Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts

    Hiding DOS box when executing NET USE

    I have a command in my startup sequence

    net use F: \\epsonba9920\memorycard /persistent:yes

    That causes a DOS box to pop up. It does "go away", but is there a way to hide the box, or at least have it run minimized?

    Regards,
    Chuck Billow
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  2. #2
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,433
    Thanks
    371
    Thanked 1,456 Times in 1,325 Posts
    Chuck,

    How did you place that in your startup sequence? If it is a Shortcut you can setup the shortcut properties to run minimized. HTH
    RunMinimumized.JPG
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  3. #3
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
    RG;

    I am/was running it Local Machine Run to give access to the drives right away to other startup items. No way to do it there, huh?

    Regards,
    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  4. #4
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,170
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 979 Times in 909 Posts
    Write it in Kixtart and use the console free executable?

    cheers, Paul

  5. #5
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,170
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 979 Times in 909 Posts
    Or write it in vbs and fire it up with wscript.exe

    cheers, Paul

  6. #6
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
    At the risk of sounding daft, Paul,... Huh?

    While I understand what you are saying, I have no inkling of how to do it -- in either language.

    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  7. #7
    Super Moderator BATcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    A cultural area in SW England
    Posts
    3,413
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 195 Times in 175 Posts
    Try STARTing the command processor MINimised, as in
    start "" /min cmd /c net use F: \\epsonba9920\memorycard /persistent:yes

    The "" means use a blank title. You could try removing cmd /c, but I'm fairly certain you need it.
    BATcher

    Time prevents everything happening all at once...

  8. #8
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,170
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 979 Times in 909 Posts
    "Start" is an internal command and would need to be prefixed with "%comspec% /c", which then opens a DOS box.....

    Chuck, put "map network drive vbs" in your favourite browser.
    Run the VBS like this: wscript.exe //b myscript.vbs

    cheers, Paul

  9. #9
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
    Guys, thanks. Now there is another question:

    After I run this command, My Computer still shows the drive with a red "X", even though if I click it it opens right to the drive.

    Is that something I can get around, or is that just part of the way this command works?

    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  10. #10
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,170
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 979 Times in 909 Posts
    Sometimes Windows doesn't update the drive icons correctly, even though you can access the drive. Not seem a fix, but I've not really looked either.

    cheers, Paul

    p.s. what command did you end up using?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •