Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Northampton, Northamptonshire, England
    Posts
    1,924
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Using Count(Below) field formula

    Hi I am using Word 2010 with Windows 8.1

    I use count below in word to count the rows, but it only counts page one. I would like to count a least two pages.
    Is this possible please.

    braddy60
    If you are a fool at forty, you will always be a fool

  2. Get our unique weekly Newsletter with tips and techniques, how to's and critical updates on Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows XP, Firefox, Internet Explorer, Google, etc. Join our 480,000 subscribers!

    Excel 2013: The Missing Manual

    + Get this BONUS — free!

    Get the most of Excel! Learn about new features, basics of creating a new spreadsheet and using the infamous Ribbon in the first chapter of Excel 2013: The Missing Manual - Subscribe and download Chapter 1 for free!

  3. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    3,514
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 143 Times in 136 Posts
    The Count(Below) field formula returns the number of the rows below the formula. If the table overflows onto a second page, those additional rows are included in the count.

    Are you sure the table on page two is part of the same table on page one or are they two separate tables? If you right click the first table you should be able to Select>Table to see where the first table ends.
    Andrew Lockton, Chrysalis Design, Melbourne Australia

  4. #3
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
    Posts
    3,892
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 188 Times in 172 Posts
    In addition to what Andrew has said, do be aware, that Word's ABOVE, LEFT, RIGHT & BElOW field expressions are prone to producing unreliable results. For a discussion of these limitations, see my Microsoft Word Field Maths Tutorial, at: http://windowssecrets.com/forums/sho...Maths-Tutorial
    Cheers,

    Paul Edstein
    [MS MVP - Word]

  5. #4
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Northampton, Northamptonshire, England
    Posts
    1,924
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks to Andrew Lockton and Macropod

    As Andrew suggests they are different tables, I did not realise as I just used tab to enter new rows which went on to the next page, I understand that word is not the best for formulating.

    So I have decided to use this simple formula as I will never have more than two pages

    =COUNT(below)+4
    If you are a fool at forty, you will always be a fool

  6. #5
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
    Posts
    3,892
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 188 Times in 172 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by braddy60 View Post
    they are different tables, I did not realise as I just used tab to enter new rows which went on to the next page
    Creating new rows that way doesn't generate a new table when a page break occurs. Unless you break the table (e.g. via a manual page break), it'll still all be one table.
    Cheers,

    Paul Edstein
    [MS MVP - Word]

  7. #6
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Northampton, Northamptonshire, England
    Posts
    1,924
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Hi macropod

    I seem to remember when the row went on to a new page it appeared to be right at the top of the page, I can't remember what I did to create a space at the top of the page but whatever it was it must have split the table, I know I did not intentionally enter a page break but it must have had the same effect.

    Thank you for your reply
    If you are a fool at forty, you will always be a fool

  8. #7
    Silver Lounger Charles Kenyon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Madison, Wisconsin, Wisconsin, USA
    Posts
    1,696
    Thanks
    55
    Thanked 63 Times in 61 Posts
    In a two-page document it is easy to give different spacing at the top of the page using a different-first-page header setting where the header on the first page has more or less space used.

    This is often used in creating templates to be printed on letterhead or create letterhead.

    How Can I Get a Different Header/Footer on the Second Page?
    Last edited by Charles Kenyon; 2014-01-19 at 09:46. Reason: add link
    Charles Kyle Kenyon
    Madison, Wisconsin

  9. #8
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Northampton, Northamptonshire, England
    Posts
    1,924
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks Charles

    I will check it out

    Braddy60

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •