Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    25
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Which Sata to use

    Dell Insperion 660
    And will be adding a new SSD. I thought the new SSD and old HDD had to be plugged into a Sata 3 port.
    Looked in my manuel and ther is only one Sata 3. But I do have a Sata 0, 2, & 4

    Thanks

  2. Subscribe to our Windows Secrets Newsletter - It's Free!

    Get our unique weekly Newsletter with tips and techniques, how to's and critical updates on Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows XP, Firefox, Internet Explorer, Google, etc. Join our 480,000 subscribers!

    Excel 2013: The Missing Manual

    + Get this BONUS — free!

    Get the most of Excel! Learn about new features, basics of creating a new spreadsheet and using the infamous Ribbon in the first chapter of Excel 2013: The Missing Manual - Subscribe and download Chapter 1 for free!

  3. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    9,933
    Thanks
    126
    Thanked 1,099 Times in 1,011 Posts
    Are you talking about port numbers or SATA standard versions? The latest version is 3.2, so I don't see how you can have version 4. Anyway, your SSD should be connected to the fastest interface available, in order to talk full advantage of its performance.
    Rui
    -------
    R4

  4. #3
    Super Moderator satrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cardiff, UK
    Posts
    2,043
    Thanks
    97
    Thanked 194 Times in 169 Posts
    You're simply confusing the SATA type with the numbering of your SATA ports (port numbers).

    Fit the drive onto the lowest number available (and remember it - you'll need to select it during clone/Windows install!); to install Windows (or clone the old HDD), you'll then need to enter the BIOS/UEFI and set the DVD drive (or cloning disc/USB drive) to the first device in the boot order.

    Once installed/cloned, shut down and swap the SSD for the original drive and then set the SSD as boot device in the BIOS.

  5. #4
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    25
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by satrow View Post
    You're simply confusing the SATA type with the numbering of your SATA ports (port numbers).

    Fit the drive onto the lowest number available (and remember it - you'll need to select it during clone/Windows install!); to install Windows (or clone the old HDD), you'll then need to enter the BIOS/UEFI and set the DVD drive (or cloning disc/USB drive) to the first device in the boot order.

    Once installed/cloned, shut down and swap the SSD for the original drive and then set the SSD as boot device in the BIOS.
    Thanks, makes sense now

  6. #5
    3 Star Lounger bassfisher6522's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    244
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 26 Times in 25 Posts
    FWIW: If you have't looked it up, here are the differences between SATA I, II and III.

    http://kb.sandisk.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/8142

    Now keep in mind that most modern mobo's have both II and III SATA ports. Most of the time they are differentiated by colors. You would need to check the mobo manual for types. This is not the case with retail PC's like your Dell. Most of the time the retail stock mobo's will have minimum of SATA ports (usually 4) and move with the times to the latest SATA version...eg I, II, III.
    Last edited by bassfisher6522; 2014-01-21 at 09:08.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •