Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    77
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Computer turns itself on

    I've notice within the past week that my computer turns itself on some time after I've turned it off. When I go to bed, I turn it off by clicking on "Shut Down." I watch as the light goes on on the front. When I come in the next morning, it is running. I thought my wife was turning it on, but she says she hasn't touched it.

    I'm running Windows 8.1
    16G of RAM
    C is a 256 GB SSD with 141 GB space left on it
    D is a 1T drive with about 630 GB left on it.
    I run Norton 360 fulltime
    Malwarebytes once each day
    Spybot about once a week
    So, I'm clear.
    The power settings are not set any place I can find to turn it on.

    What do I need to do to keep it from turning itself on?

  2. Subscribe to our Windows Secrets Newsletter - It's Free!

    Get our unique weekly Newsletter with tips and techniques, how to's and critical updates on Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows XP, Firefox, Internet Explorer, Google, etc. Join our 480,000 subscribers!

    Excel 2013: The Missing Manual

    + Get this BONUS — free!

    Get the most of Excel! Learn about new features, basics of creating a new spreadsheet and using the infamous Ribbon in the first chapter of Excel 2013: The Missing Manual - Subscribe and download Chapter 1 for free!

  3. #2
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    5,827
    Thanks
    185
    Thanked 704 Times in 642 Posts
    RHawk,

    You should check your BIOS and see if Wake-On-LAN is enabled. If you have a network setup one of your devices may be trying to access your computer and thus turning it on. Disabling this setting should solve the problem, if this is the problem. HTH
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    VBA Rules!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs


  4. #3
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    1,243
    Thanks
    18
    Thanked 186 Times in 181 Posts
    It would also help if you switched off the power when you've finished.

  5. #4
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Rochdale, UK
    Posts
    803
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 51 Times in 51 Posts
    Further to RG's suggestion you may want to try the powercfg command from the command prompt (note it needs to be run as administrator)

    Code:
    powercfg -devicequery wake_armed
    This will show you which devices can wake the PC.

    Code:
    powercfg -lastwake
    This should show you the device that last woke the PC although in my experience it doesn't.

    I should add if there are any tasks in task scheduler which are allowed to wake the PC they don't show there either!
    Last edited by Browni; 2014-01-19 at 20:45.

  6. #5
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    77
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks fellows. Found nothing, so went into power selections and changed a few things. So far, it is turning off and not coming back on immediately after shutdown.

  7. #6
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    68
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 25 Times in 13 Posts
    As Browni intimated, it's very important to check Task Scheduler for any tasks that wake the computer. I had your problem a while ago, and solved it this way. From memory it was a stock Windows 7 task. Win7, unlike XP, comes with a number of them set up by default for things like disk defragging and more, one or some of which might wake your computer from sleep or hibernation unless reconfigured by you. So go check 'em!

    Examining the system log around the time the computer woke can also give you the answer, or at least a clue.

    Also a number of rude third-party software installers will stick a task in Task Scheduler, usually without even telling you, and often for no good reason at all.

    It's worth doing the above even if you think you've solves the problem, to avoid nasty surprises in future. And always check your Task Scheduler after all non-Microsoft software installations to see if anything's been added.
    Last edited by bigbadsteve; 2014-01-23 at 02:45. Reason: Added stuff

  8. #7
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    77
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I found a line in the registry from a program that installed itself on my computer because I missed checking a box. I had uninstalled it, but there were lines in the registry. I thought I had taken care of all of them, but missed this one. Since deleting it, I haven't had the problem. Thanks fellows. I appreciate your help. I appreciate this forum and the Windows Secrets that are published.

  9. #8
    3 Star Lounger bassfisher6522's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    248
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 26 Times in 25 Posts
    Just curious, what program was it that got installed?

  10. #9
    Bronze Lounger DrWho's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Central Florida
    Posts
    1,211
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 159 Times in 124 Posts
    In most computer's BIOS, there is a setting under "Power" as to how you want the computer to act after a power failure. You can set it to stay off or Turn On.
    If you set it to Turn On, and sometime during the night there is even a very brief power failure (glitch) your computer will turn back ON.

    I have mine set that way, but my computer and all it's peripherals are on a Switchable power strip, that I turn OFF after shutting down the PC. Because......when you shut down your PC (desktop) from Within Windows, it's not really OFF, Dead, Cold and inactive. Your PSU is still ON, providing 5vdc power to the motherboard and start button.

    So, to turn on my whole computer system, all I have to do is flip that one switch on my power strip.

    To really shut your PC OFF, you must remove the line power going into it. Your computer will be much safer with NO power going into it when you've shut down for the day, or while you're away from home.
    It's just a safety thing!

    Good Luck,
    The Doctor
    Experience is truly the best teacher.

    Backup! Backup! Backup! GHOST Rocks!

  11. #10
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Irvine, California, USA
    Posts
    292
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    You do not have to add anything but updates to have this ghost turning your machine on. I recently bought a new laptop (8.0) for my wife and after the 50 updates from MS it had this bug. For me I would shut it down and I watched as it rebooted itself every time. The only way to turn it off was to hold the power button down. It took 1 day of frustration and discovery of other issues like no F8 menu, and so many other issues a tech support supervisor asked me to return the laptop as it was not fixable. My guess it had BIOS (UEFI) issues and OS problems. A lemon from the get go.

  12. #11
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    77
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I don't remember which one, but it had Conduit in a lot of the reg. lines.

  13. #12
    3 Star Lounger bassfisher6522's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    248
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 26 Times in 25 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by rhawk36 View Post
    I don't remember which one, but it had Conduit in a lot of the reg. lines.
    Ahh....conduit...can be a nasty bugger to remove. If you have that...I'd run your AV and any malware/spyware software you have....

  14. #13
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    77
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Norton 360, Malwarebytes, Spybot, and then hunt, find, and delete in the registry.

  15. #14
    Silver Lounger mrjimphelps's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    2,112
    Thanks
    199
    Thanked 200 Times in 192 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by DrWho View Post
    my computer and all it's peripherals are on a Switchable power strip, that I turn OFF after shutting down the PC. Because......when you shut down your PC (desktop) from Within Windows, it's not really OFF, Dead, Cold and inactive. Your PSU is still ON, providing 5vdc power to the motherboard and start button.

    So, to turn on my whole computer system, all I have to do is flip that one switch on my power strip.

    To really shut your PC OFF, you must remove the line power going into it. Your computer will be much safer with NO power going into it when you've shut down for the day, or while you're away from home.
    It's just a safety thing!

    Good Luck,
    The Doctor
    The Doctor beat me to the punch on that one. You are guaranteed that it will not come on if you cut the power to a desktop computer.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •