Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234
Results 46 to 55 of 55
  1. #46
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Sudo15::: For Windows XP3 computer:
    Windows IP Configuration



    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : home

    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :

    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown

    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : Belkin



    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection :



    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : Belkin

    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/1000 GT Desktop Adapter

    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1B-21-54-44-E0

    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes

    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.5

    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0

    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1

    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1

    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Thursday, February 06, 2014 9:53:56 AM

    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Monday, January 18, 2038 10:14:07 PM


    For Windows 7 laptop computer:

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : marie-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : Belkin

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) WiFi Link 1000 BGN
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1E-64-48-95-4A
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : Belkin
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe FE Family Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-26-9E-5F-3B-AD
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::4534:c4d2:3413:4db8%11(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.2(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Thursday, February 06, 2014 9:12:42 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Monday, March 16, 2150 3:43:45 AM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 184559262
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-12-25-59-F4-00-26-9E-5F-3B-AD
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{4037D691-F1DF-4C19-8FCA-DDB9A22918ED}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 13:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft 6to4 Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter isatap.Belkin:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : Belkin
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:5ef5:79fb:c8:1097:3f57:fdfd(Preferred)
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::c8:1097:3f57:fdfd%19(Preferred)
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled


    As background, I have a Speedtouch modem along with the Belkin wireless router as my setup.

    In the Firefox troubleshooting article I did disable ipv6.

    I did in fact search out both .msi downloads, suggested by someone here, and ran both going from ipv4 to ipv6 and then back to ipv4 from ipv6.
    After each effort I tested the internet connection, and nothing changed.

    Regarding the 'Intel auto detect' software I cannot follow through with that one until I have a connection?

    Hopefully this information will help with the resolution of my issue?? Again, thanks a bunch for your continued effort.

  2. #47
    Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    1,168
    Thanks
    44
    Thanked 134 Times in 115 Posts
    OK rpiz, thanks for the additional details. I have to go to work soon, so don't have much time.

    The working PC's are on a completely different subnet and use a different gateway to the problematic machine. I suspect this is getting us closer to the nub of the problem.

    You may not know how to access the router configuration, but the data above indicates that the problematic machine is getting a DHCP address from a second router running a different DNS and DHCP server. So, can you describe the exact hardware arrangements as Sudo and Browni suggest: it will help us understand the routing arrangements of the 3 machines.

    Some specific questions: where do the two routers connect to eachother, what ethernet ports are connected together on the routers and is there a separate modem, or does the Speedtouch router have a modem too?
    In God we trust; all others must bring data.

    - William Edwards Deming. 1900 - 1993

  3. #48
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Tinto Tech:: I'll give a run at this, and hopefully it will all make sense?
    First of all, the phone line (DSL) enters the Speedtouch 546 modem/router at the DSL port.
    Port #3 of the Speedtouch goes to the problematic Windows 7 desktop.
    Port #4 of the Speedtouch goes to the wireless Belkin modem.

    Belkin Wireless modem:
    One lan port goes to printer.
    Another lan port goes to NIC card on the Windows XP3 desktop.
    And another lan port goes to the laptop computer.

    Again, this setup worked, as is, for a long period of time, and after the Windows 7 desktop was built
    it functioned fine for a number of weeks. Then something went awry causing intermittent internet connections.

  4. #49
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Today at approximately 11:40AM I decided to start the problematic Windows 7 desktop computer, in anticipation
    that much more work had to be done in order to fix my intermittent internet connection problem. And to me
    astonishment I opened Firefox and it connected and after moving to a number of web sites it remained connected.
    At this moment it is 12:51 PM and Firefox is still open and has remained connected the entire time. I am astounded
    at this turnaround and can't even guess what might have solved the problem, assuming it is solved in the long term,
    given the huge number of attempts made at different settings, etc.?????? Goodness gracious I can't thank everyone enough
    , again, for their perseverance and patience through this ordeal. I immediately moved these posts to the printable version
    and saved a copy so that I can retrace the steps, in the event it happens again. Fortunately, the posts will be available
    at Windows Secrets Lounge into the future; but I now have a personal copy.
    I wonder, is it possible to reopen this thread if the problem reappears down the road or would I have to re-post all of this again??
    Lastly, I again want to thank everyone that has contributed over these past few days, in an effort to solve this problem.
    Rpiz

  5. #50
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Now given all the posts in this threat, and some of the changes that were made; can I safely reinstall Comodo
    firewall to replace Windows firewall? I prefer Comodo firewall and over a few years has served me well. This
    then begs the question, just what was the problem in the first place?? I am now nervous in doing much with
    this desktop for fear of revisiting the connection problem?
    rpiz

  6. #51
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    4,624
    Thanks
    67
    Thanked 526 Times in 475 Posts
    If you make a system Image backup first you should be able to safely tinker with Comodo. If the problem reoccurs, just restore the image.

    Jerry

  7. #52
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    1,607
    Thanks
    24
    Thanked 230 Times in 225 Posts
    You can get connectivity problems like this where there's no logical reason why it occurred or how it fixed itself but we hope it stays fixed.

    Change the Wired Autoconfig service back to Manual and see if it continues to work after a reboot, or don't you want to tempt Fate

    As long as you don't mark the thread as solved, it will remain open should you need to resurrect it.
    Last edited by Sudo15; 2014-02-07 at 16:29.

  8. #53
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I feel obligated to return to the 'Lounge' and give an accounting of progress made to solve the intermittent internet issue
    given in my initial post. Following the many suggestions offered throughout this thread and my abrupt finding that it
    suddenly ended, contributed to the mystery. Subsequently, it re-appeared a couple of times following my last post #49.
    I searched and searched for a solution, and on 3/3/14 found that Iobit Antimalware software was causing the problem.
    This is not an indictment on Iobit Antimalware software, but rather my failure to adequately search out the proper
    setup to prevent conflicts with other software and my system. I uninstalled Iobit software and everything is back
    to normal. Thanks again to everyone who extended help throughout this thread.

  9. #54
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    1,607
    Thanks
    24
    Thanked 230 Times in 225 Posts
    It's unusual that conflicts between security programs would cause an intermittent problem as they tend to create a complete block, but glad that you have found the cause.

  10. #55
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Hartford, WI, USA
    Posts
    142
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 29 Times in 16 Posts

    Iobit ANYthing is a no-no!

    @rpiz:

    Thank you for the enigma's solution.

    I have listed Iobit as a source of "malicious" or at least dubious software like PuPs in my experience based personal list of PuPs. I described here what we are dealing with.
    Eike J Heinze
    What I am about
    SE Wisconsin

Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •