Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Windows 7 backup fails

    After several years of successful backups using Windows 7, it now fails every time with the error code 0x80070002 "the system cannot find the file specified."
    I have tried using different external drives but to no avail.
    I have searched windows knowledge base but nothing seems to be suitable.
    I do not wish to use only a third party system.

    Can anyone help please

  2. #2
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    Give this a read, see if anything here is applicable to your situation;
    MS Support: Error code 0x8100002F and or error code 0x80070002 when you back up files in Windows 7
    DRIVE IMAGING
    Invest a little time and energy in a well thought out BACKUP regimen and you will have minimal down time, and headache.

    Build your own system; get everything you want and nothing you don't.
    Latest Build:
    ASUS X99 Deluxe, Core i7-5960X, Corsair Hydro H100i, Plextor M6e 256GB M.2 SSD, Corsair DOMINATOR Platinum 32GB DDR4@2666, W8.1 64 bit,
    EVGA GTX980, Seasonic PLATINUM-1000W PSU, MountainMods U2-UFO Case, and 7 other internal drives.

  3. #3
    Tag team spammer.
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    what about fix the system or reinstall the system?

  4. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thank you for your suggestion.

    I have followed this link before but was unable to unload the suggested file for the standalone installer. On investigation i found I have an ATI Radeon chipset not Nvidia.

    There has been no change to my hardware prior to the error occurring. I have a considerable amount of programmes installed and do not wish to reload Windows , if avoidable.

    Is there anything else I can try?

  5. #5
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    You could start using a free, 3rd party imaging app (if I am right and this is a Windows imaging issue). I would suggest you take a look at Macrium Reflect Free or EaseUS Todo Backup.
    Rui
    -------
    R4

  6. #6
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    You could try the sfc /scannow command.
    Run it from an elevated command prompt.
    DRIVE IMAGING
    Invest a little time and energy in a well thought out BACKUP regimen and you will have minimal down time, and headache.

    Build your own system; get everything you want and nothing you don't.
    Latest Build:
    ASUS X99 Deluxe, Core i7-5960X, Corsair Hydro H100i, Plextor M6e 256GB M.2 SSD, Corsair DOMINATOR Platinum 32GB DDR4@2666, W8.1 64 bit,
    EVGA GTX980, Seasonic PLATINUM-1000W PSU, MountainMods U2-UFO Case, and 7 other internal drives.

  7. #7
    New Lounger redearl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    That error is very common in the windows 7 and 2008 systems, as the Backup system is extremely picky about the image paths listed in the registry.
    try this PS2 script, which will look for them. you will have to manually edit thte registry to fix them
    http://blogs.technet.com/b/askcore/a...es-failed.aspx
    You could also try this frixit tool from MS.
    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/910336

  8. #8
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thank you for suggestions.

    The free Microsoft fixit tool revealed no errors, nor did the scannow command.
    I do not understand scripting and feel I could do more harm than good.

    I would not be averse to altering a registry entry if I knew exactly what to do.

    This seems to be a system weakness and although I do not like the idea of giving up, I feel I will have to rely on third party software and thanks for those suggestions.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •