Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 20
  1. #1
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    10,207
    Thanks
    129
    Thanked 1,145 Times in 1,054 Posts

    Uploading files - please use the basic uploader if the advanced fails

    Hello,

    For a yet unknown cause, file uploading using the advanced uploader seems not to work properly all the time. If that happens, instead of using the advanced uploader, use the basic one. It can be accessed by clicking the link available at the highlighted part of the file uploading dialog.

    basicuploader.JPG

    After choosing the file, you will need to click the Upload file(s) word at the bottom of the file browser, highlighted below:

    basicuploader.JPG

    We are trying to solve the issue with the advanced uploader and will report when that is accomplished.
    Rui
    -------
    R4

  2. Subscribe to our Windows Secrets Newsletter - It's Free!

    Get our unique weekly Newsletter with tips and techniques, how to's and critical updates on Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows XP, Firefox, Internet Explorer, Google, etc. Join our 480,000 subscribers!

    Excel 2013: The Missing Manual

    + Get this BONUS — free!

    Get the most of Excel! Learn about new features, basics of creating a new spreadsheet and using the infamous Ribbon in the first chapter of Excel 2013: The Missing Manual - Subscribe and download Chapter 1 for free!

  3. #2
    Bronze Lounger Drew1903's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    1,246
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 92 Times in 71 Posts
    This is good news. I had, already tried Basic Uploader to no avail; it does allow to browse for a file but, then, still, offers no ability to go any further. I just tried it again here & now, same thing. Still, glad to know a FIX is being attempted.

    Cheers,
    Drew

  4. #3
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    10,207
    Thanks
    129
    Thanked 1,145 Times in 1,054 Posts
    The interface is not the most obvious, but after you choose the file, click the upload file(s) word that I have highlighted in the picture and that will upload the file.

    basicuploader.JPG

    We have to wait for the iNet development people to solve this. They were asked to intervene yesterday.
    Rui
    -------
    R4

  5. #4
    Bronze Lounger Drew1903's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    1,246
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 92 Times in 71 Posts
    Ok, thanks. I had tried that long ago for myself since it seemed obviously like it would be the thing to do & nothing happened. Apparently have to be very precise about how the cursor is touching it or something. Anyway, all that matters is I got it , now. Thanks, again.

    Cheers,
    Drew

    290_Windows8_1.jpg
    Last edited by Drew1903; 2014-01-18 at 00:55.

  6. #5
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    10,207
    Thanks
    129
    Thanked 1,145 Times in 1,054 Posts
    Great .
    Rui
    -------
    R4

  7. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    10,207
    Thanks
    129
    Thanked 1,145 Times in 1,054 Posts
    Just a reminder that this situation persists. Unfortunately, neither admins or moderators can fix this, but for those of you who are experiencing issues, please try the basic uploader. I hope this can solve most, if not all situations where uploads need to be done.
    Rui
    -------
    R4

  8. #7
    Bronze Lounger Drew1903's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    1,246
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 92 Times in 71 Posts
    Thanks for the info. Certainly, using the Basic Uploader as an alternative or work-around is fine.

    Cheers,
    Drew
    290_Windows8_1.jpg

  9. #8
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    10,207
    Thanks
    129
    Thanked 1,145 Times in 1,054 Posts
    Sorry for taking so long to fix it, Drew.
    Rui
    -------
    R4

  10. #9
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Montréal
    Posts
    1,141
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 38 Times in 37 Posts
    Yes, Rui, this is what I was doing. When the "Browse" prompt comes up, I go to my Desktop where the file is located but it will not pick it after I click on the .jpg. W-7 here on my secondary machine is fine, no such problem. Thanks for your reply. Jean.

  11. #10
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    10,207
    Thanks
    129
    Thanked 1,145 Times in 1,054 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by handcuff36 View Post
    Yes, Rui, this is what I was doing. When the "Browse" prompt comes up, I go to my Desktop where the file is located but it will not pick it after I click on the .jpg. W-7 here on my secondary machine is fine, no such problem. Thanks for your reply. Jean.
    What browser?
    Rui
    -------
    R4

  12. #11
    Bronze Lounger Drew1903's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    1,246
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 92 Times in 71 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ruirib View Post
    Sorry for taking so long to fix it, Drew.
    No worries, mate. Not, really, "fixed" but, @ least we can use Basic Uploader so, no real loss.

    Cheers,
    Drew
    290_Windows8_1.jpg

  13. #12
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Montréal
    Posts
    1,141
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 38 Times in 37 Posts
    Hello, Rui.

    >>> What browser? <<<

    My w-7 machine uses IE 11, methinks. Let me check :

    IE-11.jpg

    See ? In W-7 cum IE 11, it works. Jean.

  14. #13
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    10,207
    Thanks
    129
    Thanked 1,145 Times in 1,054 Posts
    Well Jean, sorry, I suggest you try some other browser. I guess you will find it works.
    Rui
    -------
    R4

  15. #14
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    279
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 63 Times in 53 Posts
    Hmmm... looks like the uploader has changed again. Now it's only showing Add an Image from Url with no option for From Computer or to use the Basic Uploader.

  16. #15
    Bronze Lounger Drew1903's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    1,246
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 92 Times in 71 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Rick Corbett View Post
    Hmmm... looks like the uploader has changed again. Now it's only showing Add an Image from Url with no option for From Computer or to use the Basic Uploader.
    Yes, and I have written to Admin about this earlier today.

    Cheers,
    Drew

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •