Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    1,070
    Thanks
    42
    Thanked 132 Times in 86 Posts

    Reaching into your desktop PC remotely: Part 2




    BEST PRACTICES


    Reaching into your desktop PC remotely: Part 2


    By Patrick Marshall
    In the first installment of this two-part series on remote-access, I covered the (no longer) free version of LogMeIn.
    In this article, I discuss two additional services TeamViewer and Google Chrome Remote Desktop that let you operate a host PC remotely with another PC, a tablet, or your smart phone.

    The full text of this column is posted at windowssecrets.com/best-practices/reaching-into-your-desktop-pc-remotely-part-2 (opens in a new window/tab).

    Columnists typically cannot reply to comments here, but do incorporate the best tips into future columns.

  2. The Following User Says Thank You to Kathleen Atkins For This Useful Post:

    pthov (2014-01-23)

  3. #2
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Yorkshire, England
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks for this useful article - LogMeIn free has been perfect for me to get to my home pc from work occasionally. Chrome Remote Desktop says it can't access my home pc - I assume it's a firewall issue but can't be certain. TeamViewer works and looks very similar to LogMeIn but for some reason it cripples my home broadband whereas LMI had no noticeable effect. Whether TV uses a much higher data transfer rate than LMI I don't know but it means that although I can connect to the home pc I can't do anything useful with it once there.
    Can anyone suggest a way to reduce TeamViewer's impact or an alternative program (that will get through the office firewall) that I could use instead?
    Thanks.

  4. #3
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    If you are running a Pro or Ultimate version of Windows you can use remote desktop.

    Joe

  5. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Metairie, Louisiana, USA
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Free program for commercial and personal use is available at www.AeroAdmin.com
    Downloads a file called AeroAdmin.exe
    Run it, and it produces a number.
    "Other" person, at their computer, also runs aeroadmin.exe and types in the number you got on your computer, and "they" get remote control of your computer.
    Drop dead simple. You can leave aeroadmin.exe running in the background on target computer and remote in anytime from any other computer, much like logmein.
    I use it all the time for performing services on my various customers' computers.

    HannibalTwo

  6. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Northern California
    Posts
    326
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 142 Times in 91 Posts
    AeroAdmin sounds a lot like Teamviewer (which is what I use), so I was curious enough to go take a look. It's from a website in Russia. That should raise some alarm bells.

    But what disturbs me even more was the first thought to cross my mind was, "Well, at least it won't have a NSA backdoor." {sigh}

  7. #6
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    49
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
    FWIW, i've been testing TeamViewer on some of the computers i now connect to with LogMeIn, and i haven't seen all that much difference in performance. i have run across some minor quirks with TV that i haven't bothered to chase down, but overall i'm pretty pleased so far. have you looked at task manager on your home PC while you are connected to see if maybe something is thrashing the system?

    another alternative i'm looking at is UltraVNC -- it was my main remote control app back in the dark ages before LogMeIn came along, and i suspect it's what i'll end up with after LogMeIn Free is gone. you do have to be a bit tech saavy to set it up (you'll have to configure port forwarding on your router), but once it's installed it really beats LogMeIn Free in many respects. only real downside is that it's not for the casual user. i'm a bit surprised Patrick didn't mention it in his article.


    lee

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •