Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger midnight's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Almost Deep East Texas
    Posts
    352
    Thanks
    42
    Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts

    norton Internet security

    My Norton AV will be up for renewal in a few weeks. I buy the 3 computers version, and prefer to get it on discs.

    Can't seem to find it locally this year. Everything is a download. If you download the 3 license version, how do you get it installed from one computer to the other two??

  2. #2
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,433
    Thanks
    371
    Thanked 1,456 Times in 1,325 Posts
    Midnight,

    When you download do it to a USB key then install each computer from there. HTH
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger midnight's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Almost Deep East Texas
    Posts
    352
    Thanks
    42
    Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts
    That is perfect. Can't tell you where my mind was that I didn't think of it, but I do appreciate it!!

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,606
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 868 Times in 830 Posts
    I recently renewed my Norton 360 by buying the licence from PC World and was just given a card with a product key on it which was for 3 machines.

    Don't know about NIS but on Norton's 360 face page there is a Renew link to click on and that gives you the option to enter an already obtained key, which negates the need for a fresh install by whatever means when you already have it installed as well as on other machines.

    Apparently they don't do discs any more but if it becomes buggy and a reinstall would seem to be the only option, then you can use the Remove & Reinstall Tool if applicable.

  5. #5
    3 Star Lounger midnight's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Almost Deep East Texas
    Posts
    352
    Thanks
    42
    Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts
    I think you are right about no discs anymore. Grrrr. We had bad experience with Norton 360 in our church office and our local guru had nothing good to say about it. That was a couple years ago though. how do you like it?

    My local Office Depot has the 3 computers version cheaper than I have found NIS anywhere.

    I may end up going with AVG since I've got to download anyway. Any comments on the viability of the free version?? Avast??

    B

  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,606
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 868 Times in 830 Posts
    Norton 360 is the only AV I've ever used and I like it's other attributes because it's more than just an AV, although it's its other attributes that others apportion to its reputation for being a resource hog, but with 8GB RAM, I'm quite happy with my laptop's performance.

    So far, I've bought mine from PC World as they have been by far the cheapest source.

    If you had a disc to install it last year, then I think you can still use the new licence to activate it then use Support to check for a new version, if you can renew it as I've previously suggested in Post#4 if NIS gives that option, then there will be no need for any downloads.

    If NIS has kept you safe and hasn't caused you any problems, would it not be better to stick with it ?

    You can Google for the best free AV programs and check out different links for the reviews and then Google for their forums to see if any are giving problems, but while AVAST Free is highly rated, it doesn't have its own firewall so you could either rely upon Windows Firewall, or a further Google to see what others are using with it.

  7. #7
    3 Star Lounger midnight's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Almost Deep East Texas
    Posts
    352
    Thanks
    42
    Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts
    I bought the 3 computer version of Norton Securities 2014 from Amazon for $35 something. Symantec provides a sort of walk thru for installing on computer 2 & 3. Got the first one done last Tuesday with no problem. Then started on computer 2 yesterday and had all sorts of glitches. Became frustrated and shut it down thinking to start fresh this morning. Husband used that computer last night after i had gone to bed, and the install completed by itself successfully. Whoopee! Now I'll get the desktop done tomorrow (have to wait for 'allowance' to regenerate from Hughes net)

    thanks Sudo15

  8. #8
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,606
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 868 Times in 830 Posts
    Just wondering if you could have saved the download onto an USB, although don't know how big the file is and then just copied it to each machine wouldn't take up your download allowance - just a thought perhaps for future ref.

  9. #9
    3 Star Lounger midnight's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Almost Deep East Texas
    Posts
    352
    Thanks
    42
    Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts
    RG and i talked about this at the beginning of this thread. The program did not offer a place to save it .... just goes right to the computer you are working on. That is why I have always liked getting the discs. Sigh.........

    Thanks for the thought.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •