Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 20
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    east coast
    Posts
    355
    Thanks
    59
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    How to get the actual driver itself and not some installer program.

    I messed up my one 98se machine.
    and have several problems.

    i need to get a new monitor driver.
    all i can find are installers.

    how can i get the driver itself.
    running another installer is not a good option at this point in the fixes.

    is it possible to use a driver for some other monitor successfully?
    maybe if i am careful about the options that i set.

    the monitor is probably an AOC 770 or an AOC Vlr
    it is stuck in low res mode now even though it used to be much better.
    cant change any of the settings. pretty sure it is the default driver that replaced the real one.

  2. Subscribe to our Windows Secrets Newsletter - It's Free!

    Get our unique weekly Newsletter with tips and techniques, how to's and critical updates on Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows XP, Firefox, Internet Explorer, Google, etc. Join our 480,000 subscribers!

    Excel 2013: The Missing Manual

    + Get this BONUS — free!

    Get the most of Excel! Learn about new features, basics of creating a new spreadsheet and using the infamous Ribbon in the first chapter of Excel 2013: The Missing Manual - Subscribe and download Chapter 1 for free!

  3. #2
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,463
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 214 Times in 203 Posts
    The driver you require is likely to be a video card driver, not a monitor driver.
    To extract the drivers you run the installer and pause at the opening screen. The files will have been unpacked to a temporary directory, probably in the root of C:, and you can copy the files to a new location, then cancel the installation.

    cheers, Paul

  4. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Paul T For This Useful Post:

    bassfisher6522 (2014-02-13),mrjimphelps (2014-02-13)

  5. #3
    3 Star Lounger bassfisher6522's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    261
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 26 Times in 25 Posts
    Like Paul T stated, it's the GPU driver that controls the resolution of your monitor. What GPU make/model are you using...eg onbard graphics or a separate graphics card?

  6. #4
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    4,573
    Thanks
    64
    Thanked 518 Times in 467 Posts
    Note that the Monitor driver contains information on the default resolution as well as which resolutions it supports.

    Jerry

  7. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    east coast
    Posts
    355
    Thanks
    59
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    thanks

    i will look at that
    but it makes no sense to me

    as far as i know the video hardware is fine
    all the hardware is fine
    something got deleted during a failed install which is software
    and i need to find the right place and put it back
    one place for sure is the driver
    as it is using the windows default driver now not the one that the monitor had originally

    what i need to do first imho is to replace the win driver with the real driver for the monitor
    and maybe point to it from the registry or whereever else win finds the driver it should use


    when i install any new hardware whether printer or outboard disk or monitor
    the OEM gives me a driver for the device not for my hardware cards
    so your comment is confusing me about which driver is needed

    that said there is a lot of original stuff on the hd
    but i am having trouble finding the right ones to try
    no way to read cab files
    and just pointing to the directory does not result in any drivers being found

    and these idiots scatter all sorts of stuff all over the hd and put crazy names on them so they cant be found






    Quote Originally Posted by Paul T View Post
    The driver you require is likely to be a video card driver, not a monitor driver.
    To extract the drivers you run the installer and pause at the opening screen. The files will have been unpacked to a temporary directory, probably in the root of C:, and you can copy the files to a new location, then cancel the installation.

    cheers, Paul

  8. #6
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,463
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 214 Times in 203 Posts
    If you want to find the driver software you need the device ID.
    1. Open Device Manager and select the device you require.
    2. Right click and select Properties.
    3. Click the "Details" tab.
    4. Select "Hardware Ids" from the drop down.
    The information you need are the VEN_ and DEV_ details. e.g. VEN_10DE and DEV_052E.
    Those same numbers will be in the driver INF file.

    cheers, Paul

  9. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Paul T For This Useful Post:

    mrjimphelps (2014-03-13),speedball (2014-02-27)

  10. #7
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    east coast
    Posts
    355
    Thanks
    59
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    thanks

    that i can do for the monitor
    and will do that tonight

    is there a way to find out what the video card is too?

    i have two of these boxes
    and they both seem to be using the same windows driver
    so maybe it is , even though i cant grok it at all, some other driver

    but i only find one set of documents for them although i know they have some hardware differences
    so i dont want to install the completely wrong video card driver by mistake
    hence i need to know how to find out what that card is (and it may be on the mobo not a card)

    looking at the net there are many levels of abstractions and types of 'drivers' in a windows box



    Quote Originally Posted by Paul T View Post
    If you want to find the driver software you need the device ID.
    1. Open Device Manager and select the device you require.
    2. Right click and select Properties.
    3. Click the "Details" tab.
    4. Select "Hardware Ids" from the drop down.
    The information you need are the VEN_ and DEV_ details. e.g. VEN_10DE and DEV_052E.
    Those same numbers will be in the driver INF file.

    cheers, Paul

  11. #8
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,463
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 214 Times in 203 Posts
    Video card is the same arrangement. Look for Display Adaptors in Device Manager.

    cheers, Paul

  12. #9
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    east coast
    Posts
    355
    Thanks
    59
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    thanks

    i will have to see if i can find out

    i ahve two very similar 98se boxes
    but they are not identical

    for sure one of them uses nvidia on the Mobo if that is the video.

    i have a little bit of old documentation
    but i only ahve one set of docs (or maybe i merged both sets into one physical file folder

    i do see now that both seem to use the same very old ms driver
    i thought that was the driver for the monitor itself that controlled the settings

    i am learning way more about how windows is put together than i wanted to know
    why didnt microslop make it impossible for any program to fork the system with a bad install program





    Quote Originally Posted by bassfisher6522 View Post
    Like Paul T stated, it's the GPU driver that controls the resolution of your monitor. What GPU make/model are you using...eg onbard graphics or a separate graphics card?

  13. #10
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,463
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 214 Times in 203 Posts
    MS have released their fair share of software that crashes machines, 3rd party vendors are just as likely to get it wrong.

    cheers, Paul

  14. #11
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,324
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 588 Times in 525 Posts
    In my experience the older the OS the more likely you are to run into a rogue driver that will crash the system. Microsoft has changed the driver model several times through various OS releases. Current Windows releases are much less likely to be crashed by a bad driver as drivers are now isolated from the OS by the new driver model.

    Joe

  15. #12
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    east coast
    Posts
    355
    Thanks
    59
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    joe

    it has run for 10-15 years now

    how does a driver suddenly go rogue

    this was caused by a failed install
    i read the instructiosn (not carefully enough)
    where it said you had to delete something and reboot
    when i got the delete message i said okay
    should have read that more carefully
    after the delete
    nothng works anymore (well it boots and i can still access some programs and use one printer but nothing else)

    if i could figure out what got deleted then i could put it back in


    Quote Originally Posted by JoeP517 View Post
    In my experience the older the OS the more likely you are to run into a rogue driver that will crash the system. Microsoft has changed the driver model several times through various OS releases. Current Windows releases are much less likely to be crashed by a bad driver as drivers are now isolated from the OS by the new driver model.

    Joe

  16. #13
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    east coast
    Posts
    355
    Thanks
    59
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    so i discovered

    now i need to make it right

    msconfig does not know there are any cdroms

    i have to find out where that info is kept
    and edit it back into windows knowledge of the hardware



    Quote Originally Posted by Paul T View Post
    MS have released their fair share of software that crashes machines, 3rd party vendors are just as likely to get it wrong.

    cheers, Paul

  17. #14
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    4,573
    Thanks
    64
    Thanked 518 Times in 467 Posts
    Its been ages since I worked with Windows 95/98 and its autoexec/config.sys files but see if this is of any help:
    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/198687/EN-US

    Jerry

  18. #15
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,463
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 214 Times in 203 Posts
    A failed install probably crashed your registry. An image restore is about the only solution, apart from a rebuild from scratch.

    cheers, Paul

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •