Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 35
  1. #16
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    19
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Thanks, Sudo15. By repositioning just mean moving the laptop lid up & down. my first thought was a frayed wire, but once the laptop boots after the cmos bat is reinstalled, after the initial required up and down movement of the lid, the connection is solid and the screen can be moved without any connection problem whatsoever.

  2. #17
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,239
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 298 Times in 289 Posts
    When you reset the CMOS each time are you also resetting the clock ?

    Edit

    What are your power settings regarding Hibernation when the lid is closed ?
    Last edited by Sudo15; 2014-01-04 at 13:00.

  3. #18
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    19
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    I do reset the clock forcing a ping with windows time each cold boot.

    I cannot allow hibernation because it will force me to cold boot. I allow the screen to turn off but otherwise keep the laptop on rather than having to get to the cmos battery.

  4. #19
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,239
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 298 Times in 289 Posts
    I was going to suggest disabling Hibernation if it was on but having to move the hinge could point to a problem with the hinge switch, which only a strip down and checking the connections would do, but I don't know how that would relate to having to remove the CMOS battery.

  5. #20
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    19
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    This is so odd and confusing. Why would the hinge problem correct itself after having booted...I can remember the hinge problem first caused reboots but now, since I have been able to boot after replugging the cmos bat, it no longer causes the reboot during operation. It seems to be a moving target.

    I continue to believe this may be a problem unique to Dell laptops...

  6. #21
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,239
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 298 Times in 289 Posts
    I've been researching the TPM error message and while your exact model isn't listed in http://www.wave.com/support/trusted-...le-or-locked-1 it may be worth a read to see if anything could apply to your model.

    There's also these articles

    http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/l.../cc732718.aspx

    http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/l.../cc753140.aspx
    Last edited by Sudo15; 2014-01-04 at 14:12.

  7. The Following User Says Thank You to Sudo15 For This Useful Post:

    do2 (2014-01-04)

  8. #22
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,239
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 298 Times in 289 Posts
    Just thinking over your actions in removing/replacing the CMOS battery, if the above hasn't helped.

    I assume you are closing the lid prior to turning it over to remove the battery - do you still have to move the lid again after opening it back up before it will boot and have you tried doing all of that without removing the battery to see it will boot up then ?

  9. #23
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    19
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Correct assumptions...I have had the laptop in a number of positions, including inverted both with lid closed / opened, without replacing the cmos battery and each time the laptop appears to be 'dead' until I remove the rear cover and unplug/replug the cmos battery. Note that once replugged I must move the 'lid/screen' up and down until I see either the power button l.e.d. or the hard drive l.e.d. catch power. The Dell start scrn appears shortly thereafter. Doing a cold boot requires neurotic behavior + cmos battery replugging to get the darn thing to begin booting.

  10. #24
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,239
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 298 Times in 289 Posts
    For me, this still points to a problem with the hinge switch and either stripping it down or taking it in for a tech to look at is the way I would go if a check of the connections didn't show up anything obvious.

    Resetting the CMOS is obviously doing something, but still having to disturb something by moving the lid afterwards tends to point to a tech problem.
    Last edited by Sudo15; 2014-01-05 at 05:00.

  11. #25
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    19
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Thanks, Sudo15. I have a few concerns about using a tech shop, primarily the cost vs laptop's actual value but I'm leaning that direction. Appreciate your time, ideas and helpfulness.

  12. #26
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,239
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 298 Times in 289 Posts
    If you do decide to take it in, then ask the tech to contact you before carrying out any repairs so that you can decide on their viability and while its current state is an annoyance, if you can continue to put up with it then leave it as it is - unless someone else can come up with another possible reason why this is occurring.

  13. The Following User Says Thank You to Sudo15 For This Useful Post:

    do2 (2014-01-05)

  14. #27
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    417
    Thanks
    238
    Thanked 27 Times in 26 Posts
    I just came back from a 3 day "vacation" and would like to review what I'm noticing
    Moving the laptop lid, removing/reinserting the CMOS battery and last but certainly not least a cold boot vs a warm boot are factors.

    On moving the laptop lid
    --- Set it to a comfortable position for you and do not move it for a whole day but use it like you normally do
    --- Shut the computer off at night but do not close the lid, leave it as is
    --- Start it up in the morning, again with out touching the lid
    --- I'll suspect it won't boot up as it's a cold boot as you have described but I would still try it
    --- Post back on the results

    On the CMOS remove, reinsert phenomena it's related to a cold boot vs a warm boot
    --- It wouldn't surprise me if there's a cold solder joint, pinched joint or defective component involved and the CMOS has a jump start effect and that's why the differerence between a cold boot vs a warm boot
    --- When moving the lid, the cold solder joint etc effect or the time/spot of the incident will vary
    ------ I would allow for the possibilty of a power feed from the motherboard thru the hinges to the display panel to be a problem but that's pure speculation right now
    --- If that is the case, that can be a troubleshooting nightmare without the proper tools and schematic to work with
    --- Wish I could be more positive on this idea and I wish I could explain it better

  15. #28
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    19
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Thanks, cmptrgy; I'll give it a go. The problem first arose during normal operation and as the lid was adjusted slightly an immediate reboot occurred. Then it could only cold boot when adjusting the lid while pressing the start button. Finally, only the cmos batt removal would allow a cold boot. I'll shutdown for several hours and try your idea.

  16. #29
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Round Rock, TX
    Posts
    42
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
    Most if not all computers contain a error register chip that stores an error code. This register is used by the BIOS and OS for certain errors to ensure you do not damage your system on Boot or warn you of potential problems. By removing the CMOS battery, that error registry is reset (kind of like a single-shot circuit) and you get to create the error again and in this case it allows you to boot one time. Having read all the threads here, I have to agree you have a cold solder joint and/or a broken wire/connection that makes and breaks as you move the display, thus completing the circuit and probably generating the error. To repair this you should have a trained technician working on this or if that is you, you will know what to do.

  17. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to winsong02 For This Useful Post:

    cmptrgy (2014-01-09),do2 (2014-01-09)

  18. #30
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    417
    Thanks
    238
    Thanked 27 Times in 26 Posts
    One more thought came to my mind just in case it might help
    After you try your experiment, shut the computer back down
    Do your remove/reinsert CMOS procedure
    Connect a known good externa monitor to your laptop.
    Raise the lid back up to a comfortable position not for display purposes but to just have it in a stationary position
    --- Power the unit up making sure the laptop lid/display isn't moved
    --- Use the computer for a while preferably a whole day
    --- Shut the computer down
    --- In the morning start it back up normally
    --- If it starts normally most likely the cold solder joint etc is in fact related to the display/lid unit somehow.
    --- If it doesn't cold boot, then the issue can go back to the motherboard some how, maybe into the BIOS error code factor that wingsong02 so aptly described

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •