Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 26 of 26
  1. #16
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,532
    Thanks
    110
    Thanked 761 Times in 685 Posts
    Downloaded and installed Malwarebytes Premium which introduces the subscription module. It accepted my lifetime Pro license with no issues. Version 2 has an entirely new GUI and introduces PUM detections (Potentially Unwanted Modifications to the OS).

    Jerry

  2. #17
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    8,988
    Thanks
    344
    Thanked 1,386 Times in 1,261 Posts
    Jerry & All,

    I just downloaded the new Premium version and installed on my Laptop using my Pro version info and all is well.
    I was however SHOCKED at how fast it scanned! Granted the laptop is an Ivy-Bridge i5 w/SSD & 4GB Win 7 Pro but...
    MWB2Premium.JPG
    HTH
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  3. #18
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    8,988
    Thanks
    344
    Thanked 1,386 Times in 1,261 Posts
    Hey Y'all,

    Well MB's new "Self Protection" settings seem to work! I enabled them and then went and tried to delete the desktop icon form MB and it would not let me do it stating that I needed Admin Privileges (I am the Admin - Win 7 HP). I clicked continue and it just exited. I had to go back in and disable the "Self Protection" then I was able to delete the desktop icon. HTH
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  4. #19
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,532
    Thanks
    110
    Thanked 761 Times in 685 Posts
    Impressive scan time RG. I suspect you have more software installed than I have as well. My scan time was 18 minutes with an old 3Ghz Core I5 Windows 7 Pro with a standard disk. A big difference from the old 1 to two hours it used to take.

    Jerry

  5. #20
    2 Star Lounger 1PW's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    North of the 38th parallel.
    Posts
    127
    Thanks
    26
    Thanked 43 Times in 27 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by RetiredGeek View Post
    Hey Y'all,

    Well MB's new "Self Protection" settings seem to work! I enabled them and then went and tried to delete the desktop icon form MB and it would not let me do it stating that I needed Admin Privileges (I am the Admin - Win 7 HP). I clicked continue and it just exited. I had to go back in and disable the "Self Protection" then I was able to delete the desktop icon. HTH
    This is but one of the ways the new Malwarebytes Anti-Malware 2.00 protects all elements of itself from rogue software.
    Last edited by 1PW; 2014-03-25 at 18:54.
    All viruses are malware but not all malware are viruses and if the malware doesn't self replicate it just isn't a virus.

  6. #21
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    near Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    71
    Thanks
    87
    Thanked 14 Times in 13 Posts
    Crap....it looks like the window to buy new lifetime licenses is now closed.

    I was going to refer a few friends to go get it while they could.

    Hopefully they continue to honor my existing lifetime licenses.

    brino

  7. #22
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    near Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    71
    Thanks
    87
    Thanked 14 Times in 13 Posts
    oh wait, just saw this in another thread....

    http://windowssecrets.com/forums/sho...9-%28-6-off%29

    the link still shows 35 hours left to get the lifetime license for $18.95.

    brino

    ======================================
    UPDATE: that count down is actually showing 35 _DAYS_ left!

    Cheers,
    brino
    Last edited by brino; 2014-03-26 at 17:06.

  8. #23
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    770
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts
    Well, I have two Pro licences and I would like to know if this means that I will now be able to use the new version on six computers. So far as I know the old licence was only good for one machine each - or was that a false assumption? (I do have six machines to use them on, incidentally.)

  9. #24
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    8,988
    Thanks
    344
    Thanked 1,386 Times in 1,261 Posts
    Dogberry,

    You can use the new or the old version with the 2 licenses you have. If you have Six machines if I were you I'd grab 4 more of the lifetime licenses at $19 ea while the offer lasts. HTH
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  10. #25
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    770
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts
    One, maybe, for a yield of five computers at $25/yr, but more likely stand pat and keep the mix (two, plus free for the rest). As one wag put it, at my age green bananas are a risky investment.

  11. #26
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    8,988
    Thanks
    344
    Thanked 1,386 Times in 1,261 Posts
    DB,

    Why pay $25/yr when you can get a lifetime license for $19?
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •