Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 19
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    east coast
    Posts
    355
    Thanks
    59
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Problem loading web pages. Is this spyware or something else.

    Lately I have had problems loading some web sites.
    They just hang up in the middle and stop.

    If I turn off Javascript then I can load them fine.
    Turn JS back on and then use the site.

    It seems like it may be related to all the krapp they try to force into my pc for tracking and other nefarious things they do to us.

    So is this a combination of some virus interfering while they do their thing, just plain bad scripts on their part, or is my pc too old that they try to do something and discover its not available so they hang.

    I do have a lot of ad sites mapped to 127.0.0.1 via the hosts file to block them.
    Could I be forced to allow all of those again to make these sites load ??

    Any thoughts much appreciated.

  2. Subscribe to our Windows Secrets Newsletter - It's Free!

    Get our unique weekly Newsletter with tips and techniques, how to's and critical updates on Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows XP, Firefox, Internet Explorer, Google, etc. Join our 480,000 subscribers!

    Excel 2013: The Missing Manual

    + Get this BONUS — free!

    Get the most of Excel! Learn about new features, basics of creating a new spreadsheet and using the infamous Ribbon in the first chapter of Excel 2013: The Missing Manual - Subscribe and download Chapter 1 for free!

  3. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,324
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 589 Times in 526 Posts
    What OS are you running? Is it up-to-date with patches?

    What browser are you using? Is it up-to-date?

    Joe

  4. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    east coast
    Posts
    355
    Thanks
    59
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    win xp pro sp3

    firefox 3.0.8
    which i was told was the last version for xp

    the problem is connected to javascript
    if i turn it off the pages load fine

    i do note a LOT of activity with trackware being shoved into the computer before the hang

  5. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,324
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 589 Times in 526 Posts
    The current Firefox 26.0 is compatible with XP. See Firefox 26 System Requirements. You should upgrade to that.

    Joe

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to JoeP517 For This Useful Post:

    speedball (2014-01-09)

  7. #5
    Super Moderator satrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cardiff, UK
    Posts
    2,106
    Thanks
    102
    Thanked 205 Times in 179 Posts
    If your Hosts file is very large, turn off Windows DNS Client Service, it's not needed and should fix most of the slowness.
    Windows DNS Client Service

    In most cases the DNS Client Service is not needed, it is recommended to turn it off. These instructions are intended for a single (home-user) PC. If your machine is part of a "Domain", check with your IT Dept. before applying this work-around. This especially applies to Laptop users who travel or bring their work machines home. Make sure to reset the Service (if needed) prior to connecting (reboot required) to your work Domain ...

    To resolve this issue (manually) open the "Services Editor"

    Start | Run (type) "services.msc" (no quotes)
    Win8 users - Control Panel > Administrative Tools > Services
    Scroll down to "DNS Client", Right-click and select: Properties - click Stop
    Click the drop-down arrow for "Startup type"
    Select: Manual (recommended) or Disabled click Apply/Ok and restart.
    If your Firefox is that old, you may also have a corrupt Firefox Profile.

    Some useful Mozilla Help pages, these may only be fully applicable to the later versions:
    https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/pr...ad-and-install
    https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb...-most-problems

    Don't forget to cleanup/update all Plugins and Extensions after upgrading to 26.

    If you still have a problem after upgrading and you've worked through the above, test your setup with Pale Moon, it's based on Firefox but uses its' own Profile: http://www.palemoon.org/

  8. #6
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    east coast
    Posts
    355
    Thanks
    59
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    thanks

    but why would it work fine when javacrap is turned off and the spyware/trackware is blocked ??

  9. #7
    Super Moderator satrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cardiff, UK
    Posts
    2,106
    Thanks
    102
    Thanked 205 Times in 179 Posts
    I really wouldn't know - perhaps turning off javascript performs a forced refresh of the site and that's the real cure? Next time it happens, hold down Ctrl and click the Refresh button to test.

  10. #8
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    1,500
    Thanks
    22
    Thanked 217 Times in 212 Posts
    Do you have the same problem when using IE and is it updated to IE8 ?

  11. #9
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    east coast
    Posts
    355
    Thanks
    59
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Sudo15 View Post
    Do you have the same problem when using IE and is it updated to IE8 ?
    using firefox
    wont use IE for anything

  12. #10
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    east coast
    Posts
    355
    Thanks
    59
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by satrow View Post
    I really wouldn't know - perhaps turning off javascript performs a forced refresh of the site and that's the real cure? Next time it happens, hold down Ctrl and click the Refresh button to test.
    will try control and refresh
    never heard of that before
    thanks!

  13. #11
    Super Moderator satrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cardiff, UK
    Posts
    2,106
    Thanks
    102
    Thanked 205 Times in 179 Posts
    Ooops, should have been Shift+Refresh

  14. #12
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    east coast
    Posts
    355
    Thanks
    59
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    will try that

    but i strongly suspect buggy scripts

    one site loads but is too bleeping slow and jerky
    until i turn off js and reload it
    then it moves along fast and smoothly



    Quote Originally Posted by satrow View Post
    Ooops, should have been Shift+Refresh

  15. #13
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    east coast
    Posts
    355
    Thanks
    59
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    UPDATE - partial solution

    i noticed that one of the krappush servers was active when the hangups occured
    added them to the hosts file to bypass whatever junk they were pushing into the pc and the problem went away

    still have the problem elsewhere
    but i suspect that if i block similar sites that try to load my pc with krapp while i am trying to access real content
    that the problem of hanging will go away for all sites

    i did include the main site, the specific part, and then all of it with a generic *.sitename
    just to cover my bases as they seem to keep changing the exact source name pushing the ads and privacy stealing scripts

  16. #14
    Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    1,168
    Thanks
    44
    Thanked 134 Times in 115 Posts
    Rather than playing whack-a-mole by using the hosts file to try block adverts appearing in Firefox, try using Adblock Plus instead.

    Also the Noscript plugin will help with javascript, but bear in mind that many sites do use javascript for genuine purposes and you could break something by blocking it.
    In God we trust; all others must bring data.

    - William Edwards Deming. 1900 - 1993

  17. #15
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Marietta, Georgia, USA
    Posts
    235
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Tinto Tech View Post
    Rather than playing whack-a-mole by using the hosts file to try block adverts appearing in Firefox, try using Adblock Plus instead.
    +1
    I hate running browsers on computers without Adblock Plus.
    Rick Groszkiewicz
    Life is too short to drink bad wine (or bad coffee!)

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •