Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    122
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Question Win7 not genuine after removed dual-boot Vista

    I had a dual boot machine with Vista and Win 7 Ultimate. Each installed on the same hard drive in separate partitions.

    Goal was to remove Vista and add the space to Win 7.

    I used EasyBCD to remove the boot entry to Vista and changed the setting to boot directly into Win 7.

    That was successful.

    I then used GParted to remove the Vista partition and add the space to Win 7.

    That was successful.

    I then started the machine with my Win 7 installation disk to repair the (I thought) the boot record.

    I think that this was successful also.

    After entering my login name and password for my home domain (that appears on the screen) the 'Preparing Your Desktop' message stays up for a long time and then instead of my desktop I get a blue screen with the "Windows 7 Build 7601 The Copy of Windows is Not Genuine" in the lower right corner. I hope that it's genuine since I got it direct from Microsoft.

    How can I reactivate this?

  2. Subscribe to our Windows Secrets Newsletter - It's Free!

    Get our unique weekly Newsletter with tips and techniques, how to's and critical updates on Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows XP, Firefox, Internet Explorer, Google, etc. Join our 480,000 subscribers!

    Excel 2013: The Missing Manual

    + Get this BONUS — free!

    Get the most of Excel! Learn about new features, basics of creating a new spreadsheet and using the infamous Ribbon in the first chapter of Excel 2013: The Missing Manual - Subscribe and download Chapter 1 for free!

  3. #2
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    1,235
    Thanks
    18
    Thanked 185 Times in 180 Posts
    You could contact MS but try the following command as an administrator from the Command Prompt.

    SLMGR -REARM then press Enter.

    You should get that the command was successful and to reboot to effect.

  4. #3
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    122
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I tried -REARM and received the following:

    Error 0x800703E6 occurred in connecting to server mycomputername.

  5. #4
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    1,235
    Thanks
    18
    Thanked 185 Times in 180 Posts
    Can you boot up with your install disk again to select the Repair option and then Command Prompt then type and enter the following command to see what it reports.

    sfc /scannow /offbootdir=C:\ /offwindir=C:\Windows

    I noticed that it reports the Build as Win 7 SP1 - does your install disk include SP1 ?

    Edit


    That command assumes Win 7 is in C:
    Last edited by Sudo15; 2014-02-03 at 10:51.

  6. #5
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    122
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I received the following after running this command: sfc /scannow /offbootdir=C:\ /offwindir=C:\Windows

    Windows Resource Protection could not perform the requested operation.

    I have the Win 7 Ultimate install DVD. I am sure that I would have updated to SP1 some time after it came out.

  7. #6
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    1,235
    Thanks
    18
    Thanked 185 Times in 180 Posts
    I've just edited my last post after reading your opening post.

    Is Win 7 in C: ?

    This command from the same Command Prompt will confirm.

    bcdedit |find "osdevice"

    Edit - again

    Method 2 in this tutorial may help with different partitions http://www.sevenforums.com/tutorials...ompt-boot.html
    Last edited by Sudo15; 2014-02-03 at 11:00.

  8. #7
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    1,235
    Thanks
    18
    Thanked 185 Times in 180 Posts
    As your install disk no longer matches your OS because of the SP1 update, you can download a SP1 Ultimate ISO from http://www.w7forums.com/threads/offi...wnloads.12325/ and use http://www.microsoftstore.com/store/...usbdvd_dwnTool to create a bootable USB/DVD and retry the command after booting up with that.

  9. #8
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    122
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Problem Solved.

    I used Paragon Rescue Kit Free edition.

    http://www.paragon-software.com/home/rk-express/

    This tool told me that my Win 7 partition was now being assigned to the E drive.

    Using the tool to change the drive back to C did the trick.

    Thanks Sudo15 for pointing me in that direction.

  10. #9
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    1,235
    Thanks
    18
    Thanked 185 Times in 180 Posts
    That is good news.

    It will be worth creating that Win 7 SP1 bootable disk also, should you ever need to perform a sfc /scannow from an incorrupt source which could save you from having to do a reinstall.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •