Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Montréal
    Posts
    1,166
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 38 Times in 37 Posts

    Unhappy How do I find the MAC addresses

    Joe, hello.
    Speaking of Network connections, will you kindly refresh my RAM and show me how to get the MAC addresses ( not the IP ) for all the various network cards that I use, also a wireless printer. Going grey affects the neurones as well as the hair. I need to secure my AP by allowing only the ones here to connect. Thanks. Jean.

  2. Get our unique weekly Newsletter with tips and techniques, how to's and critical updates on Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows XP, Firefox, Internet Explorer, Google, etc. Join our 480,000 subscribers!

    Excel 2013: The Missing Manual

    + Get this BONUS — free!

    Get the most of Excel! Learn about new features, basics of creating a new spreadsheet and using the infamous Ribbon in the first chapter of Excel 2013: The Missing Manual - Subscribe and download Chapter 1 for free!

  3. #2
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    2,116
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 242 Times in 235 Posts
    Go to your adapter, right click and choose status; on the status window click details... it's the physical address number.

  4. #3
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    6,237
    Thanks
    202
    Thanked 796 Times in 729 Posts
    Jean,

    Open a Command Window and type: ipconfig /all {enter}

    The Physical Address is the MAC.
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    VBA Rules!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs


  5. #4
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Montréal
    Posts
    1,166
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 38 Times in 37 Posts
    Good morning RG.
    That ipconfig/all gives me the MAC address of the running machine/Ethernet card. I seek the same of all the apparatus that at times will connect to my AP. I desire to restrict access to all except the ones that I own. This is done in the router S/W in Security -> Wireless -> etc.
    But thanks anyway. Jean.

  6. #5
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    6,237
    Thanks
    202
    Thanked 796 Times in 729 Posts
    Jean,

    You might try downloading Cisco NetworkMagic free version. It will provide a network map of your network and you can right-click any device and get the details including the MAC address. HTH
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    VBA Rules!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs


  7. #6
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    2,116
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 242 Times in 235 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by handcuff36 View Post
    FUN, hello. Looking for status is a wild goose chase. In Control Panel, I went to Device Manager -> Network Adapters -> right click on it but no status. Jean.
    Network and sharing center>Change adapter settings>right click on any adapter and it's there. Device manager will only give device settings sans the network settings.

  8. #7
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Montréal
    Posts
    1,166
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 38 Times in 37 Posts
    Yes, indeed, FUN, it is there. Thanks for showing me the way. Now, this being said, where do I get the MAC address for the rest of my devices ?

    Hey ! I just had a stroke of genius, I looked under the laptops and on their PCMCIA cards and the MACs are all noted there. Not for the HP WL printer, none to be seen. Oh! well. Win some, loose some. Thanks. Jean.

  9. #8
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    6,237
    Thanks
    202
    Thanked 796 Times in 729 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by handcuff36 View Post
    Not for the HP WL printer, none to be seen. Oh! well. Win some, loose some.
    Jean,

    If you print the printer's maintenance pages you may find it there I know it's on those pages for my Brother laser printer. BTW: This is NOT the TEST page, you'll need to consult the printer manual for the keys to press to get these pages to print. HTH
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    VBA Rules!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs


  10. #9
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Montréal
    Posts
    1,166
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 38 Times in 37 Posts
    Good Man, RG. I did have a look at this information and after clicking on the prompt, I was offered a GUI screen and lots of goodies. The MAC address is well hidden but available. I had a see at that GUI before but I was not really looking for anything special, this time, I dig a bit further into it and voilà.
    Thanks for the shove. I never planned on a 3 in 1 printer but my eldest sister passed on and I inherited this HP 3050A. Runs so good.
    Hoping that you are having a nice day. Jean.

  11. #10
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    6,237
    Thanks
    202
    Thanked 796 Times in 729 Posts
    Jean,

    Glad you got it sorted!
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    VBA Rules!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs


  12. #11
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,554
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 614 Times in 550 Posts
    I split these into a separate thread. Please do NOT hijack an existing thread. Start a new one.

    Joe

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •