Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Houston, Texas, USA
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Unhappy XP Stopped Getting IP Address from DHCP Pool

    My Windows XP Home computer is on a wired home network with two other computers. Recently, for some unknown reason, it stopped getting an IP address from the DHCP pool on my DSL router/switch. The task bar shows a local area network connection, but ipconfig shows no IP address. I have eliminated the router, network cable, and on-board integrated NIC as problems (got a PCI card NIC and still had same problem). No indication of any spyware or virus problems, either. Some time before the complete failure happened, I would periodically have a similar problem, which I was able to resolve by stopping and then restarting the integrated NIC via Device Manager. Nothing helps now. I would do a partial restore from my backups, but am uncertain as what file(s) to pick. Any suggestions, before I hire someone to help?

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,607
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 869 Times in 831 Posts
    It may just need the TCP/IP stack resetting but enter these commands at the Command Prompt.

    netsh winsock reset catalog

    netsh int ip reset resetlog.txt

    ipconfig /release

    ipconfig /renew

    exit


    Now reboot.
    Last edited by Sudo15; 2014-01-30 at 13:04.

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to Sudo15 For This Useful Post:

    w7340 (2014-01-30)

  4. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Houston, Texas, USA
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    My " batch" skills are a little rusty. How do I enter these commands as shown, without hitting Enter?

  5. #4
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,168
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 978 Times in 908 Posts
    Open a "Command Prompt" - Start > Run > cmd

    cheers, Paul

  6. #5
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    4,746
    Thanks
    171
    Thanked 649 Times in 572 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by w7340 View Post
    My " batch" skills are a little rusty. How do I enter these commands as shown, without hitting Enter?
    No need to enter them all at once: Hit enter after each line.

    Bruce

  7. #6
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,607
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 869 Times in 831 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by w7340 View Post
    My " batch" skills are a little rusty. How do I enter these commands as shown, without hitting Enter?
    Following Paul T's post you type each command separately, pressing Enter after each.

    I've opened them up in my last post for clarification.

  8. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Houston, Texas, USA
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks to all who responded. The sequence of commands is what I figured. However, I am now ready for a "Plan B." The first two commands were o.k. Anything with ipconfig, including after reboot, gives the following error message (edited): Windows IP Configuration. The request is not supported. Contact Microsoft Product Support. Addl. info.: unable to query host name.

  9. #8
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,792
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 798 Times in 719 Posts
    You could try an XP nondestructive reinstall:
    http://www.informationweek.com/softw.../d-id/1044226?

    Jerry

  10. #9
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,607
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 869 Times in 831 Posts
    Can you go into Device Manager, click on View/Show hidden devices then expand Non-Plug and Play drivers to check for any yellow alerts.

    Also can you check that all your Network Services are Started

    Click on Start, type services.msc then press Enter.

    Their start up type should be Automatic or Manual

    COM+ Event System
    Computer Browser
    DHCP Client
    DNS Client
    Network Connections
    Network Location Awareness
    Remote Procedure Call (RPC)
    Server
    TCP/IP Netbios helper
    Wired Autoconfig is set to manual.
    Wireless Zero Configuration
    Workstation

    If a service is not running, click on it to highlight then click on Start.

    If it fails to start then right click to open its Properties and check the Dependencies and that each of them are running.

    Any that are not listed in Services can be found in Non-Plug and Play Drivers.
    Last edited by Sudo15; 2014-01-31 at 04:35.

  11. #10
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Houston, Texas, USA
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    O.k., I checked Device Manager as you suggested. I found the following yellow alerts: IP Network Address Translation, McAfee Inc. mfeapfk, TCP/IP Protocol Driver. All of the associated *.sys drivers exist in Windows/System32/drivers. McAfee Inc. driver is started and other two, stopped. Each has following message in General tab: Device is not present, is not working or does not have all its drivers installed. (Code 24). IP Network Address Translator will not start: the dependency service or group failed to start. However, I cannot find any place that shows the dependencies. TCP/IP Protocol Driver will not start: system cannot find file specified. This driver seems to be causing problems with some of the services you have listed above. I tried disabling and enabling the two stopped items without luck.

    Now, the services. First, I have no wireless adapters. Com+ Event System, Computer Browser, Network Connections, RPC, Server, and Workstation are started. Network Location Awareness and Wired Autoconfig are manual and I believe both started. DHCP Client, DNS Client, and TCP/IP Netbios Helper were auto and would not start, because of dependencies issues. Dependencies are AFD, IP SEC driver, and TCP/IP Protocol Driver. Except for TCP/IP Protocol Driver (mentioned above), other dependencies are o.k. IP SEC Services, not shown above, had the same dependency issues.

    Not sure where to go from here.

  12. #11
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    2,335
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 267 Times in 260 Posts
    Is or has McAfee been on this system? If so completely remove it with the McAfee consumer product removal tool and fresh install the network adapter if need be. If McAfee has never been on the system you might have something pretending to be McAfee.

  13. The Following User Says Thank You to F.U.N. downtown For This Useful Post:

    w7340 (2014-02-02)

  14. #12
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,607
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 869 Times in 831 Posts
    Had you downloaded anything prior to getting this problem as using a Restore Point can sometimes resolve.

    On the off chance that McAfee is blocking, boot up into Safe Mode with Networking by tapping F8 as you switch on and select that option then check for connectivity.

    To return to a normal boot, shutdown in the normal way then reboot.

    While I don't know about the McAfee inc.mfeapfk file, the other drivers with the yellow alerts in Non-Plug and Play Drivers can be reinstalled.

    You may have to reinstall McAfee for its file.

    To reinstall the drivers in Non-Plug and Play Drivers, first create a Restore Point and then right click on the driver and select Uninstall and follow the prompts.

    After the reboot go back into Device Manager, click on Action/Scan for hardware changes and they will be reinstated.

    Do this also for Ancillary Function Driver for Winsock (AFD).

    Once the TCP/IP Protocol Driver has been reinstalled, that should resolve for the Dependencies for the others but as that driver activates on Boot, reboot the computer and check for connectivity.

    If you still have problems, the next option would be to perform a system file check using the command sfc /scannow from the Command Prompt but you will need a XP CD if prompted.

    In services.msc the Start status of any service will show as Started under the Status tab if started.
    Last edited by Sudo15; 2014-02-01 at 10:47.

  15. The Following User Says Thank You to Sudo15 For This Useful Post:

    w7340 (2014-02-02)

  16. #13
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Houston, Texas, USA
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    "McAfee" was the magic word. I had renewed my subscription to VirusScan Plus and downloaded the new version. My network connectivity problem started after that. I did a System Restore back to before I downloaded the new VirusScan Plus, my network connectivity is restored.

    HOWEVER, McAfee no longer works (not an immediate problem), BUT System Restore just shows a blank pop-up screen. I do not want to try reinstalling McAfee without being able to create a restore point. I did a restart on System Restore Service, but that did not help. Any suggestions now?

  17. #14
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,607
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 869 Times in 831 Posts
    There's this article you could have a read through http://support.microsoft.com/kb/302796 but generally when any program is installed, a restore point is auto created.

    You could also try the commands in http://bertk.mvps.org/html/tips.html#21
    Last edited by Sudo15; 2014-02-02 at 18:48.

  18. #15
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Houston, Texas, USA
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    McAfee was the magic word. See my last posts below.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •