use Win7's backup or mirror program on it. Can someone tell me of a good external hard drive for backing up and making a mirror copy of my hard drive or is there something I can do with this drive? I got the idea that this drive doesn't like 3rd party backup programs.

    Ron

  2. #2
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    5,444
    Thanks
    128
    Thanked 495 Times in 455 Posts
    Seagate's backup program is installed on the drive by default.
    Just format the drive and use it like you would any other, with any 3rd party backup application.
    DRIVE IMAGING
    Invest a little time and energy in a well thought out BACKUP regimen and you will have minimal down time, and headache.

    Windows 8.1, 64 bit
    Motherboard: DX58SO2*Chipset: X58 Express/Intel ICH10*BIOS: SOX5820J.86A.0888.2012.0129.2203*Processor: Intel Core i7 CPU X 990
    GPU: Nvidia GTX 580*Memory: Corsair 12 GB, 4x3@1600*PSU: Corsair HX1000*Hard drives: REVO X2 160GB*OCZ VERT X3 120GB*5 mechanical storage drives (12 TB) total.

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to CLiNT For This Useful Post:

    Cando69 (2013-12-17)

  4. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks Clint. That is what I figured but I wanted to make sure.

  5. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    WA
    Posts
    19
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I didn't bother with the software pre-installed, I just used the drive as a spare drive and backing up with my 3rd party software. Works fine.

  6. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    279
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 26 Times in 26 Posts
    You may wish to check the Seagate website Support page to see if there's an updated version of their software, or a tutorial that shows how to achieve your preferred backup, or maybe a firmware update to overcome the problem. We have the little 500GB Backup Plus and it works great for us. However, it's so cool as a pocket-size portable drive i'm tempted to fill it with movies and music to take with us on vacation!

  7. #6
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    99
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    I agree, and you will find that a lot of the gadgets and applications bundled with your external drive will just get in the way. You can uninstall all that stuff or copy it someplace else, and then use what ever it is that you want to use because as was said before, it's just another external drive. What you may want to check is that you have a USB 2 or 3 interface relative to what your motherboard will accept. You can plug in a USB 3.0 cable to a USB 2.0 connection, but you're not going to get full USB 3.0 speed. That is not a showstopper and nothing to really get word about.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •