Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts

    WD backup software

    Has anyone used the backup software that comes installed on Western Digital My Passport drives?

    If so, any opinions one way or the other, as opposed to using something like True Image?

    Regards,
    Chuck Billow
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  2. #2
    3 Star Lounger bassfisher6522's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    373
    Thanks
    53
    Thanked 40 Times in 39 Posts
    I've not, then again I don't have any WD drives. The only backup software I've used is Acronis and Aomei.

  3. #3
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    2,335
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 267 Times in 260 Posts
    I've seen it on several of my drives but have never installed it so can't help there. In general I steer around any local backup solution sourcing from one company's drive but if it were comprehensive and adaptable it might be alright. I get the impression from reading forums that many times there's a little too much proprietary limitation in using such software.
    Sent from Windows ME thru Opera 10.63...just before they crashe

  4. #4
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,436
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Chuck,

    I have many WD drives but I don't use the provided software on purpose! I reformat/partition the drive before using and then use Macrium Reflect Pro.
    I used to use the Free version but liked it so much I figured they deserved some payment. I had used Acronis before that but gave up on it several years ago after experiencing problems which may be fixed by now. YMMV HTH
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  5. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    225
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 37 Times in 28 Posts
    From their website (http://www.wdc.com/en/products/products.aspx?id=940) it appears to be file backup only. Nothing wrong with that if it's what you're looking for, but just be aware it's not backing up your operating system. Has mixed reviews, but the sample size is too small (12 customers) to judge anything from it. You might want to try Acronis True Image WD Edition Software (http://support.wdc.com/product/downl...19&wdc_lang=en). That will give you a full image backup. Seagate has something similar called Seagate Disc Wizard and I've used it successfully for the last few years to backup from two internal hard drives to a single external hard drive.

  6. #6
    WS Lounge VIP mrjimphelps's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3,411
    Thanks
    447
    Thanked 406 Times in 378 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by RetiredGeek View Post
    I used to use the Free version but liked it so much I figured they deserved some payment.
    Very thoughtful. Sounds like a great idea.

    Quote Originally Posted by RetiredGeek View Post
    I had used Acronis before that but gave up on it several years ago after experiencing problems which may be fixed by now. YMMV HTH
    I believe that the current version of Seagate Disk Wizard is a version of Acronis True Image. It strikes me as a very solid product. I too was unimpressed with Acronis TI a few years ago. However, if Seagate Disk Wizard is representative of the current version of Acronis TI, then they have won me back.

  7. #7
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
    RG, I've been using Acronis and haven' t noticed any major issues. Some things I wish were different -- like command-line support -- but then, oh well. Maybe I'll take a look at Macrium.

    Thanks,
    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •