Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    CMOS Battery replacement

    If I replace the CMOS battery, will I need to re-flash the bios. My current bios is very different than the manufacturer. If so, I can't remember how to save my current bios and reinstall(flash). Can someone point me in the right direction. Current MB manufacturer is no longer in business--ABIT.
    Thanks,
    Ron

  2. Get our unique weekly Newsletter with tips and techniques, how to's and critical updates on Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows XP, Firefox, Internet Explorer, Google, etc. Join our 480,000 subscribers!

    Excel 2013: The Missing Manual

    + Get this BONUS — free!

    Get the most of Excel! Learn about new features, basics of creating a new spreadsheet and using the infamous Ribbon in the first chapter of Excel 2013: The Missing Manual - Subscribe and download Chapter 1 for free!

  3. #2
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    6,192
    Thanks
    201
    Thanked 784 Times in 718 Posts
    Ron,

    No you will not need to re-Flash the BIOS. Flashing is actually using a high current to change an EEPROM (Electrically Erasable Programmable Read Only Memory - I think that is the correct expansion). These devices keep their settings unless subjected to this relatively high current programming mode. You will however need to reset any parameters which are changeable when you enter the BIOS by the manufacturer approved method. These settings are why the battery is there as they are stored in a fairly standard RAM memory that requires current to hold it's settings. So make sure you know what all those settings are or get a program which will read your BIOS and write the user settable settings to a file and then restore them to the BIOS after the battery is changed. Now depending how fast you are you might be able to get the new battery in before the settings are lost but I wouldn't count on that.

    HTH
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    VBA Rules!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs


  4. #3
    Silver Lounger mrjimphelps's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    2,158
    Thanks
    204
    Thanked 209 Times in 201 Posts
    RG:

    I remember a long time ago you had to write down your hard drive parameters before removing the CMOS battery, and then reinput them after changing the battery. But we haven't had to do that in a very long time.

    Which other items will get erased and will need to be reset when you change the battery? I have changed lots of batteries, and I don't recall having to reset anything, except maybe the date and time.

    Jim

  5. #4
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    4,750
    Thanks
    67
    Thanked 545 Times in 493 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by mrjimphelps View Post
    RG:

    I remember a long time ago you had to write down your hard drive parameters before removing the CMOS battery, and then reinput them after changing the battery. But we haven't had to do that in a very long time.

    Which other items will get erased and will need to be reset when you change the battery? I have changed lots of batteries, and I don't recall having to reset anything, except maybe the date and time.

    Jim
    That's probably because you are using the defaults including disk autodetect. Any user supplied changes to the default settings will be lost. An example is overclocking information or setting legacy USB mode. In the vast majority of the cases, the defaults other than Time and Date are fine and the PC is unaffected with CMOS battery replacement.

    Jerry

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to jwitalka For This Useful Post:

    mrjimphelps (2014-02-07)

  7. #5
    Silver Lounger mrjimphelps's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    2,158
    Thanks
    204
    Thanked 209 Times in 201 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jwitalka View Post
    That's probably because you are using the defaults including disk autodetect. Any user supplied changes to the default settings will be lost. An example is overclocking information or setting legacy USB mode. In the vast majority of the cases, the defaults other than Time and Date are fine and the PC is unaffected with CMOS battery replacement.

    Jerry
    You're right; I never thought about those settings.

    It would be a good idea to make note of changes you make, as you make them, so that it will be easy to get everything set correctly when you change the CMOS battery.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •